Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2900 (DKNY Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2497 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 191
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/06 10:09 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristen said...
I love it!! I was just looking thru my patterns today and was considering it... Thanks for sharing...Kristen
5/28/06 10:39 PM
wvsher said...
Sorry it was such a hassle, but wonderful results. I have never attempted to match stripes; can't even imagine. (Probably never will.) lol Love the style of the dress. I'm looking for the pattern now to see if it has a version with sleeves.
5/28/06 10:40 PM
leigh7911 said...
Now I want this pattern even more! Looks great. So, what do you think of working with stripes? ;)
5/28/06 11:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This was a fun review to read. I do love the dress and even though "you hate having to match stripes" it looks beautiful.
5/28/06 11:02 PM
sommeil said...
it looks absolutely fantastic. it also looks like it would be a pain in the butt to match the stripes.
5/28/06 11:09 PM
Lori V said...
Oh, I have this pattern. Your dress is beautiful even in the stripes!!!!
5/28/06 11:10 PM
jemgirlca said...
Looks great! Good job on the stripe matching!
5/28/06 11:26 PM
Kay Romo said...
This is a lovely dress. You did a good job!
5/29/06 0:06 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmmm.. do you have a walking foot? You can get a fine mechanical model that fits all machines for something like $10. I'd never again attempt to match stripes without mine.. Unless of course you used a serger, in which case the differential feed is the most important. But really, technology is the answer :-). Not that you don't do a great job of matching all the same!
5/29/06 3:14 AM
jlg said...
Great job. I've wanted this pattern as soon as I saw it. Thanks for the review.
5/29/06 5:40 AM
KathleenS said...
[grin] I know how you feel. Are the armholes snug on this pattern or did you make them that way? I'm always concerned about that with sleeveless patterns.
5/29/06 5:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
I just looked up the pattern, and I can now see why it would be a bear to match the stripes. You did such a good job, that I can't even tell there are so many pieces in the bodice.
5/29/06 6:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great dress. I love the way you did match the stripes, hating it so much, that you did an excellent job.
5/29/06 7:24 AM
countrybug said...
Well for hating to match the stripes you did an awesome job. The dress is great and I bet it looks great on you. Good job.
5/29/06 8:19 AM
Nancy K said...
wow! Fabulous job.
5/29/06 8:32 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Fuzzy, I did use my walking foot, and basting. To be honest, the hard part was cutting it out properly. The second hardest part was getting things stay together when sewing.
5/29/06 8:34 AM
cindyj said...
Thank you for reviewing this dress! I've had the pattern in the closet for two months just waiting for someone to tell me it wasn't a monster to make. the stripes look great!
5/29/06 8:44 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your dress looks great. All the work you put into it will pay off in wearing enjoyment, I would imagine. Congratulations on an outstanding job.
5/29/06 8:48 AM
Tiner W said...
Wonderful! I have this pattern, can't wait to make it, But I can tell you, mine will not have stripes! I am in awe!
5/29/06 9:02 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
WOW, Sue! You should get lots of compliments on this at work ... you are going to wear it for a bit before it gets a rest on display, right?
5/29/06 9:28 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Sue: I love this: looks like a perfect style dress for you. The stripes are astounding, but I hope you feel your work paid off: this really is a "stunner".
5/29/06 10:05 AM
xela said...
In spite of the fact that you hate to match stripes it looks fabulous. All your effort was absolutely worth it in the end. Thanks for the review. PS I hate cutting out linings.
5/29/06 10:05 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow! Incredible job on this dress - I'm not sure that I could get those stripes to match!
5/29/06 10:08 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous!
5/29/06 10:57 AM
CatherineN said...
You did a perfect job with those stripes. The dress is very attractive.
5/29/06 12:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
I don't like matching stripes, either. But that dress pops in stripes. You did a really super job!
5/29/06 12:27 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Well worth the effort. Wear it all you can.
5/29/06 2:18 PM
artist1lisa said...
Oh wow ! It's beautiful !
5/29/06 7:22 PM
Kay Y said...
For someone who hates matching stripes, you did a fabulous job of it - I hope you think it was worth it. FWIW, I looked at this pattern when it came out and thought "nice, but matching those stripes ... wow would that be hard". I bow to your superior stripe-matching!
5/29/06 10:02 PM
nicegirl said...
That is wonderful! I am very impressed with your stripe-matching skillz.
5/30/06 9:39 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Love the stripes! They are always out of this pattern at every pattern sale at the local JA'ns. But I LOVE the stripes! The chevron effect is lovely! You know that if you do something this well you will be called upon to do it again ....
6/1/06 12:33 PM
lisaquilts said...
Absolutely stunning. I'm definitely getting this pattern at the next sale.
6/14/06 10:34 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What a brave lady! I'm thinking about doing this in plain black...no stripes... ;) You have a fabulous looking dress, though, and the matched stripes are jaw-dropping amazing.
6/14/06 10:38 AM
AnneM said...
You can't tell from the finished product that you hate matching stripes. Although it is a really good thing to keep in mind when attempting a bias dress.
6/18/06 4:00 PM
steadystitchn said...
Great review. I love your dress. You did a wonderful job on it.
8/6/06 5:52 PM
jojoeffe said...
Wow!
10/16/06 2:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns v1087 donna karan
photo
Review by sandysewin on 4/12/12
Read Review

Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1284 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1353 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1353 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2682 Women's Tops
photo
Review by Lori V on 2/14/07
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)
Simple Things A Pretty Good Bag Digital Pattern (005)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us