SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2900 (DKNY Dress)

15 more reviews
Viewed 2513 times 
Reviewed by:Sue Anfang
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sue Anfangstarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 211
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 108 people
patterns reviewed: 196
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/28/06 10:09 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kristen said...
I love it!! I was just looking thru my patterns today and was considering it... Thanks for sharing...Kristen
5/28/06 10:39 PM
wvsher said...
Sorry it was such a hassle, but wonderful results. I have never attempted to match stripes; can't even imagine. (Probably never will.) lol Love the style of the dress. I'm looking for the pattern now to see if it has a version with sleeves.
5/28/06 10:40 PM
leigh7911 said...
Now I want this pattern even more! Looks great. So, what do you think of working with stripes? ;)
5/28/06 11:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This was a fun review to read. I do love the dress and even though "you hate having to match stripes" it looks beautiful.
5/28/06 11:02 PM
sommeil said...
it looks absolutely fantastic. it also looks like it would be a pain in the butt to match the stripes.
5/28/06 11:09 PM
Lori V said...
Oh, I have this pattern. Your dress is beautiful even in the stripes!!!!
5/28/06 11:10 PM
jemgirlca said...
Looks great! Good job on the stripe matching!
5/28/06 11:26 PM
Kay Romo said...
This is a lovely dress. You did a good job!
5/29/06 0:06 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Mmmm.. do you have a walking foot? You can get a fine mechanical model that fits all machines for something like $10. I'd never again attempt to match stripes without mine.. Unless of course you used a serger, in which case the differential feed is the most important. But really, technology is the answer :-). Not that you don't do a great job of matching all the same!
5/29/06 3:14 AM
jlg said...
Great job. I've wanted this pattern as soon as I saw it. Thanks for the review.
5/29/06 5:40 AM
KathleenS said...
[grin] I know how you feel. Are the armholes snug on this pattern or did you make them that way? I'm always concerned about that with sleeveless patterns.
5/29/06 5:45 AM
CarolynGM said...
I just looked up the pattern, and I can now see why it would be a bear to match the stripes. You did such a good job, that I can't even tell there are so many pieces in the bodice.
5/29/06 6:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great dress. I love the way you did match the stripes, hating it so much, that you did an excellent job.
5/29/06 7:24 AM
countrybug said...
Well for hating to match the stripes you did an awesome job. The dress is great and I bet it looks great on you. Good job.
5/29/06 8:19 AM
Nancy K said...
wow! Fabulous job.
5/29/06 8:32 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Fuzzy, I did use my walking foot, and basting. To be honest, the hard part was cutting it out properly. The second hardest part was getting things stay together when sewing.
5/29/06 8:34 AM
cindyj said...
Thank you for reviewing this dress! I've had the pattern in the closet for two months just waiting for someone to tell me it wasn't a monster to make. the stripes look great!
5/29/06 8:44 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Your dress looks great. All the work you put into it will pay off in wearing enjoyment, I would imagine. Congratulations on an outstanding job.
5/29/06 8:48 AM
Tiner W said...
Wonderful! I have this pattern, can't wait to make it, But I can tell you, mine will not have stripes! I am in awe!
5/29/06 9:02 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
WOW, Sue! You should get lots of compliments on this at work ... you are going to wear it for a bit before it gets a rest on display, right?
5/29/06 9:28 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Sue: I love this: looks like a perfect style dress for you. The stripes are astounding, but I hope you feel your work paid off: this really is a "stunner".
5/29/06 10:05 AM
xela said...
In spite of the fact that you hate to match stripes it looks fabulous. All your effort was absolutely worth it in the end. Thanks for the review. PS I hate cutting out linings.
5/29/06 10:05 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow! Incredible job on this dress - I'm not sure that I could get those stripes to match!
5/29/06 10:08 AM
LBJ said...
Gorgeous!
5/29/06 10:57 AM
CatherineN said...
You did a perfect job with those stripes. The dress is very attractive.
5/29/06 12:20 PM
Em's Summer said...
I don't like matching stripes, either. But that dress pops in stripes. You did a really super job!
5/29/06 12:27 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Well worth the effort. Wear it all you can.
5/29/06 2:18 PM
artist1lisa said...
Oh wow ! It's beautiful !
5/29/06 7:22 PM
Kay Y said...
For someone who hates matching stripes, you did a fabulous job of it - I hope you think it was worth it. FWIW, I looked at this pattern when it came out and thought "nice, but matching those stripes ... wow would that be hard". I bow to your superior stripe-matching!
5/29/06 10:02 PM
nicegirl said...
That is wonderful! I am very impressed with your stripe-matching skillz.
5/30/06 9:39 AM
Dobedowawa said...
Love the stripes! They are always out of this pattern at every pattern sale at the local JA'ns. But I LOVE the stripes! The chevron effect is lovely! You know that if you do something this well you will be called upon to do it again ....
6/1/06 12:33 PM
lisaquilts said...
Absolutely stunning. I'm definitely getting this pattern at the next sale.
6/14/06 10:34 AM
Lisa Laree said...
What a brave lady! I'm thinking about doing this in plain black...no stripes... ;) You have a fabulous looking dress, though, and the matched stripes are jaw-dropping amazing.
6/14/06 10:38 AM
AnneM said...
You can't tell from the finished product that you hate matching stripes. Although it is a really good thing to keep in mind when attempting a bias dress.
6/18/06 4:00 PM
steadystitchn said...
Great review. I love your dress. You did a wonderful job on it.
8/6/06 5:52 PM
jojoeffe said...
Wow!
10/16/06 2:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Marfy 2204

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
McCall's 5977

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now