Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8339 - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1485 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/06 1:32 PM
Last Updated:6/12/06 1:35 PM
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice jacket, and the pockets look great. I totally agree with you that welt pockets are more business-like than patch... Next time, you might try making sure the undercollar is cut about 1/8" (2mm) smaller than the top collar in all directions except along the neck. It's easy to fit them together as you sew, and that alone ensures that you won't have any untoward rolling of the seam to the outside. You might like the understitching to make sure all the same, but things will lie flatter in general.

One thing I see though is that you had some trouble easing the seam into the armhole - you don't say what your fabric is, but I'd guess it's not 100% wool? That'd make easing harder from lack of elasticity. Next time, perhaps take a small horizontal tuck out of the sleeve cap to reduce its height? You can check the length of both side of that seam against each other to make sure you don't have too much extra in the sleeve. Most jacket patterns, especially Burda, assume wool and so will have more ease than you can cope with in other fabrics.
5/31/06 3:41 AM

regine said...
Thanks for your comments, fuzzygalore. I have noted your advice about the sleeve. The material is actually wool and I am hope that with good steaming the problem will be resolved. Other wise I have two choices, live with the bad sleeves or redo them!!!
5/31/06 7:47 AM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket - would love to see it on you, when it's finished!
5/31/06 10:29 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty.
5/31/06 11:18 AM
BSYMPLS said...
Very nice jacket. Congratulations!
6/1/06 7:02 AM
Levone said...
Your jacket looks great!
6/12/06 9:02 PM
martinanne said...
It looks beautiful on you!
6/13/06 3:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking jacket.
6/13/06 5:11 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely Jacket, I like the pocket treatment, much better than patch pockets. The buttonholes are a great idea, wonder if there is a tailor in my city that would do buttonholes.
6/13/06 6:23 AM
Annika said...
Great job! This is a lovely jacket. I also take my better projects to a tailor to have buttonholes put in...they have the proper equipment and the skills - my own buttonholes always look a little too funky to me. :)
6/13/06 9:35 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Regine, I think you've done a beautiful job with this. To me though, the jacket looks a little big for you through the shoulders and even the sleeves. I wonder whether you really are a size 12 or maybe a combination 10/12???
6/14/06 3:34 AM
regine said...
Hi Helen, If anything the pattern may be a bit small but not too big. If I would want to wear it closed it is tight but I never close the bottons. Thanks for your comment.
6/14/06 8:32 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Simplicity 5520 Knight Costume
photo
Review by migander on 11/6/09
Read Review

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sun n'Fun Swimsuit and Leotard Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )
Peek-A Boo Art Smock Digital Pattern ( Size 2T-7 )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other MailOrder705
photo
Review by Andreahg on 7/8/10
Read Review

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Field Trip Cargo Pants and Raglan T-Shirt Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us