SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8339 

2 more reviews
Viewed 1486 times 
Reviewed by:regine
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About reginestar
SOUTH AFRICA
Member since: 9/26/05
Reviews written: 45
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 30
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/06 1:32 PM
Last Updated:6/12/06 1:35 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice jacket, and the pockets look great. I totally agree with you that welt pockets are more business-like than patch... Next time, you might try making sure the undercollar is cut about 1/8" (2mm) smaller than the top collar in all directions except along the neck. It's easy to fit them together as you sew, and that alone ensures that you won't have any untoward rolling of the seam to the outside. You might like the understitching to make sure all the same, but things will lie flatter in general.

One thing I see though is that you had some trouble easing the seam into the armhole - you don't say what your fabric is, but I'd guess it's not 100% wool? That'd make easing harder from lack of elasticity. Next time, perhaps take a small horizontal tuck out of the sleeve cap to reduce its height? You can check the length of both side of that seam against each other to make sure you don't have too much extra in the sleeve. Most jacket patterns, especially Burda, assume wool and so will have more ease than you can cope with in other fabrics.
5/31/06 3:41 AM

regine said...
Thanks for your comments, fuzzygalore. I have noted your advice about the sleeve. The material is actually wool and I am hope that with good steaming the problem will be resolved. Other wise I have two choices, live with the bad sleeves or redo them!!!
5/31/06 7:47 AM
Irene Q said...
Beautiful jacket - would love to see it on you, when it's finished!
5/31/06 10:29 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty.
5/31/06 11:18 AM
BSYMPLS said...
Very nice jacket. Congratulations!
6/1/06 7:02 AM
Levone said...
Your jacket looks great!
6/12/06 9:02 PM
martinanne said...
It looks beautiful on you!
6/13/06 3:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very nice looking jacket.
6/13/06 5:11 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely Jacket, I like the pocket treatment, much better than patch pockets. The buttonholes are a great idea, wonder if there is a tailor in my city that would do buttonholes.
6/13/06 6:23 AM
Annika said...
Great job! This is a lovely jacket. I also take my better projects to a tailor to have buttonholes put in...they have the proper equipment and the skills - my own buttonholes always look a little too funky to me. :)
6/13/06 9:35 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Regine, I think you've done a beautiful job with this. To me though, the jacket looks a little big for you through the shoulders and even the sleeves. I wonder whether you really are a size 12 or maybe a combination 10/12???
6/14/06 3:34 AM
regine said...
Hi Helen, If anything the pattern may be a bit small but not too big. If I would want to wear it closed it is tight but I never close the bottons. Thanks for your comment.
6/14/06 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Favorite Things Little Nightie Night Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Buy Now