Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2446 (Choice of bikinis) - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 1510 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Stacy Sews
photo
Friend of PR
About Stacy Sewsstarstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 1/13/04
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 162
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/06 10:06 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Little Birdie said...
Very helpful review! I think you did a great job!
5/30/06 10:45 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Great job. It's situations like this that have taught me to fit garment at several stages and make needed changes throughout sewing process rather than sewing item all up and then seeing the problems. I agree that triangle is much too large but your choice in fabric is wonderful.
5/30/06 11:32 PM
Sewliz said...
Look at that beautiful buff woman in that pretty suit! I like the fabric you chose. I'm glad you didn't give up on this project because it does look good even if you don't care for the fit. I want to make DD a bikini but maybe I'll skip this pattern. Thanks for the good review.
5/31/06 8:20 AM
jemgirlca said...
Great suit! The color is really pretty.
5/31/06 9:00 AM
wvsher said...
Nice bikini!
5/31/06 11:04 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Wow ! You look so tanned and fit and ready for summer. Great suit, love the cool blue. Keep making those swimsuits, you are doing a great job! PS did you use a coverstitch machine or just zigzagged the elastic in? It looks so RTW.
5/31/06 11:05 AM
chip1980 said...
Thanks for writing such an honest review. I agree, the amount of fabric for the triangle is a bit generous...The model wears the beautiful blue swimsuit VERY well...and the tan is perfect. Now where's the beach?? I have this pattern and was just getting ready to start the project...Thanks for the reminder about double checking the stretch directionality. Easy to forget when you are actually working on a project...and wanting to get it to the sewing machine. (Cutting is my LEAST favorite part anyway). Looks just like RTW...and probably feels even better.
5/31/06 11:29 AM
casken said...
You did a great job. Great review too.
5/31/06 1:09 PM
Stacy Sews said...
HMS7 - I just zigzaged the elastic in. Oh how I wish I had a coverstitch!
5/31/06 3:22 PM
lornakismet said...
You created a very pretty swimsuit and you look great in it. :-) -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
5/31/06 11:17 PM
runnerchicki said...
Great looking suit! You look really good in it too! This review, and your photo have made me decide to try this pattern. I really need the extra coverage on the top, so I think it would be a good pattern for me. Thanks so much for reviewing this!
6/4/06 11:29 AM
MarionP said...
Great suit. Thorough review!! Happy swiming
6/8/06 10:59 PM
Leora said...
I had the same problem with the triangles and the shorts. I racked it up to being a newbie at swimwear. I ended up double lining the triangles and inserting a pad in each but still too big. Then I had to add 1.5 inch vertical bands in each outer leg, so I also elongated them into shorts and covered up various sins. No matter I still don't look as good in my suit as you do!! Thanks for the validation that I'm not completely out of my mind ... it is just the way this pattern is drafted. :)
6/10/06 2:41 PM
RobinMCPA said...
I have had this pattern for awhile and am finally ready to start working on it soon. Yours turned out really great!!! I was noticing that when I measured the pattern piece for the size S top (based on my measurements) it was much larger than my RTW bikini tops! So thanks for the reassurance that I'm not the only one who noticed all this extra fabric. I think I will go down a few sizes to one that more closely approximates my RTW top that fits well. Also thanks for the heads up on the bottom sizing- I definitely don't want the bottom to be too tight so I will go up a size!
6/24/09 11:36 AM
CallMeSu said...
Your swimsuit looks wonderful and your figure is divine!!! Thanks for the review!
3/1/12 4:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4138 Misses Skirts
photo
Review by kristinlal... on 7/25/10
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Red Velvet Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $14.06
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other The New Handmade
photo
Review by AlisonK318 on 6/6/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 90mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns
Bluegingerdoll Mae Blouse Patterns

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 2281 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8874 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us