SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9665 (Kids' Chair)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1182 times 
Reviewed by:DeborahMy
photo

 
 
About DeborahMy
NM USA
Member since: 5/25/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/06 12:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
It's very pretty with the fabrics you chose.
5/31/06 1:52 PM
KitnRose said...
What fun! When I worked at a high-end kids' furniture store we sold a lot of these at $70+ each and they flopped around a lot, too. I /think/ they attached velcro strips to the seat and seat cushion to keep them a little more together, but don't really remember. Honestly, your version is far cuter than any we sold!
5/31/06 2:00 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I made one of these about 5 years ago for my daughter - it was very floppy when I made it too (and even more so after so many years of wear). I noticed at some point they were selling pillowforms to use with this (but at a huge cost). I'm not sure that would help or not with the floppyness. Nice job on your chair, it's so pretty!
5/31/06 4:03 PM
Judy Williment said...
Is this the same pattern that Susan Khalje used on an episode of Sew Much More? If it is, she demonstrated a couple of things that might be helpful, including reinforcement stitching. Despite your issues, that is one cute chair!
5/31/06 6:42 PM
wvsher said...
Cute chair; thanks for the review!
5/31/06 9:34 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Very nice job! I have this pattern, but am too afraid to make it because making the pillow forms looks too complicated. I appreciate your review.
6/1/06 1:37 AM
slanden99 said...
Cute chair. My DD would love something like this.
6/1/06 10:20 AM
candyo said...
I had the same experience with my pillow forms when I made this. I think the back form needs to be taller, and Kit's comment about the velcro is a great idea. Stephanie- don't worry about the pillow forms- nobody will see them, so they don't have to be perfect.
6/1/06 8:34 PM
Ody said...
I made this chair for my 6 yo dd. It is floppy, but make a great TV sitting spot. One thing I did, (and do with a lot of home dec places that need reinforcing), was use strips of embroidery soft cut-away stabalizer. I use the type that has very fine webbing and it is very light, but extremely strong. Maybe I am just cheap, but I do a lot of embroidery and I refuse to throw all of that away! For a project like yours I use my rotary cutter and just cut thin strips. Used to reinforce seams it is great because it does not add a lot of bulk.
12/13/06 4:19 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I love this chair! Yours looks really cute! I also made this chair one for my daughter and one for my son. My son's chair has the floppy problem but I thought that was because I put the arm fabric on the bias. My daughter's chair doesn't have that problem because I didn't prewash the fabric. After I washed the fabric the first time it shrunk. Now the chair is nice and firm. If I make another cover for my son I'm going to wash the fabric after sewing.
10/14/07 7:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Buy Now