SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 9665 (Kids' Chair)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1183 times 
Reviewed by:DeborahMy
photo

 
 
About DeborahMy
NM USA
Member since: 5/25/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/06 12:33 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I love this chair! Yours looks really cute! I also made this chair one for my daughter and one for my son. My son's chair has the floppy problem but I thought that was because I put the arm fabric on the bias. My daughter's chair doesn't have that problem because I didn't prewash the fabric. After I washed the fabric the first time it shrunk. Now the chair is nice and firm. If I make another cover for my son I'm going to wash the fabric after sewing.
10/14/07 7:59 AM
Ody said...
I made this chair for my 6 yo dd. It is floppy, but make a great TV sitting spot. One thing I did, (and do with a lot of home dec places that need reinforcing), was use strips of embroidery soft cut-away stabalizer. I use the type that has very fine webbing and it is very light, but extremely strong. Maybe I am just cheap, but I do a lot of embroidery and I refuse to throw all of that away! For a project like yours I use my rotary cutter and just cut thin strips. Used to reinforce seams it is great because it does not add a lot of bulk.
12/13/06 4:19 PM
candyo said...
I had the same experience with my pillow forms when I made this. I think the back form needs to be taller, and Kit's comment about the velcro is a great idea. Stephanie- don't worry about the pillow forms- nobody will see them, so they don't have to be perfect.
6/1/06 8:34 PM
slanden99 said...
Cute chair. My DD would love something like this.
6/1/06 10:20 AM
Stephanie C. said...
Very nice job! I have this pattern, but am too afraid to make it because making the pillow forms looks too complicated. I appreciate your review.
6/1/06 1:37 AM
wvsher said...
Cute chair; thanks for the review!
5/31/06 9:34 PM
Judy Williment said...
Is this the same pattern that Susan Khalje used on an episode of Sew Much More? If it is, she demonstrated a couple of things that might be helpful, including reinforcement stitching. Despite your issues, that is one cute chair!
5/31/06 6:42 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I made one of these about 5 years ago for my daughter - it was very floppy when I made it too (and even more so after so many years of wear). I noticed at some point they were selling pillowforms to use with this (but at a huge cost). I'm not sure that would help or not with the floppyness. Nice job on your chair, it's so pretty!
5/31/06 4:03 PM
KitnRose said...
What fun! When I worked at a high-end kids' furniture store we sold a lot of these at $70+ each and they flopped around a lot, too. I /think/ they attached velcro strips to the seat and seat cushion to keep them a little more together, but don't really remember. Honestly, your version is far cuter than any we sold!
5/31/06 2:00 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's very pretty with the fabrics you chose.
5/31/06 1:52 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Buy Now