Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 9665 (Kids' Chair) thumbsup - Type:Home Dec    printable version
Viewed 1182 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:DeborahMy
photo
About DeborahMy
NM USA
Member since: 5/25/06
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/06 12:33 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
It's very pretty with the fabrics you chose.
5/31/06 1:52 PM
KitnRose said...
What fun! When I worked at a high-end kids' furniture store we sold a lot of these at $70+ each and they flopped around a lot, too. I /think/ they attached velcro strips to the seat and seat cushion to keep them a little more together, but don't really remember. Honestly, your version is far cuter than any we sold!
5/31/06 2:00 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I made one of these about 5 years ago for my daughter - it was very floppy when I made it too (and even more so after so many years of wear). I noticed at some point they were selling pillowforms to use with this (but at a huge cost). I'm not sure that would help or not with the floppyness. Nice job on your chair, it's so pretty!
5/31/06 4:03 PM
Judy Williment said...
Is this the same pattern that Susan Khalje used on an episode of Sew Much More? If it is, she demonstrated a couple of things that might be helpful, including reinforcement stitching. Despite your issues, that is one cute chair!
5/31/06 6:42 PM
wvsher said...
Cute chair; thanks for the review!
5/31/06 9:34 PM
Stephanie C. said...
Very nice job! I have this pattern, but am too afraid to make it because making the pillow forms looks too complicated. I appreciate your review.
6/1/06 1:37 AM
slanden99 said...
Cute chair. My DD would love something like this.
6/1/06 10:20 AM
candyo said...
I had the same experience with my pillow forms when I made this. I think the back form needs to be taller, and Kit's comment about the velcro is a great idea. Stephanie- don't worry about the pillow forms- nobody will see them, so they don't have to be perfect.
6/1/06 8:34 PM
Ody said...
I made this chair for my 6 yo dd. It is floppy, but make a great TV sitting spot. One thing I did, (and do with a lot of home dec places that need reinforcing), was use strips of embroidery soft cut-away stabalizer. I use the type that has very fine webbing and it is very light, but extremely strong. Maybe I am just cheap, but I do a lot of embroidery and I refuse to throw all of that away! For a project like yours I use my rotary cutter and just cut thin strips. Used to reinforce seams it is great because it does not add a lot of bulk.
12/13/06 4:19 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
I love this chair! Yours looks really cute! I also made this chair one for my daughter and one for my son. My son's chair has the floppy problem but I thought that was because I put the arm fabric on the bias. My daughter's chair doesn't have that problem because I didn't prewash the fabric. After I washed the fabric the first time it shrunk. Now the chair is nice and firm. If I make another cover for my son I'm going to wash the fabric after sewing.
10/14/07 7:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 146547-1000
photo
Review by FL Girl on 10/30/10
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For B-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Eucalypt Tank & Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3617
photo
Review by Nujoi1908 on 1/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2058 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3699 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us