SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4464 (jackets, tops, skirts, pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1336 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/06 1:24 PM
Last Updated:6/3/06 1:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
Thank you for this review, I am planning to make this jacket :-)
8/18/08 2:55 AM
Nata said...
It is very pretty. Glad you found the ribbon. The jacket is too nice for a wadder
6/5/06 7:22 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful results Sue! Who knew that the ribbon would be the problem.
6/5/06 10:10 AM
ldpaulson said...
It's always wonderful to see what you've been working on and this jacket is no exception. Beautiful job! The twill certainly doesn't *look* cheap and the work-around to give the fabric more body is a good tip to keep in mind for future possible challenges as I assume it could be used on many other types of woven fashion fabrics. Thanks.
6/4/06 4:02 PM
PhyllisC said...
Susan, boy can I relate to the angst of seeking the perfect color trim! Ay Yi Yi. Another good source for future reference is Tinsel Trading in NYC - they have a sister store across the street devoted just to ribbon, and they have petersham in every color (www.tinseltrading.com) They may not list it on their web site but give them a call.
6/4/06 11:54 AM
redsquid said...
drsue - I'm making the burda jean jacket again (we've both posted reviews - I did the "mature version".) I ordered my teal 16" separating zipper online (in two colors!) just before I read your review. I normally don't do this, but I knew this notion would be a bear to find locally. So I know how you feel about your ribbon, it seems such a common-place item one should be able to pick it up within driving distance. Your jacket looks great - the ribbon really sets it off, as you said "at a distance" (or in a photo) it's a great accent - the color looks perfect. Linda (redsquid)
6/4/06 11:25 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the aqua ribbon.
6/4/06 10:25 AM
patsijean said...
This is a great jacket and your ribbon choice is perfect. The outfit is wonderful.
6/4/06 10:07 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty jacket.
6/4/06 7:21 AM
lornakismet said...
Beautiful, impeccable, clean, unusual, and I would love to wear it. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/4/06 0:14 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
A beautiful jacket and I think the ribbon is a perfect color for it. Another lovely creation.
6/3/06 11:38 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful jacket! You just ran into what I call the BevPrinciple...if I want or need it, nobody has it! Glad you were finally able to come up with a good match..your ensemble looks fabulous.
6/3/06 11:08 PM
layla said...
Beautiful ...nice clean (and look like slimming) lines on this .. I love your ribbon effect and what a great look with the shell and pants.
6/3/06 10:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Jacket - but never a wadder. You could just have added a clasp or self fabric tie. Love the idea of the belt coming out of the seams.
6/3/06 9:38 PM
Enid E said...
Wow! I am sure this looks wonderful on you! Love your color choice and your ribbon looks like it matches to me! Great job..
6/3/06 9:32 PM
rosephreak said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. My mom wants me to make it for her, and I made the skirt for myself already. It looks lovely how you have done it. Aqua is quite popular this season, I think. Nice job.
6/3/06 8:26 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The jacket is very pretty, I'm so glad you didn't toss it!
6/3/06 7:44 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice job - your jacket looks great. I also like fusing the weft on jacket pieces. I'm glad you were able to find the ribbon that worked!
6/3/06 7:39 PM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty. You must be one stylish doctor!
6/3/06 6:57 PM
Carolyn C said...
Exceptional. Love it!
6/3/06 6:52 PM
wvsher said...
So pretty!
6/3/06 6:44 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute jacket! I'm glad you finally found ribbon that would work. :)
6/3/06 6:08 PM
frame said...
Lovely jacket. The ribbon makes it look very feminine.
6/3/06 4:09 PM
CarolynGM said...
Exceptionally cute jacket in a luscious color. Good decision to interface and line. Shaped jackets without the underpinnings hardly every work out for me.
6/3/06 2:39 PM
OP Gal said...
You've done it again, drsue. Great review and great looking jacket. I think the ribbon looks fine.
6/3/06 1:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

McCall's M5095

photo
by: LOST_kitty...

Review
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

More Info
McCall's 6282

photo
by: Opals Pass...

Review

Pattern