Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4464 (jackets, tops, skirts, pants) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1336 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/06 1:24 PM
Last Updated:6/3/06 1:26 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
You've done it again, drsue. Great review and great looking jacket. I think the ribbon looks fine.
6/3/06 1:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Exceptionally cute jacket in a luscious color. Good decision to interface and line. Shaped jackets without the underpinnings hardly every work out for me.
6/3/06 2:39 PM
frame said...
Lovely jacket. The ribbon makes it look very feminine.
6/3/06 4:09 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute jacket! I'm glad you finally found ribbon that would work. :)
6/3/06 6:08 PM
wvsher said...
So pretty!
6/3/06 6:44 PM
Carolyn C said...
Exceptional. Love it!
6/3/06 6:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty. You must be one stylish doctor!
6/3/06 6:57 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice job - your jacket looks great. I also like fusing the weft on jacket pieces. I'm glad you were able to find the ribbon that worked!
6/3/06 7:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The jacket is very pretty, I'm so glad you didn't toss it!
6/3/06 7:44 PM
rosephreak said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. My mom wants me to make it for her, and I made the skirt for myself already. It looks lovely how you have done it. Aqua is quite popular this season, I think. Nice job.
6/3/06 8:26 PM
Enid E said...
Wow! I am sure this looks wonderful on you! Love your color choice and your ribbon looks like it matches to me! Great job..
6/3/06 9:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Jacket - but never a wadder. You could just have added a clasp or self fabric tie. Love the idea of the belt coming out of the seams.
6/3/06 9:38 PM
layla said...
Beautiful ...nice clean (and look like slimming) lines on this .. I love your ribbon effect and what a great look with the shell and pants.
6/3/06 10:12 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful jacket! You just ran into what I call the BevPrinciple...if I want or need it, nobody has it! Glad you were finally able to come up with a good match..your ensemble looks fabulous.
6/3/06 11:08 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
A beautiful jacket and I think the ribbon is a perfect color for it. Another lovely creation.
6/3/06 11:38 PM
lornakismet said...
Beautiful, impeccable, clean, unusual, and I would love to wear it. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/4/06 0:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty jacket.
6/4/06 7:21 AM
patsijean said...
This is a great jacket and your ribbon choice is perfect. The outfit is wonderful.
6/4/06 10:07 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the aqua ribbon.
6/4/06 10:25 AM
redsquid said...
drsue - I'm making the burda jean jacket again (we've both posted reviews - I did the "mature version".) I ordered my teal 16" separating zipper online (in two colors!) just before I read your review. I normally don't do this, but I knew this notion would be a bear to find locally. So I know how you feel about your ribbon, it seems such a common-place item one should be able to pick it up within driving distance. Your jacket looks great - the ribbon really sets it off, as you said "at a distance" (or in a photo) it's a great accent - the color looks perfect. Linda (redsquid)
6/4/06 11:25 AM
PhyllisC said...
Susan, boy can I relate to the angst of seeking the perfect color trim! Ay Yi Yi. Another good source for future reference is Tinsel Trading in NYC - they have a sister store across the street devoted just to ribbon, and they have petersham in every color (www.tinseltrading.com) They may not list it on their web site but give them a call.
6/4/06 11:54 AM
ldpaulson said...
It's always wonderful to see what you've been working on and this jacket is no exception. Beautiful job! The twill certainly doesn't *look* cheap and the work-around to give the fabric more body is a good tip to keep in mind for future possible challenges as I assume it could be used on many other types of woven fashion fabrics. Thanks.
6/4/06 4:02 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful results Sue! Who knew that the ribbon would be the problem.
6/5/06 10:10 AM
Nata said...
It is very pretty. Glad you found the ribbon. The jacket is too nice for a wadder
6/5/06 7:22 PM
RuthieSews said...
Thank you for this review, I am planning to make this jacket :-)
8/18/08 2:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Taylor Made Designs TMB-161 Sassy Skirts
photo
Review by Cook Mae on 5/23/11
Read Review

MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern
MariaDenmark Laura Lounge Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.20
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )
Oliver + S Music Class Blouse + Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1025
photo
Review by Lisette on 1/11/12
Read Review

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $13.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6689 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6845 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us