SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4464 (jackets, tops, skirts, pants)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1336 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/06 1:24 PM
Last Updated:6/3/06 1:26 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 6 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
OP Gal said...
You've done it again, drsue. Great review and great looking jacket. I think the ribbon looks fine.
6/3/06 1:49 PM
CarolynGM said...
Exceptionally cute jacket in a luscious color. Good decision to interface and line. Shaped jackets without the underpinnings hardly every work out for me.
6/3/06 2:39 PM
frame said...
Lovely jacket. The ribbon makes it look very feminine.
6/3/06 4:09 PM
jemgirlca said...
Cute jacket! I'm glad you finally found ribbon that would work. :)
6/3/06 6:08 PM
wvsher said...
So pretty!
6/3/06 6:44 PM
Carolyn C said...
Exceptional. Love it!
6/3/06 6:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Very pretty. You must be one stylish doctor!
6/3/06 6:57 PM
KarmenG said...
Nice job - your jacket looks great. I also like fusing the weft on jacket pieces. I'm glad you were able to find the ribbon that worked!
6/3/06 7:39 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
The jacket is very pretty, I'm so glad you didn't toss it!
6/3/06 7:44 PM
rosephreak said...
Thank you for reviewing this pattern. My mom wants me to make it for her, and I made the skirt for myself already. It looks lovely how you have done it. Aqua is quite popular this season, I think. Nice job.
6/3/06 8:26 PM
Enid E said...
Wow! I am sure this looks wonderful on you! Love your color choice and your ribbon looks like it matches to me! Great job..
6/3/06 9:32 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great Jacket - but never a wadder. You could just have added a clasp or self fabric tie. Love the idea of the belt coming out of the seams.
6/3/06 9:38 PM
layla said...
Beautiful ...nice clean (and look like slimming) lines on this .. I love your ribbon effect and what a great look with the shell and pants.
6/3/06 10:12 PM
BjP said...
Beautiful jacket! You just ran into what I call the BevPrinciple...if I want or need it, nobody has it! Glad you were finally able to come up with a good match..your ensemble looks fabulous.
6/3/06 11:08 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
A beautiful jacket and I think the ribbon is a perfect color for it. Another lovely creation.
6/3/06 11:38 PM
lornakismet said...
Beautiful, impeccable, clean, unusual, and I would love to wear it. -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
6/4/06 0:14 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty jacket.
6/4/06 7:21 AM
patsijean said...
This is a great jacket and your ribbon choice is perfect. The outfit is wonderful.
6/4/06 10:07 AM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful jacket. I love the aqua ribbon.
6/4/06 10:25 AM
redsquid said...
drsue - I'm making the burda jean jacket again (we've both posted reviews - I did the "mature version".) I ordered my teal 16" separating zipper online (in two colors!) just before I read your review. I normally don't do this, but I knew this notion would be a bear to find locally. So I know how you feel about your ribbon, it seems such a common-place item one should be able to pick it up within driving distance. Your jacket looks great - the ribbon really sets it off, as you said "at a distance" (or in a photo) it's a great accent - the color looks perfect. Linda (redsquid)
6/4/06 11:25 AM
PhyllisC said...
Susan, boy can I relate to the angst of seeking the perfect color trim! Ay Yi Yi. Another good source for future reference is Tinsel Trading in NYC - they have a sister store across the street devoted just to ribbon, and they have petersham in every color (www.tinseltrading.com) They may not list it on their web site but give them a call.
6/4/06 11:54 AM
ldpaulson said...
It's always wonderful to see what you've been working on and this jacket is no exception. Beautiful job! The twill certainly doesn't *look* cheap and the work-around to give the fabric more body is a good tip to keep in mind for future possible challenges as I assume it could be used on many other types of woven fashion fabrics. Thanks.
6/4/06 4:02 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Beautiful results Sue! Who knew that the ribbon would be the problem.
6/5/06 10:10 AM
Nata said...
It is very pretty. Glad you found the ribbon. The jacket is too nice for a wadder
6/5/06 7:22 PM
RuthieSews said...
Thank you for this review, I am planning to make this jacket :-)
8/18/08 2:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Other Eider Tunic

photo
by: meleliza

Review
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now
MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: IZJ

Review