SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8055 (Evening Dress)

Viewed 2109 times 
Reviewed by:kwpanthermom
photo

 
 
About kwpanthermomstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/9/05
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/06 2:16 PM
Last Updated:6/6/06 10:11 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
funsewer said...
Wow!! What a lucky girl to have such a dedicated prom dress maker - three times over. I, too, like this one the best on her.
6/5/06 3:11 PM
Anne Frances said...
Wow again! What an elegant daughter, what a stunning fabric and what a clever Mother! I loved hearing all about the design process, the techniques and the outcome. The embellishment s particularly successful - so perfectly judged. Many many congratulations Anne
6/5/06 3:39 PM
BeckyW said...
That is an incredible dress!!!! So much work and it turned out just beautiful. Thanks for such a detailed review. I had fun just dreaming of all those pattern choices you went through. The handwork and crystals were incredible on the dress. It must be even more beautiful in person. Your daughter is beautiful and looks very pleased with the dress. That is the best part!
6/5/06 3:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Your daughter's dress turned out beautiful and looks lovely on her. Such work and dedication on your part. Stunning outcome.
6/5/06 3:55 PM
casken said...
Triple wow!!! Very beautiful fabric. Your dd looked stunning. Thank you so much for the detailed review. I hope my dd wants to make her prom dress one day. Still have ten years to go.
6/5/06 4:03 PM
PegL said...
Absolutely stunning dress! Great review! It reminded me of the many dresses I made for my DD. I thought I was done with the senior prom dress too and then she joined a sorority! More dresses but fun.
6/5/06 4:03 PM
celeste said...
so adorable :) Thanks for the great review too.
6/5/06 4:15 PM
elizajo said...
You have a beautiful daughter! I love the quilted bodice with beading, it's just the right touch.
6/5/06 4:27 PM
bunz said...
What a lucky girl she is -- and a pretty one! And you've gained such valuable experience for the wedding gown!! LOL!! Beautiful!
6/5/06 4:39 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress and your dd looks beautiful for her prom.
6/5/06 4:58 PM
Em's Summer said...
Whew! What a project! But well worth all of the work because it is just lovely! Your DD looks great it in! Thanks for this great review and all of the pics!
6/5/06 6:39 PM
Skymom said...
I love this youthful, romantic look. It's a wonderful dress for a young lady. She looked great in the Pucci halter muslin, too--so save that one for a future dance!
6/5/06 7:30 PM
KAB said...
Breathtaking - both your design persistence and the dress' glory.
6/5/06 7:42 PM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, you did it again! I like this one the best, too. Lucky girl!!
6/5/06 7:46 PM
cmarie12 said...
Okay, I just went through this process and I should have been corresponding with you while I made my DD's dress! This one is a stunner! Thanks for posting the reviews of the other dresses so that I could see what I need to aspire to for my next DD!
6/5/06 8:21 PM
Stacy Sews said...
I'm in love with this dress! It's perfect, the style, the fabric, everything.
6/5/06 8:56 PM
KathleenS said...
I really like the first muslin, but I think the design you chose was better for the fabric in the end. Is that definitely the right ebay link? because that seller seems to be in Texas?
6/6/06 6:46 AM
kwpanthermom said...
Thank you Kathleen S for catching my mistake of the ebay store I bought the silk chiffon from! I will correct and update asap! (Fixed - links are now correct.)
6/6/06 7:10 AM
Modiste Madness said...
You are such an incredibly nice Mom with wonderful sewing skills and taste. The dress and your daughter are lovely. I loved your explanation of the design process. That careful consideration is so essential to the creation of such a wonderful garment.
6/6/06 8:55 AM
wvsher said...
What a lovely and unique gown! You did a great job on it.
6/6/06 9:01 AM
Nancy K said...
Wow! Beautiful dress. I hope that she appreciates your incredible work. This is the best of them all. Boy, do you have a lot to live up to for next year! Wonderful and helpful review.
6/6/06 9:09 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
What an entertaining review to read. Such a gorgeous dress. My favorite of them all too. So happy you post your projects here, because now I can't wait to see what the homecoming dress will be!
6/6/06 9:13 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I feel so inadaquet! I too made dd's prom dress. Unfortunately, I didn't know about this site then, or I would have know that the pattern she chose was waaaaay out of my league. Of course I would have had everyone's help here. I did realize that the pattern she chose would be a challenge, and I wasn't thrilled with the prospects of it, but well it was a learning experience. We also had a problem with the bodice staying up, and last week while shopping at Ann Taylor noticed those rubber-looking thingys in the back of a halter top, and thought, "gosh, that could have helped" I also thought of clear elastic, and will probably use it for halter tops in the future. My dd was a senior, and this was the only prom dress that I made for her ( She DID attend 5 proms altogether - 2 this year, and 2 last year, and one her soph year) I DO have two more dds though, so we'll see what happens in the future. I would like another crack at a prom dress, and I'll study all yours, and others tips, and techniques. Thanks for all that!
6/6/06 11:53 AM
Little Birdie said...
Wow! What absolutely gorgeous dresses, and your daughter looks like a model in them! As a newbie, it is wonderful to get insight into your process. This is one of those "inspiration reviews" for me! Thanks so much for sharing!
6/6/06 12:36 PM
Sew it seams said...
Love your review and the dress is exquisite! The beading and quilting is so beautiful. You did a fabulous job and your daughter is gorgeous for her prom. It takes a lot of time and effort to write such a complete and informative review, so thank you! I always look forward to seeing more of your reviews!
6/6/06 3:32 PM
slanden99 said...
Beautiful dress
6/6/06 3:55 PM
MarilynB said...
Wow, what an adventure and the results are spectacular!!! Hopefully, your daughter gave you a big hug for all your efforts. Did you make her date's tie, too? It's a great match to her dress.
6/6/06 4:57 PM
nicegirl said...
Thank you for this great review--it's like reading a story about a mother and daughter. I love the final product, especially the subtle beading on the bodice.
6/7/06 9:43 AM
Dr. Alice said...
Absolutely incredible - your daughter is one lucky girl!!
6/14/06 7:55 PM
agnieszka said...
Wow!!! Absolutely stunning dress!!!
6/16/06 3:57 PM
AlexaNJ said...
Beautiful! The quilting adds a fabulous touch! I love it!
7/1/07 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 09-2012-104B

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Other Lena Merrin Patterns

photo
by: velosewer

Review
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Buy Now