Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2006-110 (Empire Waist Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1284 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/13/06 2:12 AM
Last Updated:6/13/06 2:14 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
HenriettenDK said...
Very, very nice - I'm going to make this too - love the fabric - and you look great in the pictures !
6/13/06 2:38 AM
appleC said...
Woo, you look so lovely in that dress! Great fabric choice too! I have the same wide shoulder problem with Burda patterns.
6/13/06 2:47 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful Ann :)) I specially like the very extreme shot. Thanks for another great review.
6/13/06 3:49 AM
JenniferBee said...
Lovely Anne, like the matching shoes. Wish I could wear empireline clothes, but sadly they only emphisis my figure faults :-( Love your garden as well.
6/13/06 6:08 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your changes really made this style work for you. Lovely dress!
6/13/06 7:16 AM
Lisette said...
Beautiful dress, I love your garden.
6/13/06 7:17 AM
Sue Anfang said...
Gorgeous dress, Anne as always!
6/13/06 7:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks lovely.
6/13/06 8:53 AM
MaryBeth said...
Curving the side seams to match worked perfectly! This style looks so comfortable and pulled together for casual summer. Very nice results!
6/13/06 8:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Ann, your dress turned out great! Very pretty, feminine. Love the colors on you!
6/13/06 9:05 AM
Hilary said...
Your dress is beautiful!! It's very flattering, and now I want this issue even more! Maybe I can make a respectable copy from something I already have...(but I really want this issue!) LOL. Thanks for the review!
6/13/06 9:18 AM
Sew Little Thyme said...
Very nice! I was going to make the top but now I might have to make the dress too! Love it love it!
6/13/06 9:44 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Lovely dress, beautiful work!
6/13/06 10:07 AM
Leslie in Austin said...
Girlfriend, you are fabulous. Love it!
6/13/06 10:43 AM
sewbehind said...
Ann, this dress looks very nice on you. Heads will turn! I must echo the comments on the garden. Beautiful!
6/13/06 10:49 AM
Diane E said...
Ann, what a pretty dress. You look lovely in it. I like your sleeveless version. Also, thanks for the heads-up on the too- wide shoulders.
6/13/06 12:01 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Looks very pretty on you - esp with the lace up espadrilles.
6/13/06 1:14 PM
SewingRookie said...
this dress was quick? not for me! it took me a gazillion years! i did both the dress and the shirt. keep in mind that this was the 5th and 6th (4th and 5th?) patterns i have ever done, so i thought i would never do them right. the dress i ruined because i cut the seam allowance too much. i could NOT turn the tie and loops out so instead, i folded it over after sewing and just did a lazy "designer stitch" over it so you could not tell it was not turned out (my fabric was the right side either way). i think you made a good decision not to make the sleeves puffy because it made me look larger in the shoulders and i am a very small person. the shirt turned out okay, but the main complaint is that it made me look 20 pounds heavier than i really am. i had to shorten it for a petite fit and ... i don't know... i think this is intended for taller people or something. i'm going to try to alter it when i am not so lazy to slim myself down. i would not sew this project again. i felt it was a lot of work for something that didn't fit completely right... but again, i am a novice that took on more than i could chew. btw, you look fabulous in this dress!
6/13/06 4:13 PM
SewingRookie said...

6/13/06 4:14 PM
Ann Smith said...
SewingRookie, I think fit is key in an empire waist line. The seam needs to be placed just right and the fullness below the seam needs to be very drapey. Without these right the effect is "maternal" to say the least. I'm sorry you had so much trouble. Turning the tubes can be very frustrating and depends somewhat on the fabric. Some fabrics just don't want to do it. Keep trying.
6/13/06 4:20 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Very nice dresss - you are looking very summery. Here is Aus, it is verrry cold and our heater has gone on the blink :( Oh and the shoes - very nice match!
6/13/06 5:20 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely summery dress. Looks good on you!
6/14/06 5:12 AM
Nancy K said...
Nice job and it is flattering on you. I shy away from empire waists because of a D cup, but you look very good in it.
6/14/06 9:30 AM
dvazz said...
Beautiful! I hadn't thought to leave off the sleeves. I like it much better that way. Very classy and it looks great on you!
6/14/06 11:21 AM
Deepika said...
Lovely photo and a gorgeous dress.
6/14/06 5:30 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 0000
photo
Review by colormefun on 1/9/11
Read Review

Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2340 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3091 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2780
photo
Review by sailor gir... on 6/23/06
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us