Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Purrfection: 1007 (Kimono Jacket & Vest) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1253 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS USA
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/06 7:30 PM
Last Updated:6/8/06 10:57 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
Your jacket is really cute you did a good job on it.. I made this pattern once.
6/7/06 8:17 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is an amazing jacket!
6/7/06 9:00 PM
bunz said...
good looking jacket. Kudos to you for trying the sashiko!
6/7/06 9:45 PM
Mini said...
That's lovely! I remember the sashiko article, and this is a really good use for it.
6/7/06 9:48 PM
jbrewer said...
Wow! Love that fabric! Great looking jacket.
6/8/06 7:05 AM
wvsher said...
Nice jacket; love the color.
6/8/06 8:51 AM
patsijean said...
You did a wonderful job. And it passed the "Have you worn it?" test with flying colors. The extra work to do the Sashiko Stitching is worth it. For anyone wanting to try Sashiko, there are several books available at Amazon.com. I picked out one titled Sashiko: Easy & Elegant Designs for Decorative Japanese Machine Stitching (Paperback) by Mary Parker that is for machine stitching. Here is the link. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1579903215/ref=pd_bbs_null_3/102-5045434-5641731?s=books&v=glance&n=283155 They have several available at reasonable prices.
6/8/06 11:08 AM
patsijean said...
You did a wonderful job. And it passed the "Have you worn it?" test with flying colors. The extra work to do the Sashiko Stitching is worth it. For anyone wanting to try Sashiko, there are several books available at Amazon.com. I picked out one titled Sashiko: Easy & Elegant Designs for Decorative Japanese Machine Stitching (Paperback) by Mary Parker that is for machine stitching. Here is the link. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1579903215/ref=pd_bbs_null_3/102-5045434-5641731?s=books&v=glance&n=283155 They have several available at reasonable prices.
6/8/06 11:09 AM
Susan R said...
I love your jacket. The sashiko on the band really makes it special. I've made this pattern a couple of times and like it very much too.
6/8/06 11:10 AM
LoriB said...
Very nice fabric choice. Beautiful!
6/8/06 12:53 PM
Neana said...
Beautiful jacket!! Great review. I've shy'd away from purrfection because the model is so tall and thin I wasn't sure how well they would adapt to plus sizes.
7/29/06 2:06 PM
Barbara Norwood said...
I have made this pattern up five times as a vest - I have been worried about making it up as a jacket, because I find that the shoulder seams are too steep for me, and I have to cut it out each time with a straighter shoulder and then pin fit it to myself to get the right angle on the shoulders. This makes me very nervous about fitting a sleeve to those shoulders. I also end up tapering the side seams narrower at the bust and wider at the hip - which adds to my concern about the sleeve. However, it is a wonderfully flattering pattern, and I encourage everyone to give it a try. I have made it up in unlined polarfleece, Pendelton Wool, a pieced vest with a dragon batik painting on the back, a machine quilted novelty print and now in a Laurel Burch print with Dupioni lining.
12/20/06 10:56 AM
COAggie said...
Your coat is so lovely, OP Gal! The juji stitching and soft blue cloth reminds me of Japanese fireman's coats. Am just starting the short jacket, and am so encouraged by your results. Thanks for such a complete review. Sashiko? Maybe someday for sure!
9/24/08 9:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 2233
photo
Review by Renee B on 8/30/09
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stretch & Sew 304 Leotard etc.
photo
Review by Kay Y on 7/25/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6827 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6827 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us