SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Purrfection> 1007 (Kimono Jacket & Vest)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1258 times 
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS United States
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/06 7:30 PM
Last Updated:6/8/06 10:57 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Linda E. said...
Your jacket is really cute you did a good job on it.. I made this pattern once.
6/7/06 8:17 PM
Em's Summer said...
That is an amazing jacket!
6/7/06 9:00 PM
bunz said...
good looking jacket. Kudos to you for trying the sashiko!
6/7/06 9:45 PM
Mini said...
That's lovely! I remember the sashiko article, and this is a really good use for it.
6/7/06 9:48 PM
jbrewer said...
Wow! Love that fabric! Great looking jacket.
6/8/06 7:05 AM
wvsher said...
Nice jacket; love the color.
6/8/06 8:51 AM
patsijean said...
You did a wonderful job. And it passed the "Have you worn it?" test with flying colors. The extra work to do the Sashiko Stitching is worth it. For anyone wanting to try Sashiko, there are several books available at Amazon.com. I picked out one titled Sashiko: Easy & Elegant Designs for Decorative Japanese Machine Stitching (Paperback) by Mary Parker that is for machine stitching. Here is the link. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1579903215/ref=pd_bbs_null_3/102-5045434-5641731?s=books&v=glance&n=283155 They have several available at reasonable prices.
6/8/06 11:08 AM
patsijean said...
You did a wonderful job. And it passed the "Have you worn it?" test with flying colors. The extra work to do the Sashiko Stitching is worth it. For anyone wanting to try Sashiko, there are several books available at Amazon.com. I picked out one titled Sashiko: Easy & Elegant Designs for Decorative Japanese Machine Stitching (Paperback) by Mary Parker that is for machine stitching. Here is the link. http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1579903215/ref=pd_bbs_null_3/102-5045434-5641731?s=books&v=glance&n=283155 They have several available at reasonable prices.
6/8/06 11:09 AM
Susan R said...
I love your jacket. The sashiko on the band really makes it special. I've made this pattern a couple of times and like it very much too.
6/8/06 11:10 AM
LoriB said...
Very nice fabric choice. Beautiful!
6/8/06 12:53 PM
Neana said...
Beautiful jacket!! Great review. I've shy'd away from purrfection because the model is so tall and thin I wasn't sure how well they would adapt to plus sizes.
7/29/06 2:06 PM
Barbara Norwood said...
I have made this pattern up five times as a vest - I have been worried about making it up as a jacket, because I find that the shoulder seams are too steep for me, and I have to cut it out each time with a straighter shoulder and then pin fit it to myself to get the right angle on the shoulders. This makes me very nervous about fitting a sleeve to those shoulders. I also end up tapering the side seams narrower at the bust and wider at the hip - which adds to my concern about the sleeve. However, it is a wonderfully flattering pattern, and I encourage everyone to give it a try. I have made it up in unlined polarfleece, Pendelton Wool, a pieced vest with a dragon batik painting on the back, a machine quilted novelty print and now in a Laurel Burch print with Dupioni lining.
12/20/06 10:56 AM
COAggie said...
Your coat is so lovely, OP Gal! The juji stitching and soft blue cloth reminds me of Japanese fireman's coats. Am just starting the short jacket, and am so encouraged by your results. Thanks for such a complete review. Sashiko? Maybe someday for sure!
9/24/08 9:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5650

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Fit For Art Eureka! Pants that Fit Pattern

Buy Now
Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Downloadable 6051

photo
by: flyawayhai...

Review