Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
JSM Patterns: JSM (Joyce Simons Murphy) (Pants1) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2473 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 31 people   
Reviewed by:Tailypo
photo
About Tailypostarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/6/03
Reviews written: 79
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/7/06 10:29 PM
Last Updated:6/18/06 6:06 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $20.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $20.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
46 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WAAAAHOOOOOOOOO! Megan got her great fitting pants.
6/7/06 10:38 PM
MaryBeth said...
Yipeee! I'm so pleased you're pleased. Now you can go anywhere with the pants designs of your dreams.
6/7/06 10:45 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your enthusiasm is justified by the beautiful outcome of your JSM workshop! Congratulations on your wonderful fit. I now believe I must have this pattern.
6/7/06 11:09 PM
Stacy Sews said...
Your pants look fantstic and the fit looks wonderful! I'm glad you've found such a great pattern. I'm going to have to check it out! Thanks!
6/7/06 11:15 PM
Liane M said...
Very nice pants. JB offered an online pants construction class last year and I certainly learned a lot. Now if I could just get JSM to fit my pattern, I'd be all set.
6/7/06 11:34 PM
Karla Kizer said...
We have a winner!
6/7/06 11:52 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I am SO happy for you!! Your new pants look great and are so flattering!! I'm really glad the workshop went so well for you.
6/8/06 0:45 AM
dvazz said...
Those look terrific! Kudos to you (and Joyce!)
6/8/06 5:03 AM
Linda F said...
Congratulations. You must be feeling so happy right now. You have finally conquered the pants beast and you are triumphant!! I can't wait to see your other creations.
6/8/06 7:05 AM
Gerri sews said...
Holy cow!!!! When are they comin' to MY town? These look great, congratulations!
6/8/06 7:25 AM
Mermie said...
Your pants look great! Great fit. I am so happy for you. I must have this pattern.
6/8/06 7:42 AM
PhyllisC said...
A great fitting pants pattern is sewing gold and worth very bit of time and expense! A worthwhile investment.
6/8/06 7:52 AM
Sewliz said...
Woviezowie, they are lovely! I'm cheering with you, how wonderful to have pants that fit that well and look that good!
6/8/06 8:40 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Congratulations on your success!
6/8/06 8:51 AM
wvsher said...
Great look and fit! Thanks for the the review.
6/8/06 9:00 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
They really do look great. Congratulations! How exciting for you to now be able to make trousers a'la Hepburn and Bardot at a whim! ;-)
6/8/06 9:08 AM
Runrover said...
Tailypo: congratulations!! great looking pants. They look fabulous on you. Is this a JSM pattern that uses Judy Barlup's instructions for pants? Or are Judy and JSM parts of the same company? Cynthia
6/8/06 9:43 AM
cindyann said...
They look amazing! Really flatter your wonderful figure.
6/8/06 10:03 AM
Ann B. said...
You look fabulous! The review is terrific, the pants are terrific, and best of all, you look just wonderful wearing them. Kudos!
6/8/06 10:08 AM
Elona said...
What gorgeous, gorgeous pants! I remember your fitting problems with other patterns, and this one seems to be absolutely golden.
6/8/06 11:14 AM
LoriB said...
Fabulous! Pants that fit. YAAAAAAY!
6/8/06 12:57 PM
mClones said...
Congratulations! They look great.
6/8/06 3:13 PM
sewsue said...
Fantastic fitting pants!
6/8/06 7:03 PM
funsewer said...
Thanks so much for this review. I'm going to scout out this pattern and the fitting book.
6/8/06 8:58 PM
Tailypo said...
Thanks, everyone! Really, all congratulations should go to Joyce and Judy. And I did come out of this workshop rather convinced that you can't fit yourself -- it was the discerning outside eye looking at the body head-on, rather than in a mirror or gazing down, that I think really helps nail it. Cynthia, the instructions for Joyce's pattern are in an actual spiral bound publication written by Judy Barlup. Judy has a company called Unique Techniques, which is different from JSM patterns.
6/8/06 10:11 PM
CarrieA said...
You look absolutely smashing in your pants! Gorgeous! Congrats on a perfect fit. I'm lucky to be one of Judy's students on a regular basis, so I know you got your money's worth!
6/8/06 10:36 PM
Mandolin82 said...
If you live in the Seattle area Judy will do custom pattern development. Pants that fit - priceless. I also love her pants book - I've misplaced it and miss it.
6/9/06 0:26 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Woo-hoo!
6/9/06 12:31 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
Well done! I've made three pairs of pants from the JSM pattern and one pair has horribly gaping pockets. I was interested to read about yours, too. I canNOT figure out why... I'll post a review of mine someday soon I hope. Maybe I should take Joyce's class first and stop trying to 'fit' myself. Yours look great. :-D
6/9/06 2:07 PM
twistedangel said...
Wow! They look great! Congratulations!!
6/9/06 5:15 PM
JDpenelope said...
This review and your other one of the class really make me want to take the class. And also read more of your humorous and insightful reviews.
6/10/06 6:56 AM
Quesie said...
Wow, you look like a million bucks in these pants. What an inspiration! I want to quickly follow in your footsteps!
6/10/06 11:23 AM
Patti B said...
Terrific pants and terrific review. I share your elation at pants that fit!
6/10/06 6:55 PM
Ann B. said...
Tailypo, I rarely leave two comments on a review...but this one is to THANK YOU. After reading your review I pulled out my copy of this pattern (after making too many to count muslins of 3 others) and with only a little alteration in the back... they fit! Like you I added to the hem width before I even sewed my muslin. How liberating to make a muslin of something I'd actually like to wear. I'd PM you, but everyone should get another dose of how nicely this pattern is made and the wonderful instructions. I purchased the Judy Barlup Pant Design and Construction book after the fact. The JSM booklet I recieved with the pattern is just fine, but I'm on a pant quest, and the more information the better for me.
6/13/06 10:58 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
Hot dang look at your rear in those pants! Congrats on your success!
6/18/06 6:17 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great fit. There is no better feeling! About the gaping pockets, did you use a pocket/trouser stay? Certain pocket styles will gape, even on pants that fit, unless you use a pocket stay. A pocket is an opening that naturally wants to open. It is easy to draft your own pocket stay from the front pattern piece. HTH. Lovely pants!
6/18/06 6:27 PM
Lilibet said...
The fit is fabulous.
6/18/06 6:59 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Wouldn't it be awesome if the pattern you came home with had lines for a dropped-waist version, a version with flared legs, etc? I guess because of the different fit requirements of different styles, it might be hard, but that would e pretty amazing.
6/18/06 7:03 PM
sewnbysf said...
Wow, both pairs look great!
6/18/06 7:16 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
WooooHooo! Looks like you pulled a rabbit out of the hat- presto! Congratulations on these beautiful fitting slacks!! About the pockets- did you stay tape the slanted pocket seam( on the fashion fabric) prior to applying the pockets? That would be my suggestion. Shake that swingset!! :)
6/18/06 7:58 PM
Mandolin82 said...
GREAT pants! Concerning the pocket: I don't know but for some of us I think the very vertical horizontal slant on this style of pocket just tends to gap. I have some great fitting pants, but have found that a more horizontal diagonal doesn't gap for me. In other words the starts closer to the center on the waistband and ends closer to the top (waistband) on the side seam.
6/18/06 9:07 PM
drsue said...
Mission accomplished! Perfect Pants!
6/18/06 9:34 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
WOWOWOW!. From a couple of the pics it looks like the pocket may be gaping because it got stretched. That angle is a bias and it will stretch if you look at it. Do you have any iron on stay tape? If you do, take the pocket, while STILL ATTACHED TO THE PATTERN PAPER straight to the ironing board and iron on some stay tape. The other possibility is you are sewing the pocket bag and not accounting for the curve of your body. Do you have Power Sewing? If not, PM me and we will work something out. These look sooooooo good Megan. I remember when you first turned up here and were having a problem setting in a sleeve. You have really come a long, long way. Congratulations.
6/18/06 9:55 PM
Mermie said...
What a great fititng pair of pants! I am so happy for you, and also SO jealous. You and your new pants are an inspiration for me to keep trying to get that perfect fit.
6/18/06 11:14 PM
CSY said...
Your pants look PERFECT! BRAVO!
6/18/06 11:16 PM
j222b said...
I think if you try this Judy Barlup technique on the slant pocket, the pockets will not gap: http://www.uniquetechniques.com/files/gaping_necklines.pdf Here is another tutorial, to use with JBs. http://sewing.about.com/library/sewnews/library/aatips0403b.htm
7/22/06 8:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

ModKid Patterns Modkid sewing book Bloom dress
photo
Review by KLK7 on 2/14/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Lotta Lady Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by Secretsuga... on 2/8/09
Read Review

McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6188 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3348 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us