SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-119 (shirtdress)

Viewed 1198 times 
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo

 
 
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/06 2:52 PM
Last Updated:6/8/06 2:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhead said...
Actually, I was about to suggest a braided leather belt just before I got to the sentence where you mentioned one. Thanks for the review and for reminding me about this great pattern.
6/8/06 2:58 PM
beangirl said...
This is lovely on you and you did a great job with the WOF instructions (or lack thereof). I think a print would be great, but this linen version is, as you say, a timeless classic. And I like it without a belt, even if it isn't very fitted. Very nice! Post another review if you make another, please.
6/8/06 3:30 PM
pterion said...
This looks very classic and well-made! Nice job!
6/8/06 3:39 PM
Peggy L said...
This looks wonderful on you!
6/8/06 3:52 PM
sew2little said...
Very classic look--you might try a print scarf at the waist or make a bright and/or printed obi-type sash.
6/8/06 4:22 PM
librarylady said...
It looks so elegant. Congratulations on your first WOF. I agree about interfacing... what's good enough for Loes is good enough for me!
6/8/06 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice. Does it have shoulder princess seams? I can't quite tell from the picture.
6/8/06 6:36 PM
Dee2 said...
I really like your choice of fabric & the buttons are a nice accent. Very helpful review too.
6/8/06 8:37 PM
dvazz said...
Carolyn: there are princess seams that extend to a small yoke that sits at the top of the shoulders. I hope that makes sense!
6/8/06 8:52 PM
wvsher said...
It's very pretty -- not boring at all. Very professional looking result, too.
6/8/06 9:55 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress and very classic. I think a belt would be nice but could go without just as easy.
6/9/06 6:45 AM
squirrellypoo said...
looks great! I was also eyeing up this dress (or the orange variant).
6/9/06 8:11 AM
OP Gal said...
Great review and great looking dress. Yes, it's very timeless and I'm sure you'll get lots of use from the pattern, now that you've mastered the construction in the absence of instructions.
6/18/06 11:20 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I was so glad to find a review on this. I bought this one and this is the only thing besides some pants that appealed to me. Your dress is lovely.
8/10/06 2:20 PM
LiZ said...
Very nice. The buttons look great and aa abelt would finish the dress offf.
8/10/06 4:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

SewBaby Terrific Teepees Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

SewBaby Blankie Buddies Pattern

Buy Now