Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2006-119 (shirtdress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1197 times
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:dvazz
photo
About dvazzstar
MO USA
Member since: 8/15/03
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 7 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/06 2:52 PM
Last Updated:6/8/06 2:55 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhead said...
Actually, I was about to suggest a braided leather belt just before I got to the sentence where you mentioned one. Thanks for the review and for reminding me about this great pattern.
6/8/06 2:58 PM
beangirl said...
This is lovely on you and you did a great job with the WOF instructions (or lack thereof). I think a print would be great, but this linen version is, as you say, a timeless classic. And I like it without a belt, even if it isn't very fitted. Very nice! Post another review if you make another, please.
6/8/06 3:30 PM
pterion said...
This looks very classic and well-made! Nice job!
6/8/06 3:39 PM
Peggy L said...
This looks wonderful on you!
6/8/06 3:52 PM
sew2little said...
Very classic look--you might try a print scarf at the waist or make a bright and/or printed obi-type sash.
6/8/06 4:22 PM
librarylady said...
It looks so elegant. Congratulations on your first WOF. I agree about interfacing... what's good enough for Loes is good enough for me!
6/8/06 5:58 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very nice. Does it have shoulder princess seams? I can't quite tell from the picture.
6/8/06 6:36 PM
Dee2 said...
I really like your choice of fabric & the buttons are a nice accent. Very helpful review too.
6/8/06 8:37 PM
dvazz said...
Carolyn: there are princess seams that extend to a small yoke that sits at the top of the shoulders. I hope that makes sense!
6/8/06 8:52 PM
wvsher said...
It's very pretty -- not boring at all. Very professional looking result, too.
6/8/06 9:55 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice dress and very classic. I think a belt would be nice but could go without just as easy.
6/9/06 6:45 AM
squirrellypoo said...
looks great! I was also eyeing up this dress (or the orange variant).
6/9/06 8:11 AM
OP Gal said...
Great review and great looking dress. Yes, it's very timeless and I'm sure you'll get lots of use from the pattern, now that you've mastered the construction in the absence of instructions.
6/18/06 11:20 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I was so glad to find a review on this. I bought this one and this is the only thing besides some pants that appealed to me. Your dress is lovely.
8/10/06 2:20 PM
LiZ said...
Very nice. The buttons look great and aa abelt would finish the dress offf.
8/10/06 4:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

No Pattern Used none
photo
Review by KG2 on 10/25/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl City Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Keyka Lou Patterns
photo
Review by sew4dasoul on 5/5/09
Read Review

Butterick 5973 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5973 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5681 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 5681 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us