Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6429 (Misses' Knit Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2246 times 56 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Tonya
photo
About Tonyastarstar
SC USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 50
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/9/06 0:50 AM
Last Updated:7/25/08 8:31 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lovely dress, I thought that fabric looked familiar. It's a very attractive party dress. Congratulations on your graduation from your residency program!
6/9/06 1:58 AM
hongkongshopper said...
The dress looks really nice on you!
6/9/06 6:01 AM
susinok said...
Your calves look fine. Mine are bigger and I'd totally wear that dress! It's gorgeous. I just put that pattern on my wishlist!
6/9/06 6:55 AM
Janine S said...
Great dress. I have this pattern, but have yet to try... I wondered about the neckline being too low also, your's looks fine.
6/9/06 6:56 AM
Karla Kizer said...
It's perfect, Tonya. That neckline doesn't look too low at all - at least from here. (Just stay 2000 miles from everyone and you won't feel self-conscious....) I think your work paid off handsomely - it looks great. Good review, too. Thanks.
6/9/06 8:02 AM
Ronda Rae said...
It looks awesome. I've been eyeing this pattern but am not great with knits yet. Your review gives me inspiration since you said it was easy. Congrats on your graduation!
6/9/06 8:19 AM
popoagiesmiles said...
Tonya, I think the dress looks really nice. I too avoid low necklines, but this does not look low to me based on the pictures. And, if you had skinny little calves, I think it would look odd. All looks in proportion, and you look really good in this. I've seen this dress made up a bit snugger, and that would look good too. If you are really self-conscious about the neckline, you could look for or make a very lightweight, stretchy cami with a coorinating lace edging across the top to help you know you're covered if you bend over or anything slips. You could also to stay cool, fashion a triangle shaped panel that you sew or snap to the top of your bra so that it looks like a cami is on if you bend over but you don't have all that double fabric everywhere else.
6/9/06 8:58 AM
redhead said...
I love your dress, and your calves look pretty shapely to me. Very hot dress and love the shoes. Congratulations on escaping that old comfort zone!
6/9/06 10:35 AM
pterion said...
Great dress, terrific fabric! I don't think the neckline is too low at all. You look fabulous!
6/9/06 10:59 AM
JulieT said...
Wow the dress looks gorgeous on you! And I think you just helped me figure out part of my problem with tops. I to am a triangle, or pear, shape and have had problems with the upper chest being to loose. I definately think now that I need to go smaller in shoulder size and work my way bigger as I go down the bodice! Thanks! The dress is beautiful and congratulations on the residency graduation!!!
6/9/06 11:07 AM
wvsher said...
Pretty dress; looks fab on you!
6/9/06 11:28 AM
rosephreak said...
This looks really nice on you and looks like a good fit. One note - I didn't realize that on the project photo link I needed to scroll down to see your pictures. You might want to let people know. And your DH is right -the neckline is not that low. In fact, if I were to make it myself, I'd lower it (just my preference.) And your calves are not huge. The length looks lovely on you especially with the great shoes. Nice job.
6/9/06 11:39 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a great looking dress. Your alterations were, obviously, correct and it looks like it fits you perfectly. The shoes are "to die for". How cool. I wish I could wear high heels again. Problems with my osteoarthritic knee prevents that.
6/9/06 11:49 AM
sewnbysf said...
The dress looks great!
6/9/06 11:57 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
OOH LA LA! Am putting on my wish list now!
6/9/06 11:58 AM
Vivienne said...
Dress, shoes and pedicure look great on you! Your ruffle is a really pretty, feminine addition. Definitely more than wearable!
6/9/06 12:06 PM
bunz said...
Well, for some reason, I'm not getting the picture, but I'll assume it looks great on you :-) and by the way -- hot pink -- is a color that looks fab on me! See, one woman's "blech" is another woman's WOW!!
6/9/06 12:34 PM
bunz said...
OK, I've got the picture. It DOES look great on you. You really nailed the length and proportions. Thanks for a great review.
6/9/06 1:23 PM
Hilary said...
This looks great on you (and I think the neckline looks fine, not too low). I love the shoes too, btw :o) Congratulations on your upcoming graduation, too!
6/9/06 1:36 PM
SarahWeb said...
I think your DH is right, the neckline is not too low. (I do love it when they say something positive!) The dress as a whole looks great on you and I hope you enjoy wearing it. Thanks for reviewing this pattern.
6/9/06 2:56 PM
Elona said...
The dress is quite lovely on you, just as it is. Gosh, the shoes look terrific, too. This dress profits from a delicate shoe, I think.
6/9/06 3:46 PM
Tiner W said...
Gorgeous dress! Gorgeous fabric! I've gotta get this pattern!
6/9/06 5:07 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful dress that looks very good on you and very good review. I'm getting closer and closer to trying more prints. This pattern will definitely go on to my wishlist. Congrats on your residency!!
6/9/06 5:08 PM
sewbehind said...
The dress looks awesome on you! Beautiful colour.
6/9/06 7:21 PM
OP Gal said...
Cool dress. It looks fab on you. Congratulations on graduating from your residency. I checked out your web site. What a cool gal. (Cool cats, too.) Wish you were practicing in my area!
6/9/06 8:29 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful dress and great review. Now I want one. Congratulations on your professional milestone, too.
6/10/06 7:05 AM
ryan's mom said...
Looks great! And what great EOS fabric with the style--you're are sure to be a standout whereever you wear this dress!
6/10/06 9:53 AM
slanden99 said...
Nice dress. It looks good in the EOS fabric
6/10/06 10:27 AM
xela said...
Pretty, pretty, pretty! Be proud!
6/10/06 10:34 AM
Tonya said...
Thanks for all the kind comments!

Rosephreak, I added to the webpage to help people know to scroll down - thanks for the input.

Elona, I agree about the delicate shoe - I searched Zappos for weeks and ordered 3 different shoes to find the best one, LOL.

OP Gal, yes, the cats run the house. Glad you enjoyed the website.

Again, you all are quite encouraging - thanks!
6/10/06 11:27 AM

Jennifer shaw said...
Your dress looks terrific and is very flattering on you! I liked your comments about your legs- I think that I am your long lost twin, only I am short with the same D*&^n legs! Kudos on your graduation from your residency !!!
6/10/06 11:57 PM
Julia Graham said...
Tonya -- I often check in with your reviews because we have similar body types. I think that's one of the prettiest dresses I have ever seen and looks GREAT on you. The fabric is gorgeous with your skin tone. You could dance proudly to k.d. lang's "Big Boned Gal" in that dress!
6/15/06 8:00 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice dress. This is a pattern that I also wouldn't have looked at if it wasn't for the great results everyone is getting. I still haven't bought it, but I keep thinking about it.
7/6/06 1:20 PM
mmelaFarge said...
good review and loved her spirit of trying something out of the comfort zone. I have a lot of issues with that myself.
7/11/06 7:36 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Fun dress! I love your spunky reviews.
1/7/07 9:16 AM
Twinset said...
Beautiful, you wear it so well!
7/26/08 11:07 AM
Heatherrique said...
Sensational and sizzling dresses on you! My favorite is the collared version! So DVF!
7/26/08 1:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-28
photo
Review by MelissaB i... on 2/11/08
Read Review

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5298
photo
Review by nommh on 2/3/09
Read Review

McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us