SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8082 (T-Shirt and Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1471 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/06 0:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AliceB said...
Very nice top. I agree about raising the front a bit. I've made this a couple times and find it too low for work without a cami. Now if I could actually remember to cut the raised front I need to retrace my pattern with the higher front. :)
8/5/06 0:30 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Nice! I have a very similar fabric that's been cut and sew a bit, but got intimidated with the neck and put it aside. You've inspired me to take it out and try to tackle my fears of knits!
8/5/06 6:29 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous top. You have sewn some great looking knit tops lately.
8/5/06 7:48 AM
Deepika said...
Karen, I love your top. Is mesh not sheer? On your dressform it doesnt seesm that way. Did you line it?
8/5/06 8:36 AM
Linda F said...
Beautiful top and great job.
8/5/06 9:08 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I really like the semi-raglan sleeve shaping on this top. You say it's not your best sewing, but I can't tell that from here. It looks great to me! I have this same print in buttermilk but blue/green tones. It is a cool fabric, isn't it?
8/5/06 9:18 AM
MarilynB said...
Oh la la! C'est bon! I agree with your raising the front neckline, it's just more comfortable when you don't have to worry about exposing yourself.
8/5/06 9:36 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great job on this top! I love the print with this (EOS buttermilks helped me get over my knit fears).
8/5/06 9:54 AM
j222b said...
Very nice. Can you tell me what type of dressform you have there, the cost and anything else you might want to divulge. It looks very nice, too.
8/5/06 10:11 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really nice - thanks for the review and tip on raising fron neckline. Very timely as I have this pattern and it's soon to go on the cutting table with a knit - also from EOS. Doesn't she have the loveliest??
8/5/06 10:43 AM
carolynw said...
Karen - like j22b any info re the dress form would be much appreciated
8/5/06 10:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I had my eye on this fabric too.
8/5/06 7:59 PM
Karen6790 said...
I got the dress form recently on ebay because the Singer one I'd purchased before that was a piece of junk that fell over every time I tried to pull a top over its head. The seller on this is PGMPro and they have two kinds - this one, which is the lower priced one at $149, and a much higher one that looks like the ones they use on Project Runway. It's very sturdy and pinnable, and I really like it.
8/7/06 9:39 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

McCall's 6390

photo
by: MayenDesig...

Review
Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Esme Top Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now