SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 8082 (T-Shirt and Dress)

6 more reviews
Viewed 1471 times 
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/06 0:12 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen6790 said...
I got the dress form recently on ebay because the Singer one I'd purchased before that was a piece of junk that fell over every time I tried to pull a top over its head. The seller on this is PGMPro and they have two kinds - this one, which is the lower priced one at $149, and a much higher one that looks like the ones they use on Project Runway. It's very sturdy and pinnable, and I really like it.
8/7/06 9:39 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I had my eye on this fabric too.
8/5/06 7:59 PM
carolynw said...
Karen - like j22b any info re the dress form would be much appreciated
8/5/06 10:44 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really nice - thanks for the review and tip on raising fron neckline. Very timely as I have this pattern and it's soon to go on the cutting table with a knit - also from EOS. Doesn't she have the loveliest??
8/5/06 10:43 AM
j222b said...
Very nice. Can you tell me what type of dressform you have there, the cost and anything else you might want to divulge. It looks very nice, too.
8/5/06 10:11 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great job on this top! I love the print with this (EOS buttermilks helped me get over my knit fears).
8/5/06 9:54 AM
MarilynB said...
Oh la la! C'est bon! I agree with your raising the front neckline, it's just more comfortable when you don't have to worry about exposing yourself.
8/5/06 9:36 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I really like the semi-raglan sleeve shaping on this top. You say it's not your best sewing, but I can't tell that from here. It looks great to me! I have this same print in buttermilk but blue/green tones. It is a cool fabric, isn't it?
8/5/06 9:18 AM
Linda F said...
Beautiful top and great job.
8/5/06 9:08 AM
Deepika said...
Karen, I love your top. Is mesh not sheer? On your dressform it doesnt seesm that way. Did you line it?
8/5/06 8:36 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous top. You have sewn some great looking knit tops lately.
8/5/06 7:48 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Nice! I have a very similar fabric that's been cut and sew a bit, but got intimidated with the neck and put it aside. You've inspired me to take it out and try to tackle my fears of knits!
8/5/06 6:29 AM
AliceB said...
Very nice top. I agree about raising the front a bit. I've made this a couple times and find it too low for work without a cami. Now if I could actually remember to cut the raised front I need to retrace my pattern with the higher front. :)
8/5/06 0:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Butterick 5816

photo
by: gsp1066

Review
McCall's 6078

photo
by: SueT

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Christine Jonson Taper Pant & Wide Leg Pant

Buy Now