Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8082 (T-Shirt and Dress) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1465 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Karen6790
photo
Friend of PR
About Karen6790starstarstarstar
PA USA
Member since: 3/2/06
Reviews written: 212
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 83 people
patterns reviewed: 211
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/06 0:12 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AliceB said...
Very nice top. I agree about raising the front a bit. I've made this a couple times and find it too low for work without a cami. Now if I could actually remember to cut the raised front I need to retrace my pattern with the higher front. :)
8/5/06 0:30 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Nice! I have a very similar fabric that's been cut and sew a bit, but got intimidated with the neck and put it aside. You've inspired me to take it out and try to tackle my fears of knits!
8/5/06 6:29 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous top. You have sewn some great looking knit tops lately.
8/5/06 7:48 AM
Deepika said...
Karen, I love your top. Is mesh not sheer? On your dressform it doesnt seesm that way. Did you line it?
8/5/06 8:36 AM
Linda F said...
Beautiful top and great job.
8/5/06 9:08 AM
Debbie Cook said...
I really like the semi-raglan sleeve shaping on this top. You say it's not your best sewing, but I can't tell that from here. It looks great to me! I have this same print in buttermilk but blue/green tones. It is a cool fabric, isn't it?
8/5/06 9:18 AM
MarilynB said...
Oh la la! C'est bon! I agree with your raising the front neckline, it's just more comfortable when you don't have to worry about exposing yourself.
8/5/06 9:36 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Great job on this top! I love the print with this (EOS buttermilks helped me get over my knit fears).
8/5/06 9:54 AM
j222b said...
Very nice. Can you tell me what type of dressform you have there, the cost and anything else you might want to divulge. It looks very nice, too.
8/5/06 10:11 AM
carolynw said...
Looks really nice - thanks for the review and tip on raising fron neckline. Very timely as I have this pattern and it's soon to go on the cutting table with a knit - also from EOS. Doesn't she have the loveliest??
8/5/06 10:43 AM
carolynw said...
Karen - like j22b any info re the dress form would be much appreciated
8/5/06 10:44 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I had my eye on this fabric too.
8/5/06 7:59 PM
Karen6790 said...
I got the dress form recently on ebay because the Singer one I'd purchased before that was a piece of junk that fell over every time I tried to pull a top over its head. The seller on this is PGMPro and they have two kinds - this one, which is the lower priced one at $149, and a much higher one that looks like the ones they use on Project Runway. It's very sturdy and pinnable, and I really like it.
8/7/06 9:39 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 5941
photo
Review by gotpeace91 on 4/5/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1377 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 8994 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3660
photo
Review by catalak on 4/23/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us