Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 3344 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1413 times 54 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Em's Summer
photo
About Em's Summerstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 2/16/06
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/06 4:46 AM
Last Updated:6/12/06 6:10 AM
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Looks very nice. Good tips for having a more wearable top. The pattern has a lot of different other views as well.
6/11/06 11:09 AM
RuthieSews said...
I have this pattern and wondered about sewing it, but the sleeves look quite narrow and my upper arms are chunky. Would I need to widen the sleeve somehow?
6/11/06 11:18 AM
Em's Summer said...
Hi Ruthie-This pattern is for two way knits, and it's very fitted, so I would suggest that you measure yourself and the pattern before you cut. It's better to cut too large than too small because you can always make it smaller. Just be sure that you cut your armscye to fit otherwise you might end up with awful low armholes. I strongly suggest that you make a muslin first because once you tweak the fitting issues out of the pattern, you'll have a great pattern and a great blouse! I love surplice tops and now that I have a pattern that's been tweaked to fit me and that's really fast and easy to sew, I'm definitely making more with this pattern. HTH...Em
6/11/06 11:46 AM
eleda said...
Hi Em's Summer - Your top looks great. I have this pattern, but have not made it up. Would you please describe how you " pinched 1" out of the front neckline"? I'm having difficulty visualizing this. Thanks, Adele
6/11/06 2:52 PM
bunz said...
Looks terrific! I, too was wondering about the front. Did you take 1/2" off each side?
6/11/06 3:24 PM
Elemenopeo said...
That's really cute - love the fabric.
6/11/06 3:50 PM
wvsher said...
Very pretty top -- thanks for the informative review!
6/11/06 10:42 PM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for stopping by and for your nice comments, everyone! Hi Adele and Bunz--I edited to add a pic of the pattern piece that I adjusted and I picked the editing option that pushes the review to the top of the list so you would see it. The edit is the most recent one near the beginning of the review. HTH...Em :-)
6/12/06 6:12 AM
AndreaP said...
I have a pattern with gaping in the front, and your tip of taking out the extra is going to help tremendously. I have 1-1/2 inches to take out (fabric is a woven) and I'll do it in two to three spots per your suggestion. Thanks for the great review.
6/12/06 11:12 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 6118
photo
Review by UmaPreve on 5/22/11
Read Review

Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom BettyAnn Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Little Bow Pleat Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2787
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 9/6/10
Read Review

TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King
TROUSER DRAFT - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1424 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1424 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6094 Pattern( Size )
McCalls 6094 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us