SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 3344 

55 more reviews
Viewed 1413 times 
Reviewed by:Em's Summer
photo

 
 
About Em's Summerstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 2/16/06
Reviews written: 188
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 42 people
patterns reviewed: 187
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/06 4:46 AM
Last Updated:6/12/06 6:10 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewbehind said...
Looks very nice. Good tips for having a more wearable top. The pattern has a lot of different other views as well.
6/11/06 11:09 AM
RuthieSews said...
I have this pattern and wondered about sewing it, but the sleeves look quite narrow and my upper arms are chunky. Would I need to widen the sleeve somehow?
6/11/06 11:18 AM
Em's Summer said...
Hi Ruthie-This pattern is for two way knits, and it's very fitted, so I would suggest that you measure yourself and the pattern before you cut. It's better to cut too large than too small because you can always make it smaller. Just be sure that you cut your armscye to fit otherwise you might end up with awful low armholes. I strongly suggest that you make a muslin first because once you tweak the fitting issues out of the pattern, you'll have a great pattern and a great blouse! I love surplice tops and now that I have a pattern that's been tweaked to fit me and that's really fast and easy to sew, I'm definitely making more with this pattern. HTH...Em
6/11/06 11:46 AM
eleda said...
Hi Em's Summer - Your top looks great. I have this pattern, but have not made it up. Would you please describe how you " pinched 1" out of the front neckline"? I'm having difficulty visualizing this. Thanks, Adele
6/11/06 2:52 PM
bunz said...
Looks terrific! I, too was wondering about the front. Did you take 1/2" off each side?
6/11/06 3:24 PM
Elemenopeo said...
That's really cute - love the fabric.
6/11/06 3:50 PM
wvsher said...
Very pretty top -- thanks for the informative review!
6/11/06 10:42 PM
Em's Summer said...
Thanks for stopping by and for your nice comments, everyone! Hi Adele and Bunz--I edited to add a pic of the pattern piece that I adjusted and I picked the editing option that pushes the review to the top of the list so you would see it. The edit is the most recent one near the beginning of the review. HTH...Em :-)
6/12/06 6:12 AM
AndreaP said...
I have a pattern with gaping in the front, and your tip of taking out the extra is going to help tremendously. I have 1-1/2 inches to take out (fabric is a woven) and I'll do it in two to three spots per your suggestion. Thanks for the great review.
6/12/06 11:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: tiadia

Review