Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: AD (Funky Cuffed Culottes) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 3319 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/11/06 8:55 PM
Last Updated:9/7/06 10:40 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
redhead said...
These look awesome on you. You should be happy. They are fantastic!
6/11/06 9:09 PM
dreamdesigner said...
I like those a LOT! And they look very nice on you!
6/11/06 9:29 PM
Rebecca D said...
These look just great on you and you've got the gorgeous calves to pull them off.
6/11/06 9:31 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! You know what works, and you make it work for you! -Ann
6/11/06 9:32 PM
Motorposus said...
You really made it work--they're both funky and foxy. Great with heels. Thanks for illustrating the metamorphosis of these pants.
6/11/06 9:48 PM
Stacy Sews said...
What a fun pair of pants! They look great both inside and out. I'm glad they worked for you.
6/11/06 9:55 PM
Levone said...
These pants look fantastic on you! Great job!
6/11/06 9:55 PM
Gigi Louis said...
MaryBeth, these are so fabulous! I love them!
6/11/06 10:20 PM
Lynngray said...
They really look nice on you. I may make them also. Thanks for the great reveiw.
6/11/06 10:34 PM
Lynngray said...
They really look nice on you. I may make them also. Thanks for the great reveiw also.
6/11/06 10:35 PM
Tailypo said...
Fabulous! And good save -- I'm glad you steered clear of 'mommification', as these are funkay and flattering.
6/11/06 10:42 PM
PhyllisC said...
I am SO lovin' these Mary Beth! They remind me of those 80's "city shorts" which is a great fun & funky look that deserves to be revived. You could also wear these on the weekend with high boots and a denim jacket.
6/11/06 10:53 PM
bunz said...
You funky gal! They look great. Congrats on stretching your mental comfort level :-)
6/11/06 11:18 PM
sewfan said...
These look just great! I'm always amazed how those lower waisted pants fit my middle-aged body.
6/11/06 11:20 PM
Elemenopeo said...
These look wonderful. Thanks for the great review.
6/11/06 11:28 PM
Berniejh said...
You're a very brave woman facing all those fears! They look just great. Good on you for resisting the "de-style" urge.
6/11/06 11:57 PM
Georgene said...
Well now, those are mighty fine. YOur waistband is just about perfect in its 1.5" width. Will you use this fit for a longer trouser as well? It seems a shame not to carry it over to another silhouette.
6/12/06 0:01 AM
jojoeffe said...
What a great review. Thanks! Your pants look just great on.
6/12/06 0:30 AM
Dmd4106 said...
great looking pants, excellent review.
6/12/06 1:35 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great job on these. Glad you are persistent and determined. They look great!
6/12/06 5:29 AM
CarolynGM said...
Fascinating process that you went through to get these pants to work for your body. I'm with Georgene -- carry the look over to longer pants as well.
6/12/06 6:13 AM
els said...
Great culottes MB. The pattern name “ funky cuffed culottes “can be worn not only for the young and trendy you showed us mature women that we can be funky too if we dare.
6/12/06 6:29 AM
ConnieBJ said...
"mom pants"! I love it! the pants look terrific - but of course you know that.
6/12/06 8:27 AM
Melody said...
MaryBeth, Those pants are rocking! You did an awesome job. They look great on you.
6/12/06 9:02 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely pants! Great look on you. Your interior work is noticed with envy. ;)Thanks for the wonderful review. I think I might be too short for this style, but maybe I should reconsider?
6/12/06 10:40 AM
Lisa Laree said...
Wow. What a great write-up of the whole process. And you know, you may have just convinced me that I'm not too old for this style either...which was my initial thought when I looked at the pattern. Fabulous work and great pants (and shirt, too, ;) )
6/12/06 10:49 AM
Karen6790 said...
Wow, might have to get this pattern after all - didn't think I was liking the culotte resurrection, but you may have convinced me. I was afraid of the low waist because of what my friend calls the muffin-top effect. Great review, thanks.
6/12/06 11:21 AM
artist1lisa said...
Awesome pants.They look great on you.Bravo.
6/12/06 10:36 PM
MaryBeth said...
oopsie
6/12/06 11:05 PM
Karla Kizer said...
LOL. I agreed with the sentiments completely, but it was uncharacteristic of you to chime in using those words.
6/12/06 11:25 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
I love this style on you! This review is great, too. Very helpful indeed for me as I am struggling with a pair of HP jeans ...
9/7/06 11:05 AM
Mary Reed said...
WOW!! Fabulous slacks - definately NOT Mom pants, but very stylish and wonderful!! Thank you for the complete and funny review.
9/7/06 11:37 AM
beangirl said...
Awesome awesome awesome! I love these pants! (And you know, I'm finding that I should not do so may alterations off the bat either. I just did a top and didn't alter the back at all... and it's great! doh! Quelle suprise.) Yor pants are very funky and very cool.
9/7/06 1:01 PM
sewbehind said...
Great Caboose! The pants are pretty cute too.
9/7/06 7:22 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very nice!
9/8/06 0:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7739 Dress
photo
Review by lucycw on 7/9/11
Read Review

Burda 7141 Pattern
Burda 7141 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2940 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
McCalls 2940 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other N/A free online
photo
Review by BrightFeat... on 5/27/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Maia Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern
Favorite Things Happy Feet Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us