Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 905 (Fitted Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1515 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/02 2:55 AM
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Mary Ann, it sounds wonderful! That is a really smart looking pattern, and I hope you write a review on the cuff pant when you make those. I don't have any of these patterns yet, but I like this jacket and the cuff pant too. :)
10/21/02 1:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mary Ann, I have looked at these patterns but have been hesitant due to the instructions - It scares me to rely on a certain percentage of shrinkage while I'm constructing the garment. Any advice as to how to do this, or do these patterns only work with CJs fabrics?
10/22/02 0:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It is scary at first...I started with an inexpensive cotton/lycra blend from JoAnn's and got a feel for the process. Then I dove into the good stuff and haven't looked back. I trust CJ's method's and her measurement charts. I think it is important (at least for me) to sew the pattern as intended (i.e. with cotton/lycra) first and then extend out to other fabrics. Her newest patterns, Basewear Two and Swing Shirt contain charts of finished garment measurements, that might help. I find her drafts to be very forgiving. the finished garments are flattering and very comfortable to wear. I feel that it is worth it to dabble in this "new" way of sewing. Good luck. Keep us posted as to your progress.
10/22/02 1:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for your insight MaryAnn. I really do like the style of the fitted jacket, as well as the new Basewear patterns. I have looked at her website, and the prices are reasonable for high quality fabric, it's just scary to start out with something known not to fit..I think that I will try it....I'll let you know how it goes..
10/22/02 3:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
AnneM said...
I'm confused when I read these comments. You don't preshrink the fabric first, but construct the garmet and then shrink it? Wouldn't it be easier to preshrink the fabric and then make the size that fits you without shrinking more?
12/10/02 9:32 AM
Gigi Louis said...
I have some FSG wool doubleknit in my stash and now I think I really need to get this pattern! Thanks for your review - don't know how I missed it back in October.
12/10/02 10:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 7942
photo
Review by lamstu on 9/2/09
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C
Maria Denmark Pernille Pencil Dress Digital Pattern Size C

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5144
photo
Review by mamakooz on 7/15/04
Read Review

The Whimsy Bag
The Whimsy Bag

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Daily News Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1362 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us