SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 905 (Fitted Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1530 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo

 
 
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews: 26 (patterns: 26)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/02 2:55 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said... (12/10/02 10:25 AM) Reply
I have some FSG wool doubleknit in my stash and now I think I really need to get this pattern! Thanks for your review - don't know how I missed it back in October.
AnneM said... (12/10/02 9:32 AM) Reply
I'm confused when I read these comments. You don't preshrink the fabric first, but construct the garmet and then shrink it? Wouldn't it be easier to preshrink the fabric and then make the size that fits you without shrinking more?
said... (10/22/02 3:42 PM) Reply
Thanks for your insight MaryAnn. I really do like the style of the fitted jacket, as well as the new Basewear patterns. I have looked at her website, and the prices are reasonable for high quality fabric, it's just scary to start out with something known not to fit..I think that I will try it....I'll let you know how it goes..
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/22/02 1:53 AM) Reply
It is scary at first...I started with an inexpensive cotton/lycra blend from JoAnn's and got a feel for the process. Then I dove into the good stuff and haven't looked back. I trust CJ's method's and her measurement charts. I think it is important (at least for me) to sew the pattern as intended (i.e. with cotton/lycra) first and then extend out to other fabrics. Her newest patterns, Basewear Two and Swing Shirt contain charts of finished garment measurements, that might help. I find her drafts to be very forgiving. the finished garments are flattering and very comfortable to wear. I feel that it is worth it to dabble in this "new" way of sewing. Good luck. Keep us posted as to your progress.
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/22/02 0:07 AM) Reply
Mary Ann, I have looked at these patterns but have been hesitant due to the instructions - It scares me to rely on a certain percentage of shrinkage while I'm constructing the garment. Any advice as to how to do this, or do these patterns only work with CJs fabrics?
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said... (10/21/02 1:16 PM) Reply
Mary Ann, it sounds wonderful! That is a really smart looking pattern, and I hope you write a review on the cuff pant when you make those. I don't have any of these patterns yet, but I like this jacket and the cuff pant too. :)
Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2011-19

photo
by: sky

Review
My Favorite Duffle Bag Paper Pattern

My Favorite Duffle Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Vogue Patterns v8755

photo
by: boonetowne

Review