SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Christine Jonson> 905 (Fitted Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1520 times 
Reviewed by:Mary Ann
photo

 
 
About Mary Annstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/18/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/21/02 2:55 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gigi Louis said...
I have some FSG wool doubleknit in my stash and now I think I really need to get this pattern! Thanks for your review - don't know how I missed it back in October.
12/10/02 10:25 AM
AnneM said...
I'm confused when I read these comments. You don't preshrink the fabric first, but construct the garmet and then shrink it? Wouldn't it be easier to preshrink the fabric and then make the size that fits you without shrinking more?
12/10/02 9:32 AM
said...
Thanks for your insight MaryAnn. I really do like the style of the fitted jacket, as well as the new Basewear patterns. I have looked at her website, and the prices are reasonable for high quality fabric, it's just scary to start out with something known not to fit..I think that I will try it....I'll let you know how it goes..
10/22/02 3:42 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
It is scary at first...I started with an inexpensive cotton/lycra blend from JoAnn's and got a feel for the process. Then I dove into the good stuff and haven't looked back. I trust CJ's method's and her measurement charts. I think it is important (at least for me) to sew the pattern as intended (i.e. with cotton/lycra) first and then extend out to other fabrics. Her newest patterns, Basewear Two and Swing Shirt contain charts of finished garment measurements, that might help. I find her drafts to be very forgiving. the finished garments are flattering and very comfortable to wear. I feel that it is worth it to dabble in this "new" way of sewing. Good luck. Keep us posted as to your progress.
10/22/02 1:53 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mary Ann, I have looked at these patterns but have been hesitant due to the instructions - It scares me to rely on a certain percentage of shrinkage while I'm constructing the garment. Any advice as to how to do this, or do these patterns only work with CJs fabrics?
10/22/02 0:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Mary Ann, it sounds wonderful! That is a really smart looking pattern, and I hope you write a review on the cuff pant when you make those. I don't have any of these patterns yet, but I like this jacket and the cuff pant too. :)
10/21/02 1:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

CNT 2501

photo
by: Judy Kski

Review
Butterick 5644

photo
by: rhgarza

Review
Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Sewn Square One Go Anywhere Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now