Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Jalie: 2561 (Women's Pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 2476 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 22 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/19/06 1:01 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $12.75     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brrmm said...
Hey, nice duds !! Great fit, looking good girl. BTW whats a PMB (pardon my ignorance)
6/19/06 2:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Sorry, PMB = Pattern Master Boutique. It is pattern drafting software by WildGinger.com I'll edit my review.
6/19/06 2:15 AM
Vonnevo said...
Definitely nice Duds Belinda. The fit is fabulous.Echoing brrmm, looking good girl :))
6/19/06 2:24 AM
Lori V said...
Great looking pants, Belinda. Looks like a perfect fit.
6/19/06 4:22 AM
JenniferBee said...
Great looking pants Belinda. Thanks for the detailed alterations.
6/19/06 5:48 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great review! I have a similar figure so I'm definitely going to try your alterations. These look wonderful!
6/19/06 6:07 AM
Deepika said...
Wow your pants look fabulous! You may never need to buy pants again :) Glad to see another glowing review of these pants. They are on my next to sew list.
6/19/06 8:16 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Belinda, these look fantastic on you. Thanks for the review, I've been contemplating getting this pattern (in fact, I already bought some fabric for it, just incase) for awhile now and you helped make up my mind - I need this pattern!
6/19/06 8:38 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Another great pair of pants.
6/19/06 9:23 AM
elizajo said...
After your review I clicked on "add to bag" and bought this pattern. I love the pocket stay. How is your beautifully fitted waistband different from the pattern?
6/19/06 9:50 AM
cindyann said...
Very nicely done! Thank you for the review and the detailed pics.
6/19/06 9:57 AM
sewbehind said...
Those pants look fantastic. Great fit and good job.
6/19/06 10:15 AM
Diane E said...
Belinda, your jeans are great! The fit is terrific. Thanks for all the details in your review - from thread used for top-stitching to the pocket stay - very very informative.
6/19/06 11:32 AM
wvsher said...
Great looking pants!
6/19/06 11:56 AM
Lilibet said...
Very nice fit. Other pattern on my wishlist.
6/19/06 6:22 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Thanks for the comments everyone. Deepika, I haven't bought pants now for 2 years. :) Elizajo, the waistband is basically the same only curved in different places. My back waistband is more curved and my front less curved. The Jalie one may have fit but when I had one that I knew fit I couldn't see the point in re-inventing the wheel. :) I spent a long time getting my contoured waistband just right so I use when I can.
6/19/06 6:33 PM
Sherril Miller said...
You may never have to buy RTW again. These are one terriffic fit and thanks for the Flat butt adjustment. No that's one that makes real sense to me.
6/19/06 7:07 PM
Skye said...
Great pants - thank you for the excellent review. This might be a pattern worth getting :)
6/19/06 11:28 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great review Belinda. Nice pants! Just a question on the alteration "The other alteration was to scoop the back waist to remove vertical fabric under the buttock cheeks" - how does that work? Is that putting a verical dart from waist to hem to reduce fabric going across the butt?
6/20/06 0:04 AM
Sew4Fun said...
HKS, oops sorry. That should have read *horizontal* fabric under the buttocks. I'll change it as it's confusing. This is the Kenneth King fish eye dart alteration where you pin a horizontal dart under the cheek then transfer the dart to the waist.
6/20/06 1:20 AM
martinanne said...
Wow! Beautiful work!
6/20/06 2:34 AM
sewsue said...
Your pants look great and fit well too. Thanks for all the photos too.
6/20/06 4:46 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Great looking pants. They fit perfect.
6/20/06 5:27 AM
Motorposus said...
The belt loops and back pockets really complete the look. Your topstitching is beautiful!
6/20/06 10:36 AM
minieme said...
Your pants look so well fitted, I think I should attempt to sew and fit another pair of pants again, I too have flat buttocks, my first pair of Palmer/Pletsch pants went to the Lifeline bin. I know someone is enjoying a nice pair of black crepe slacks.
6/20/06 7:45 PM
SewTwin said...
I am thrilled with your review!I have searched patterns for this type of pockets.My rounded hips & tummy pull at slant/curved pockets.That is all the big 4 seem to make.You did the research for me.I guess I didn't notice them in the other reviews,but since your pocket pics were so clear, I said Eureka!!...I found my pocket/tummy/hip problem pants!! I also think the wider waistband would pull in the excess from my weightloss tummy.Is the front larger than the back waistband??..Kudos for the pants & the "Review"!!
6/21/06 6:12 PM
SarahWeb said...
Thanks for the great review. I have this pattern and am trying to get around to it. I love the changes you made for a more "jeans" style. You have a very good looking pair of pants, there. I think this style might look good in a cropped length, too.
6/23/06 11:10 AM
Debbie Cook said...
A great pair of pants (again)! Such a flattering style on you and nice details. Love those pockets.
6/23/06 7:33 PM
99 said...
This was a very well done review. The ideas with descriptions and photos were very easy to understand. These are good looking pants.
9/7/06 9:17 PM
materialgirl331 said...
These pants look marvelous.
4/8/07 9:04 PM
Yvonski said...
Your review is very helpful. I've just received this pattern and am about to cut a pair out for my DD. Using Bengaline which is very stretchy so wish me luck.
9/21/08 1:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3199
photo
Review by Jali on 6/24/11
Read Review

McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8805 Misses Dress
photo
Review by DKG on 1/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us