SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5876 (1930s evening gown (OOP))

4 more reviews
Viewed 1482 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/06 9:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Fantastic gown! Wow!!! I remember this pattern from a while back and when I went back to buy it it was OOP! Yours is so lovely and elegant. I do particularly love it with the flaming red feather boa ;D
6/21/06 9:28 AM
countrybug said...
beautiful dress, congratulations
6/21/06 9:34 AM
Tini said...
great dress! I love love love vintage patterns or vintage inspired patterns....
6/21/06 9:38 AM
kkkkaty said...
Amazing dress, you look gorgeous. You should be rating yourself higher than an advanced beginner, I'd say......
6/21/06 9:51 AM
Gerri sews said...
Wow! At the risk of sounding like Katie Holmes, you look "Amaaaazing"!
6/21/06 10:24 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Absolutely stunning dress and a great story of resourcefulness. You look gorgeous darling!
6/21/06 11:48 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Very well done!!! hooray! and very good review also, thanks. Marita
6/21/06 12:13 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Beautiful dress, great review.
6/21/06 12:48 PM
bunz said...
Great gown! And I love the drunken dancing picture!!
6/21/06 2:27 PM
redsquid said...
Ditto on drunken dancing picture - we don't get enough "dd" shots here LOL - it's a beautiful dress, congrats!
6/21/06 4:40 PM
OP Gal said...
Great dress and great review. I agree, you've definitely graduated from the advanced beginner category with this dress!
6/21/06 5:00 PM
Liana said...
What a great dress, and what a great story! Very nice, all around.
6/21/06 6:02 PM
KiwiWendy said...
drop dead gorgeous. I snaffled up this pattern as soon as it was available ... I love 1930s clothes and it was great that it wasn't only in the small sizes. I'm still waiting for an occasion to make it.
6/21/06 11:47 PM
Tipseysmum said...
wonderful, wonderful, wonderful... A fantastic dress i wish i had that pattern. You did a great job and should be really proud.
6/22/06 6:35 AM
Ceri590 said...
Wow! Great dress, great story. Congratulations!
6/22/06 7:31 AM
kethry said...
Great Dress! I too cranked this one out in record time for a class reunion formal a couple of years ago. I think there are still some safety pins in the hem!. Yours looks great! I feel your pain on the flounces. ugh. I am glad you finished it in time!
6/22/06 9:24 AM
AnneM said...
This is already OOP? !! Great job on your dress; can't believe you got it done so quickly. Perhaps I will have occasion to make some of the patterns I have on hand "just because".
7/24/06 12:12 PM
mommaseven said...
Beautifully done, and gives me hope for all those gorgeous patterns I can't resist collecting!
8/7/06 10:56 PM
Lana E said...
Oh this is gorgeous. I'm impressed you were able to finish everything so quickly, but you are right, the end result is just stunning.
7/8/09 7:00 PM
saraatkin said...
You did a beautiful job with this dress. I have completely fallen in love with this pattern and have just won it on ebay. Unfortunately there is no possible event in my life I could wear it to. i am really hoping that something one day crops up like it did for you :)
3/8/14 5:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Children's Corner 271: Lakelin

photo
by: Saint Nolt...

Review
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Buy Now