SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 5876 (1930s evening gown (OOP))

4 more reviews
Viewed 1482 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/06 9:02 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Fantastic gown! Wow!!! I remember this pattern from a while back and when I went back to buy it it was OOP! Yours is so lovely and elegant. I do particularly love it with the flaming red feather boa ;D
6/21/06 9:28 AM
countrybug said...
beautiful dress, congratulations
6/21/06 9:34 AM
Tini said...
great dress! I love love love vintage patterns or vintage inspired patterns....
6/21/06 9:38 AM
kkkkaty said...
Amazing dress, you look gorgeous. You should be rating yourself higher than an advanced beginner, I'd say......
6/21/06 9:51 AM
Gerri sews said...
Wow! At the risk of sounding like Katie Holmes, you look "Amaaaazing"!
6/21/06 10:24 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Absolutely stunning dress and a great story of resourcefulness. You look gorgeous darling!
6/21/06 11:48 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Very well done!!! hooray! and very good review also, thanks. Marita
6/21/06 12:13 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Beautiful dress, great review.
6/21/06 12:48 PM
bunz said...
Great gown! And I love the drunken dancing picture!!
6/21/06 2:27 PM
redsquid said...
Ditto on drunken dancing picture - we don't get enough "dd" shots here LOL - it's a beautiful dress, congrats!
6/21/06 4:40 PM
OP Gal said...
Great dress and great review. I agree, you've definitely graduated from the advanced beginner category with this dress!
6/21/06 5:00 PM
Liana said...
What a great dress, and what a great story! Very nice, all around.
6/21/06 6:02 PM
KiwiWendy said...
drop dead gorgeous. I snaffled up this pattern as soon as it was available ... I love 1930s clothes and it was great that it wasn't only in the small sizes. I'm still waiting for an occasion to make it.
6/21/06 11:47 PM
Tipseysmum said...
wonderful, wonderful, wonderful... A fantastic dress i wish i had that pattern. You did a great job and should be really proud.
6/22/06 6:35 AM
Ceri590 said...
Wow! Great dress, great story. Congratulations!
6/22/06 7:31 AM
kethry said...
Great Dress! I too cranked this one out in record time for a class reunion formal a couple of years ago. I think there are still some safety pins in the hem!. Yours looks great! I feel your pain on the flounces. ugh. I am glad you finished it in time!
6/22/06 9:24 AM
AnneM said...
This is already OOP? !! Great job on your dress; can't believe you got it done so quickly. Perhaps I will have occasion to make some of the patterns I have on hand "just because".
7/24/06 12:12 PM
mommaseven said...
Beautifully done, and gives me hope for all those gorgeous patterns I can't resist collecting!
8/7/06 10:56 PM
Lana E said...
Oh this is gorgeous. I'm impressed you were able to finish everything so quickly, but you are right, the end result is just stunning.
7/8/09 7:00 PM
saraatkin said...
You did a beautiful job with this dress. I have completely fallen in love with this pattern and have just won it on ebay. Unfortunately there is no possible event in my life I could wear it to. i am really hoping that something one day crops up like it did for you :)
3/8/14 5:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

No Pattern Used Jellyroll Race Quilt

photo
by: Renren

Review
Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now