Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 5876 (1930s evening gown (OOP)) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1471 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/06 9:02 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annika said...
Fantastic gown! Wow!!! I remember this pattern from a while back and when I went back to buy it it was OOP! Yours is so lovely and elegant. I do particularly love it with the flaming red feather boa ;D
6/21/06 9:28 AM
countrybug said...
beautiful dress, congratulations
6/21/06 9:34 AM
Tini said...
great dress! I love love love vintage patterns or vintage inspired patterns....
6/21/06 9:38 AM
kkkkaty said...
Amazing dress, you look gorgeous. You should be rating yourself higher than an advanced beginner, I'd say......
6/21/06 9:51 AM
Gerri sews said...
Wow! At the risk of sounding like Katie Holmes, you look "Amaaaazing"!
6/21/06 10:24 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Absolutely stunning dress and a great story of resourcefulness. You look gorgeous darling!
6/21/06 11:48 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Very well done!!! hooray! and very good review also, thanks. Marita
6/21/06 12:13 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Beautiful dress, great review.
6/21/06 12:48 PM
bunz said...
Great gown! And I love the drunken dancing picture!!
6/21/06 2:27 PM
redsquid said...
Ditto on drunken dancing picture - we don't get enough "dd" shots here LOL - it's a beautiful dress, congrats!
6/21/06 4:40 PM
OP Gal said...
Great dress and great review. I agree, you've definitely graduated from the advanced beginner category with this dress!
6/21/06 5:00 PM
Liana said...
What a great dress, and what a great story! Very nice, all around.
6/21/06 6:02 PM
KiwiWendy said...
drop dead gorgeous. I snaffled up this pattern as soon as it was available ... I love 1930s clothes and it was great that it wasn't only in the small sizes. I'm still waiting for an occasion to make it.
6/21/06 11:47 PM
Tipseysmum said...
wonderful, wonderful, wonderful... A fantastic dress i wish i had that pattern. You did a great job and should be really proud.
6/22/06 6:35 AM
Ceri590 said...
Wow! Great dress, great story. Congratulations!
6/22/06 7:31 AM
kethry said...
Great Dress! I too cranked this one out in record time for a class reunion formal a couple of years ago. I think there are still some safety pins in the hem!. Yours looks great! I feel your pain on the flounces. ugh. I am glad you finished it in time!
6/22/06 9:24 AM
AnneM said...
This is already OOP? !! Great job on your dress; can't believe you got it done so quickly. Perhaps I will have occasion to make some of the patterns I have on hand "just because".
7/24/06 12:12 PM
mommaseven said...
Beautifully done, and gives me hope for all those gorgeous patterns I can't resist collecting!
8/7/06 10:56 PM
Lana E said...
Oh this is gorgeous. I'm impressed you were able to finish everything so quickly, but you are right, the end result is just stunning.
7/8/09 7:00 PM
saraatkin said...
You did a beautiful job with this dress. I have completely fallen in love with this pattern and have just won it on ebay. Unfortunately there is no possible event in my life I could wear it to. i am really hoping that something one day crops up like it did for you :)
3/8/14 5:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Butterick 4920
photo
Review by ButtonFait... on 2/5/12
Read Review

Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 4486 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8489 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6435 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by wendybirde on 4/13/12
Read Review

SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)
SBCC Patterns Foldover Waistband Maxi Skirt Digital Pattern (XL-3X)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern
Favorite Things The Boot Slippers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Claire Handbag
Claire Handbag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us