Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: cn_ts (Classix Nouveau Trouser Skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1182 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Tarawebster
photo
About Tarawebsterstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/31/03
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/06 2:09 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Janie Viers said...
It's truly a georgeous fit on you! I think I would have underlined it as well as lined it to prevent the seam allowance show through (I usually only underline white but mostly forget to do it in pastel colors myself!)
6/23/06 2:24 PM
Tarawebster said...
Janie, you are absolutely right. If this had not been my muslin, I would have taken the time to underline it. I decided to line it when I saw that it was going to be a wearable muslin, rather than just a throw away 'fit' muslin. I didn't have to change the fit much at all. I decided to go ahead and wear it after seeing several Talbots linen skirts that aren't even lined (selling for over $100.) that have the seam allowances showing through just like this one does. My next linen one will be underlined, probably with cotton bastite.
6/23/06 2:31 PM
pterion said...
Really sharp-looking classic style and you got a great fit despite the troubling instructions. I would love to have 3 or 4 of these to wear to work too!
6/23/06 2:38 PM
marthamyers said...
Lovely skirt - encouraged to make one myself now!
6/23/06 4:14 PM
PhyllisC said...
Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful - Tara you did a stellar job and you look GREAT in this skirt! I think you also made the right fabric choice. Trust me, the next one will go together in a fraction of the time. I'm so happy for you - and can't wait to see the next one!
6/23/06 7:01 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love this classic style on you. I'm anxious to see your next versions. You are fortunate that you didn't need to alter for fit.
6/23/06 7:20 PM
BeckyC said...
This is a beautiful skirt on you! It fits you wonderfully. It's a classic that I bet you'll make many times. Thanks for the great review.
6/23/06 10:49 PM
slanden99 said...
Great job on the skirt. How nice that it fit you so well without much altering.
6/24/06 10:24 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Your skirt turned out wonderfully. I had similar problems with the instructions for the razor sharp pants. I think they both use the same application. -Ann
6/24/06 10:52 AM
Gigi Louis said...
What a beautiful, classic skirt! It looks great on you.
6/24/06 10:55 AM
MaryBeth said...
Another great review of this wonderful skirt style. Congrats on finishing it! I am hoping that you will update your review with photos of the new skirts as you make them. :)
6/24/06 4:55 PM
wvsher said...
Great job on the skirt. It looks great on you; I can see why it will become a wardrobe staple.
6/24/06 11:47 PM
AnneM said...
That looks fantastic. Great style. I really will have to get this. (Had to put the pants on-hold for other projects... when I finish those I will probably get this pattern.)
7/24/06 12:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2283
photo
Review by Sherril Mi... on 3/6/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6779 Misses Dress
photo
Review by LawsonVall... on 4/10/09
Read Review

You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Evening Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $17.65
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops
Sewing Workshop Alex & Olive Tops

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8943 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
McCalls 6702 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us