Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2005-112 (Twist Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1411 times 41 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:casken
photo
About caskenstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 12/6/04
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/21/06 11:22 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dreamdesigner said...
Cute!
6/26/06 0:33 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
That adorable fabric does look really cute in the twist top with the lettuce edge. It looks great on you.
6/26/06 0:51 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
Your top looks wonderful on you! Thanks for the glowing review.
6/26/06 1:10 AM
dmoonangel said...
This is sooo cute! I love the lettuce hem!
6/26/06 1:22 AM
Sherril Miller said...
his has to be the cutest version of this top ever! Great fabric choice and it really works on your darling figure.
6/26/06 2:38 AM
Vonnevo said...
I like it aloooot too Casken. Sure is a lovely photo of you too. I have emmed and sewed the sleeves first and then one continuous side seam, on all the TTs I have made. Because it is an overlocked or narrow seam on a stretch fabric, this method does not have any adverse effect on how the sleeve and bodice sit. Welcome to the TT Club :)))
6/26/06 5:46 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love your version. The fabric and the hem finishes are really great. -Ann
6/26/06 8:02 AM
Sewliz said...
The top is perfect! What a nice picture.
6/26/06 8:10 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty fabric and the rolled hem is a nice touch. Great job.
6/26/06 8:33 AM
Stacy Sews said...
This top looks so cute on you. I love the lettuce edge on the twist top - so pretty and feminine!
6/26/06 9:19 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Yup, will have to get some wooly nylon for mine ... I am shameless in copying little details! Love the colour and the print. Lucky you to have a Marshall's ...
6/26/06 9:19 AM
QuantumLobster said...
Your top is beautiful! Every time I read a review of a twist top, I think, "I have to try that someday before they go out of style!" The lettuce edging is soooooo cute!
6/26/06 9:23 AM
bunz said...
That is a dream color on you!
6/26/06 10:02 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very nice top!
6/26/06 3:00 PM
jnamcd said...
Thanks for the review! I'm getting ready to try this top soon, and love the reviews on it for helpful tips! Very cute!
6/26/06 4:34 PM
seamsitis said...
Pretty top!
6/26/06 4:41 PM
Hilary said...
I like it aloooot toooo :D VERY cute on you, and I love the lettuce hem! Thanks for reviewing it!
6/26/06 5:49 PM
KarenP said...
Cute! I have this cut out and waiting in the queue to be sewn up - I hope mine turns out as good as yours did!
6/26/06 8:17 PM
Sandil said...
I'm making my second of this top and have it cut out, but not sewn together...love the rolled hem idea. I'm going to borrow it and do the exact same! Thanks for the great idea. FYI - I didn't add anything to the shoulders, but I did stabalize the neck (front and back) with clear plastic tape and it seems to have worked well. No gaping or movement. I used a jersey knit. Love the fabric - looks great on you!!
6/26/06 8:45 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Love the fabric too!
6/27/06 0:26 AM
Nancy K said...
I appreciate the sewing tips as I really have a problem with knits. The top looks great on you and I think that I will make it again. Like the sleeve finish.
6/27/06 7:51 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top.l Thanks for the great review.
11/22/06 8:47 AM
mrspenguin said...
Fantastic top. And don't you just love the rolled hem look? It's my new favorite and I use it whenever I can.
11/22/06 12:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 1165 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 7/19/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern
Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Hang Time Basketball Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)
Oliver + S Secret Agent Trench Coat Digital Pattern ( 6M- 4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7556 Misses DRESS
photo
Review by lqtang on 12/29/13
Read Review

Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5951 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1367 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us