SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4559 (Luau Dress OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 940 times 
Reviewed by:delirium
photo

 
 
About deliriumstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/31/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/06 8:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quesie said...
I had all the same problems and disappointments as you had with this pattern. I wanted that look SO BAD. And instead and fiddled around trying to make the best of the half-baked pattern. This thing does need STRUCTURE to stand up, and a nice finish to the wrap! I hope they rethink it and make a REAL pattern next time.
6/30/06 6:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very stunning dress! I like your version better!
6/30/06 6:52 PM
brrmm said...
Oh man, I lerrve it !!
6/30/06 6:53 PM
Annika said...
There seem to be so many problems with this pattern - perhaps that's why they discontinued it so fast. It's a shame they didn't put out a good product in the first place. Your dress is sumptuous - love, love, love the fabric choice!
6/30/06 7:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
That luau dress looks soo pretty that I can't even tell there were any problems with the pattern! Great job!
6/30/06 8:14 PM
Lhan said...
I agree with you - my first thought was "Is this really a "costume"? It looks more like a great dress to me!" I love your adventurousness with these patterns - and I think you made a great job of a slightly inadequate pattern. Your solutions are great - that bust wrapping looks fabulous, and fabric is perfect. As an alternative, what about a self lining on the ties with piping or plain bound edging? A photo of you in it is all that is lacking (go on - be a devil!).
6/30/06 8:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a lovely dress and fabric! I find it hard to believe it is a costume too.
6/30/06 8:58 PM
Elona said...
Still and all, woo-hoo! Striking dress, to say the least.
7/1/06 4:23 AM
delirium said...
Thanks everyone :) Lhan, I did wonder about self-lining the ties but I was worried they'd get too bulky at the back. I like the piping idea, that would pick up the detail. On the skirt drape too. It's a nice pattern in itself. I think what irks is that it's on the route to being great, but doesn't quite make it.
7/1/06 5:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress. I can't believe you're defining yourself as a beginner. Your savvy handling the challenges of this pattern clearly defines you as more advanced than that. By the way, you'll have to explain to this Kansas gal what "twiddly" means. :o)
7/1/06 9:16 AM
Quesie said...
By the way, I think YOUR version is beautiful, and my earlier comments were about the pattern drafting, not your wonderful efforts! Sorry if I sounded like a crank.
7/1/06 9:49 AM
delirium said...
Not at all, I knew what you meant and agree with you totally. :)
7/1/06 11:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

McCall's 6078

photo
by: JEH

Review
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Nikko Jacket Pattern

Buy Now