Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4559 (Luau Dress OOP) - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 935 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:delirium
photo
About deliriumstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/31/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/06 8:30 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Quesie said...
I had all the same problems and disappointments as you had with this pattern. I wanted that look SO BAD. And instead and fiddled around trying to make the best of the half-baked pattern. This thing does need STRUCTURE to stand up, and a nice finish to the wrap! I hope they rethink it and make a REAL pattern next time.
6/30/06 6:44 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very stunning dress! I like your version better!
6/30/06 6:52 PM
brrmm said...
Oh man, I lerrve it !!
6/30/06 6:53 PM
Annika said...
There seem to be so many problems with this pattern - perhaps that's why they discontinued it so fast. It's a shame they didn't put out a good product in the first place. Your dress is sumptuous - love, love, love the fabric choice!
6/30/06 7:03 PM
Em's Summer said...
That luau dress looks soo pretty that I can't even tell there were any problems with the pattern! Great job!
6/30/06 8:14 PM
Lhan said...
I agree with you - my first thought was "Is this really a "costume"? It looks more like a great dress to me!" I love your adventurousness with these patterns - and I think you made a great job of a slightly inadequate pattern. Your solutions are great - that bust wrapping looks fabulous, and fabric is perfect. As an alternative, what about a self lining on the ties with piping or plain bound edging? A photo of you in it is all that is lacking (go on - be a devil!).
6/30/06 8:41 PM
Sew4Fun said...
What a lovely dress and fabric! I find it hard to believe it is a costume too.
6/30/06 8:58 PM
Elona said...
Still and all, woo-hoo! Striking dress, to say the least.
7/1/06 4:23 AM
delirium said...
Thanks everyone :) Lhan, I did wonder about self-lining the ties but I was worried they'd get too bulky at the back. I like the piping idea, that would pick up the detail. On the skirt drape too. It's a nice pattern in itself. I think what irks is that it's on the route to being great, but doesn't quite make it.
7/1/06 5:58 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress. I can't believe you're defining yourself as a beginner. Your savvy handling the challenges of this pattern clearly defines you as more advanced than that. By the way, you'll have to explain to this Kansas gal what "twiddly" means. :o)
7/1/06 9:16 AM
Quesie said...
By the way, I think YOUR version is beautiful, and my earlier comments were about the pattern drafting, not your wonderful efforts! Sorry if I sounded like a crank.
7/1/06 9:49 AM
delirium said...
Not at all, I knew what you meant and agree with you totally. :)
7/1/06 11:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Vogue Patterns 1027 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by imsewcrazy on 6/5/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 4033 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4033 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2569 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 2569 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Bullard Design Go On & Knit
photo
Review by SueV on 8/17/08
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Jacket
Christine Jonson Swing Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern
SewBaby Travel Nappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us