SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4559 (Luau Dress OOP)

1 more reviews
Viewed 940 times 
Reviewed by:delirium
photo

 
 
About deliriumstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/31/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/06 8:30 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
delirium said...
Not at all, I knew what you meant and agree with you totally. :)
7/1/06 11:06 AM
Quesie said...
By the way, I think YOUR version is beautiful, and my earlier comments were about the pattern drafting, not your wonderful efforts! Sorry if I sounded like a crank.
7/1/06 9:49 AM
OP Gal said...
Beautiful dress. I can't believe you're defining yourself as a beginner. Your savvy handling the challenges of this pattern clearly defines you as more advanced than that. By the way, you'll have to explain to this Kansas gal what "twiddly" means. :o)
7/1/06 9:16 AM
delirium said...
Thanks everyone :) Lhan, I did wonder about self-lining the ties but I was worried they'd get too bulky at the back. I like the piping idea, that would pick up the detail. On the skirt drape too. It's a nice pattern in itself. I think what irks is that it's on the route to being great, but doesn't quite make it.
7/1/06 5:58 AM
Elona said...
Still and all, woo-hoo! Striking dress, to say the least.
7/1/06 4:23 AM
Sew4Fun said...
What a lovely dress and fabric! I find it hard to believe it is a costume too.
6/30/06 8:58 PM
Lhan said...
I agree with you - my first thought was "Is this really a "costume"? It looks more like a great dress to me!" I love your adventurousness with these patterns - and I think you made a great job of a slightly inadequate pattern. Your solutions are great - that bust wrapping looks fabulous, and fabric is perfect. As an alternative, what about a self lining on the ties with piping or plain bound edging? A photo of you in it is all that is lacking (go on - be a devil!).
6/30/06 8:41 PM
Em's Summer said...
That luau dress looks soo pretty that I can't even tell there were any problems with the pattern! Great job!
6/30/06 8:14 PM
Annika said...
There seem to be so many problems with this pattern - perhaps that's why they discontinued it so fast. It's a shame they didn't put out a good product in the first place. Your dress is sumptuous - love, love, love the fabric choice!
6/30/06 7:03 PM
brrmm said...
Oh man, I lerrve it !!
6/30/06 6:53 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very stunning dress! I like your version better!
6/30/06 6:52 PM
Quesie said...
I had all the same problems and disappointments as you had with this pattern. I wanted that look SO BAD. And instead and fiddled around trying to make the best of the half-baked pattern. This thing does need STRUCTURE to stand up, and a nice finish to the wrap! I hope they rethink it and make a REAL pattern next time.
6/30/06 6:44 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-119

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Simplicity 2151

photo
by: Lori9999

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now