Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2481 (Bellville Sassoon evening dres) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 1351 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:delirium
photo
About deliriumstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/31/04
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/06 7:53 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
Wow! Really impressive for a "beginner" - are you sure you are? Would love to see a photo with you in it - especially with the long black gloves. Nice to know that such glamorous dresses can be easy to sew - I would never have tried. Looks great. Thanks for the review.
6/30/06 8:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
I like the way the dress drapes nicely! But I am sure the dress would look even greater with you modeling it!
6/30/06 8:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely style and I love that shade of emerald green!
6/30/06 8:21 PM
AliceB said...
G e o r g o u s
6/30/06 9:21 PM
lornakismet said...
W.O.W. Wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! -LornaKismet (Lorna A.)
7/1/06 1:14 AM
redsquid said...
I'd have to agree that a dress with a boned underbodice is most definitely not a beginner project - it is MUCH nicer looking than Vogue's model photo, and I love the green as you can see the pleating details. ~Linda
7/1/06 10:49 AM
Re Becca said...
Good fabric choice, it show off the style well. Show us your boning! (not a phrase to be thrown around in mixed company) I would love to see more pictures, sober or not. Great job for a seamstress at any level, much less beginner.
7/1/06 12:01 PM
Ligeia said...
I would love to see a photo too. This is on the top of my "to do list" and you have made such a beautiful job of it. What a gorgeous colour. Great job!!
7/1/06 12:28 PM
mrspenguin said...
Drop dead gorgeous! I wanna wear it.... lol
7/1/06 12:44 PM
AndreaP said...
Beautiful dress!
7/2/06 0:52 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Very adventurous for a "beginner", I'd never attempt boning without sewing class help and I've sewn for many years. Beautiful pattern, silk, bet it looked ravishing! Well done!
7/14/06 10:12 AM
Tipseysmum said...
fantastic dress. well done. you have inspired me to buy this pattern and give it a go. thank you
7/25/06 10:34 AM
AngelaBarbara said...
Thanks for the review! I just ordered this to make up for myself, and it's nice to know (I'm a beginner) that it's not too hard!
11/10/06 5:34 PM
PearlGirl said...
awesome dress!! I LOVE the color you chose...it's really beautiful, nice job!!
1/12/07 2:18 PM
annamommynous said...
Thanks for the review! I am gonna place my order for this pattern. Your dress looks great!
1/14/07 6:56 PM
tourist said...
I am in the midst of making this in a long version for a wedding gown. The muslin was made in lightweight poly satin and a light interfacing. The top seam twisted and didn't lie properly. We have heavier satin and heavier interfacing (the pattern does not specify interfacing weight) so I am hoping the final version will be better. I didn't have any trouble with the invisible zip I put in. If anyone else has made this pattern, I would love to here from you. The wedding is Aug 25th:-) It is my daughter:-)
7/27/07 8:30 PM
angelt841 said...
I've been debating whether or not to use to this pattern for my luncheon dress, but seeing this review and that you too would like to try a casual fabric, encourages me. I hope my dressis as nice as yours!
3/25/08 1:01 AM
margk said...
Thanks for this, Delerium. I have just purchased this pattern and black satin, so wish me luck. (I am new to this website, so maybe I will post after I sew!)
7/11/08 4:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Self Drafted Pattern 188474-1000
photo
Review by starryfish on 9/16/11
Read Review

McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 4478 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6652 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2791
photo
Review by zoezmommy on 5/14/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shana Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Hip Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us