Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: WSJ Bollywood Dress (WSJ Bollywood Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1885 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:MickeyFan
photo
About MickeyFanstarstar
GA USA
Member since: 6/7/04
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 41 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/1/06 5:03 PM
Last Updated:7/1/06 5:13 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Debbie Cook said...
Wow!! This looks so great. You simply *have* to invent someplace to wear it to. And when you do, all eyes will be on you in your knockout dress.
7/1/06 5:23 PM
KarmenG said...
That dress looks fabulous on you! You must go out for cocktails one evening soon!! Great review too.
7/1/06 5:27 PM
Linda F said...
Wow! Great dress. I would immediately make reservations at one of the best restaurants in town and make a reason to wear this! You did a super job.
7/1/06 5:28 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Oh wow! This is an amazing dress ... and you are stunning in it! You have to go show this off somewhere ... can't you invite yourself to a wedding or something?
7/1/06 5:33 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
Verrry "Bollywood"! ;-) I love that shade of blue, too.
7/1/06 5:44 PM
jlg said...
Awesome dress. You must find some place to wear it.
7/1/06 5:53 PM
drsue said...
Terrific dress! You must find an occaision for it!
7/1/06 5:59 PM
Kay Y said...
I agree this is a super fantastic dress. I sure hope you can wear it soon, at an occasion that will do it justice.
7/1/06 6:08 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
This is a lovely length on you. You look great in all your creations, but I think this length and the bit of frill is very flattering to you. The dress looks perfect on you, and I do think you should go to the city and see an opera or hob nob somewhere nice as an adventure with the dress as an excuse. What about wearing it to a fancy evening wedding? Also, would you ever consider making this up in a very drapey, thin fabric, maybe something casual and young looking? It could give you the flattery without the fuss.
7/1/06 6:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Audrey Hepburn with a modern age twist. Simply gorgeous!
7/1/06 6:19 PM
zinnia said...
Fabulous dress!! You look wonderful!
7/1/06 6:23 PM
Vonnevo said...
Definitely a Bollywood look, glamourous and simply gorgeous.
7/1/06 6:42 PM
bunz said...
Uber-Bolllywood! Hope you get an occasion to wear it because it reallly looks fab on you.
7/1/06 6:49 PM
oracle said...
You look so great in that! I once made the Issey Miyake cape that's been in print since 1984 in a gorgeous coral red cashmere blend I got at a liquidation sale with money I'd been given as a gift. It turned out WAY too dressy -- and I'm an ultra-casual, seventies-type hippie-type person. But the few times I've worn it I've loved it, and so has everyone else! If you're not into dressy occasions, have you got some really good friends you could go over to dinner to, who'd make room for your just wearing it for the sake of wearing it -- even if they aren't dressed up themselves? And with whom you'd feel comfortable doing that?
7/1/06 7:14 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Wow, you look stunning! I love your fabric choice. Great review too.
7/1/06 7:21 PM
BjP said...
You look like a princess! You need to go on a cruise or something to show off this stunning dress!
7/1/06 8:12 PM
CarolynGM said...
Well, just throw a party yourself so you can shine in this gorgeous dress!
7/1/06 8:19 PM
beangirl said...
Oh wow, what everyone else said! I am sooooo glad you made this lovely dress, I have been dying to see one made up! Can you maybe go into Atlanta for a fancy weekend? You must must must wear this out and blow everyone away with your fabulousness. :-)
7/1/06 8:32 PM
PhyllisC said...
I love it - this is the kind fo dress that makes you go out and look for a eason to wear it. Take on your next vacation!
7/1/06 8:33 PM
PatCat said...
You must FIND a cocktail party! You look mah-velous!
7/1/06 8:40 PM
popoagiesmiles said...
Seriously, maybe you should have a dressup party at your house. Why not do something like that for your daughter's next birthday party? Call it a princess party or a movie star party or some such thing or if she's too old for that call it a glamour girl party and maybe get a friend to help and do everyone's colors, sending them home with color reference cards, have a lesson in fashion tips on topics like balancing proportions or how to build a wardrobe on just a few items or whatever. You could do a demonstration with a mirror in front of a window, showing how different colors make you look different, or having a volunteer model different styles and show how different principles can be used for different effect...well, I just really want to see you were this dress I guess, even if it's for a costume of sorts. Or it could be a costume party and you could really go as Audrey Hepburn. I have about four dresses I have nowhere to wear as well. Even the symphony around here is more casual than that.
7/1/06 11:53 PM
patsijean said...
This dress is a "Wowwwwzer." Make up something, anything, for a reason to wear this dress somewhere.
7/2/06 1:10 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
I'm with Debbie. Must wear! At least drag DH out for cocktails one night.
7/2/06 4:29 AM
MaryBeth said...
Love this dress: It's very becoming. So, now you know how wonderfully flattering this style is for you. Thank you for being so linear and doing the review.
7/2/06 7:21 AM
Danvillegirl said...
It looks great on you. Lucky you that you can pull off a Jessica Parker outfit. Like Debbie, you need to invent someplace to wear it.
7/2/06 7:57 AM
MarilynB said...
This pattern has intrigued me since it was first available. It is so chic and feminine. You look marvelous in it. Thank you for the review.
7/2/06 8:39 AM
Nancy K said...
Throw a lets dress up New Years eve party! You look fabulous in this dress.
7/2/06 11:27 AM
licarritc said...
I've loved that dress from the beginning too! Also have no wear to wear it but then it wouldn't look as good on me as it does on you!
7/3/06 9:12 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Mickey, your dress is dynamite. I LOVE it! I have been waiting patiently for somebody to review this. Thanks! I have it ready to be made up in some linen for an upcoming wedding. Hopefully my version will turn out as beautifully as yours!
7/3/06 11:39 AM
Christina Sonja said...
H-O-T... Thanks for this review! I have this pattern but haven't gotten around to it yet - now the bar has been set! I haven't looked closely at the pattern pieces yet - are those pockets I see? Are they part of the pattern or you added them? They are great.
7/6/06 0:53 AM
lindarkv said...
I bought this pattern to make for my daughter, became discouraged trying to understand the directions - what is the "mount" - lining or fashion fabric? Your review convinced my to give the pattern a try.
7/9/06 10:52 PM
AnneM said...
Well, you might be able to make the dress again in a very drapey fabric, and have it something you can wear somewhere a little less glitzy. To this version, add a nice necklace and go to opening night at the opera.
7/27/06 9:37 AM
Patti in IL said...
I am planning to make this in a double georgette - so wanted to read about that bodice!! Thanks for the details!
3/19/07 2:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Kwik Sew 3854 Shorts
photo
Review by pterion on 5/20/11
Read Review

Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Garden Party Dress (6M-4) Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6594
photo
Review by SueV on 6/9/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern
Favorite Things Eco Market Tote Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7074 Pattern
Burda 7074 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5554 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us