Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4385 (Sew News Jean Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 881 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/06 4:23 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
The jacket looks terrific! Great combination of fabrics. I'm not surprised your sister won't let it out, now she's got it. Bummer about the buttonhole problem on your new machine - what about it wouldn't work?
7/2/06 6:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry about the buttonhole problem, but GOOD SAVE! The jacket looks very creative and artsy! It's just lovely. Good job and good review! BTW, don't know if you know this, but your pic is sideways.
7/2/06 10:01 PM
patsijean said...
I can't see myself making a jeans jacket anytime soon but I love this one. I love the fabric.
7/3/06 1:28 AM
Ivanova said...
Hi, this jacket is gorgeous - I wouldn't let go of it, either! Just a question - before you made buttonholes in the garment did you try one or two practice buttonholes on scraps of your garment fabric first? Putting buttonholes in home dec weight fabric can be a real pain... Was the stitch density off? Anyway, fantastic save - wish my sister sewed!
7/3/06 3:08 AM
LauraM62 said...
I did find when I bought a new machine all of sudden I had trouble with buttonholes on allot of my fabrics. I finally found that for me using a tear-away stabalizer between the fabric & the feed-dogs helped allot in getting a really nice buttonhole on my now newer machine. So I do a practice buttonhole on scraps, if I have trouble try another with the tear-away, make a few adjustments, and all the problems are usually gone.
7/3/06 6:37 AM
cecelia said...
Yes, I did practice on scraps, and of course they were just fine. I think it may be the interfacing because I even tried using heavier needles and ones for metallics, also tear-away stabilizer. And yes, I do know it's sideways--I replaced it with a right side up, so I don't know what happened. As far as what happened with the buttonholes, it would start out fine, then just stop in one place down the line and make a big lump. Then I'd have to rip it out. Checked tensions, etc., but am open to any other ideas!
7/3/06 6:39 AM
diane s said...
If the area where the buttonhole goes is not perfectly smooth, the manual buttonhole option works better than the sensor foot, and after you do the first manual there's a repeat button. I prefer my Viking machine for buttonholes.
7/3/06 9:12 AM
carolynw said...
The jacket is really lovely!! Perhaps it was the material that causd the button hole problem - at times I have found that besides using a tear away stabilizer on the bottom using Sulky Solvy on the top between the presser foot and the material helps - try this and see if it helps. I see someone else has already mentioned that in problems like this the manual button hole foot is better than the sensor and that too is right on. Terrific save for a lovely jacket.
7/3/06 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely jacket and what a thoughtful present for your sister. I just made buttonholes yesterday on a jacket made from medium weight home dec material. I found that I had to trim the front seams very closely and then hammer the remaining seam allowance in order to get the sensor foot to cooperate, as well as use the previously mentioned stabilizer.. I love my Viking buttonholes but make a lot of test ones to find the right combination of stitich density, etc. Bravo to you for the save!
7/3/06 9:27 AM
cecelia said...
Thanks for the tips on the stabilizer. I have used stabilizer, but haven't tried Sulky Solvy or hammering the fabric which I'll try next time--thanks for the tips! Photo is now right side up!
7/4/06 8:27 AM
Maggie Cat said...
Very inventive save. I have a more than 10 year old machine that does wonderful buttonholes so I am no help there. I love the cat fabric. Where did you get it?
7/9/06 10:27 AM
cecelia said...
Hi Maggie Cat--I got the fabric in the home decorating section of fabric.com--really love that place! I also got my "old" Kenmore back with the buttonhole templates from my granddaughter--bought her a new one since she's not doing buttonholes right now.
7/10/06 8:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by mnitts on 11/8/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1194
photo
Review by TheaBerlin on 6/10/10
Read Review

McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us