SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4385 (Sew News Jean Jackets)

10 more reviews
Viewed 881 times 
Reviewed by:cecelia
photo

 
 
About ceceliastar
CT USA
Member since: 5/4/06
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/06 4:23 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lhan said...
The jacket looks terrific! Great combination of fabrics. I'm not surprised your sister won't let it out, now she's got it. Bummer about the buttonhole problem on your new machine - what about it wouldn't work?
7/2/06 6:31 PM
Em's Summer said...
Sorry about the buttonhole problem, but GOOD SAVE! The jacket looks very creative and artsy! It's just lovely. Good job and good review! BTW, don't know if you know this, but your pic is sideways.
7/2/06 10:01 PM
patsijean said...
I can't see myself making a jeans jacket anytime soon but I love this one. I love the fabric.
7/3/06 1:28 AM
Ivanova said...
Hi, this jacket is gorgeous - I wouldn't let go of it, either! Just a question - before you made buttonholes in the garment did you try one or two practice buttonholes on scraps of your garment fabric first? Putting buttonholes in home dec weight fabric can be a real pain... Was the stitch density off? Anyway, fantastic save - wish my sister sewed!
7/3/06 3:08 AM
LauraM62 said...
I did find when I bought a new machine all of sudden I had trouble with buttonholes on allot of my fabrics. I finally found that for me using a tear-away stabalizer between the fabric & the feed-dogs helped allot in getting a really nice buttonhole on my now newer machine. So I do a practice buttonhole on scraps, if I have trouble try another with the tear-away, make a few adjustments, and all the problems are usually gone.
7/3/06 6:37 AM
cecelia said...
Yes, I did practice on scraps, and of course they were just fine. I think it may be the interfacing because I even tried using heavier needles and ones for metallics, also tear-away stabilizer. And yes, I do know it's sideways--I replaced it with a right side up, so I don't know what happened. As far as what happened with the buttonholes, it would start out fine, then just stop in one place down the line and make a big lump. Then I'd have to rip it out. Checked tensions, etc., but am open to any other ideas!
7/3/06 6:39 AM
diane s said...
If the area where the buttonhole goes is not perfectly smooth, the manual buttonhole option works better than the sensor foot, and after you do the first manual there's a repeat button. I prefer my Viking machine for buttonholes.
7/3/06 9:12 AM
carolynw said...
The jacket is really lovely!! Perhaps it was the material that causd the button hole problem - at times I have found that besides using a tear away stabilizer on the bottom using Sulky Solvy on the top between the presser foot and the material helps - try this and see if it helps. I see someone else has already mentioned that in problems like this the manual button hole foot is better than the sensor and that too is right on. Terrific save for a lovely jacket.
7/3/06 9:26 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely jacket and what a thoughtful present for your sister. I just made buttonholes yesterday on a jacket made from medium weight home dec material. I found that I had to trim the front seams very closely and then hammer the remaining seam allowance in order to get the sensor foot to cooperate, as well as use the previously mentioned stabilizer.. I love my Viking buttonholes but make a lot of test ones to find the right combination of stitich density, etc. Bravo to you for the save!
7/3/06 9:27 AM
cecelia said...
Thanks for the tips on the stabilizer. I have used stabilizer, but haven't tried Sulky Solvy or hammering the fabric which I'll try next time--thanks for the tips! Photo is now right side up!
7/4/06 8:27 AM
Maggie Cat said...
Very inventive save. I have a more than 10 year old machine that does wonderful buttonholes so I am no help there. I love the cat fabric. Where did you get it?
7/9/06 10:27 AM
cecelia said...
Hi Maggie Cat--I got the fabric in the home decorating section of fabric.com--really love that place! I also got my "old" Kenmore back with the buttonhole templates from my granddaughter--bought her a new one since she's not doing buttonholes right now.
7/10/06 8:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

New Look 6567

photo
by: maryjanema...

Review

Pattern

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2010-114

photo
by: Maree P

Review
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Buy Now