Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4192 (Five easy coordinates) thumbsup - Type:Easy to Sew    printable version
Viewed 1040 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR
About ReneeSewsstar
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/06 8:51 PM
Last Updated:7/2/06 9:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
bunz said...
Renee - you're really getting the hang of it! Pretty top. I especially like the tiny ruffle treatment.
7/2/06 9:09 PM
Mely5862 said...
I really like it. Very nice fit. I think it looks better than the envelope
7/2/06 9:14 PM
Em's Summer said...
Yours turned out nicely. I wrote one of the other reviews of this and I'm amazed that you followed the instructions and didn't get a shelf neckband like I got when I followed the instructions and tried to sew this with gathers. The fabric I used was just as stretchy, and recovers just as well as two way knits, but I ended up with a shelf when I tried to make it with the gathers. I had to improvise to get a wearable top from this pattern so I'm truly amazed that you didn't run into the neckband problems that some of us ran into. You did a good job!
7/2/06 9:32 PM
ReneeSews said...
Em's Summer - The only thing I can think of is the fabric used? The fabric I used is a alternating ribbed and lacey, medium weight with no vertical stretch, only stretches horizontially.
7/2/06 9:51 PM
CatherineN said...
Your fabric is very pretty. Please be sure to review the pants when you make them.
7/2/06 10:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute top, Renee.
7/2/06 10:39 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your tank came out cute. I don't care for the pants, did that in high school, but I really like that kimono top.
7/2/06 10:56 PM
Elemenopeo said...
You did have excellent results on this top!
7/2/06 11:04 PM
fuzzygalore said...
You're getting the fit -perfect-! And you rather look like me, so I'd say yes you do have narrow shoulders :-). You've thrown me into philosophical musings of how many women with big busts have narrow shoulders - maybe it's from shoulder tightness due to weight carrying from years of inadequate bras, or teenage slumping to camouflage :-)?? Whatever the reason, the shoulders are perfect here, so keep doing what you're doing, in Big4 patterns at least.
7/3/06 3:51 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty top. Beautifully done.
7/3/06 5:34 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your top fits well. Glad to read you had to neckband problems. i still plan to make this.
7/3/06 5:35 AM
LauraM62 said...
Your top looks lovely on you Renee!
7/3/06 6:56 AM
ReneeSews said...
fuzzy - In this pic I look like I still am doing the camouflage slump ;-)
7/3/06 7:06 AM
PKPudlin said...
Nice job, Renee. Very cute top and helpful review. Thanks!
7/3/06 8:49 AM
redsquid said...
Excellent, you got the pattern to work - I'm thinking now the fabric I used for my top was too firm and just did not have enough stretch (although it had enough according to the "stretch chart") - thanks for the review!
7/3/06 10:35 AM
Luckylibbet said...
The top looks terrific on you! I love your choice of fabric, the pintuck look is wonderful.
7/3/06 1:40 PM
AnneM said...
Nice fabric choice for your top. Yours came out great. Good information between this review & the others!
8/2/06 4:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 3199
photo
Review by Jali on 6/24/11
Read Review

McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6599 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3246 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8805 Misses Dress
photo
Review by DKG on 1/7/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Charlotte Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Couch Caddy
Couch Caddy

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us