SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4192 (Five easy coordinates)

16 more reviews
Viewed 1053 times 
Reviewed by:ReneeSews
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ReneeSewsstar
IN USA
Member since: 6/26/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/06 8:51 PM
Last Updated:7/2/06 9:04 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Nice fabric choice for your top. Yours came out great. Good information between this review & the others!
8/2/06 4:58 PM
Luckylibbet said...
The top looks terrific on you! I love your choice of fabric, the pintuck look is wonderful.
7/3/06 1:40 PM
redsquid said...
Excellent, you got the pattern to work - I'm thinking now the fabric I used for my top was too firm and just did not have enough stretch (although it had enough according to the "stretch chart") - thanks for the review!
7/3/06 10:35 AM
PKPudlin said...
Nice job, Renee. Very cute top and helpful review. Thanks!
7/3/06 8:49 AM
ReneeSews said...
fuzzy - In this pic I look like I still am doing the camouflage slump ;-)
7/3/06 7:06 AM
LauraM62 said...
Your top looks lovely on you Renee!
7/3/06 6:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Your top fits well. Glad to read you had to neckband problems. i still plan to make this.
7/3/06 5:35 AM
jlg said...
Very pretty top. Beautifully done.
7/3/06 5:34 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You're getting the fit -perfect-! And you rather look like me, so I'd say yes you do have narrow shoulders :-). You've thrown me into philosophical musings of how many women with big busts have narrow shoulders - maybe it's from shoulder tightness due to weight carrying from years of inadequate bras, or teenage slumping to camouflage :-)?? Whatever the reason, the shoulders are perfect here, so keep doing what you're doing, in Big4 patterns at least.
7/3/06 3:51 AM
Elemenopeo said...
You did have excellent results on this top!
7/2/06 11:04 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Your tank came out cute. I don't care for the pants, did that in high school, but I really like that kimono top.
7/2/06 10:56 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute top, Renee.
7/2/06 10:39 PM
CatherineN said...
Your fabric is very pretty. Please be sure to review the pants when you make them.
7/2/06 10:01 PM
ReneeSews said...
Em's Summer - The only thing I can think of is the fabric used? The fabric I used is a alternating ribbed and lacey, medium weight with no vertical stretch, only stretches horizontially.
7/2/06 9:51 PM
Em's Summer said...
Yours turned out nicely. I wrote one of the other reviews of this and I'm amazed that you followed the instructions and didn't get a shelf neckband like I got when I followed the instructions and tried to sew this with gathers. The fabric I used was just as stretchy, and recovers just as well as two way knits, but I ended up with a shelf when I tried to make it with the gathers. I had to improvise to get a wearable top from this pattern so I'm truly amazed that you didn't run into the neckband problems that some of us ran into. You did a good job!
7/2/06 9:32 PM
Mely5862 said...
I really like it. Very nice fit. I think it looks better than the envelope
7/2/06 9:14 PM
bunz said...
Renee - you're really getting the hang of it! Pretty top. I especially like the tiny ruffle treatment.
7/2/06 9:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

McCall's 6559

photo
by: knitmachin...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Buy Now