Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2006-120 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 976 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR
About SueVstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 427
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 106 people
patterns reviewed: 394
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/06 11:35 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LisaLS said...
Pretty pretty pretty! I love this top too! You're making great use of your batiste.
7/6/06 11:52 AM
Tiner W said...
Too cute! I love it!
7/6/06 12:06 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I think this is my favorite too, Sue, although all of your recent blouses are so pretty and romantic looking.
7/6/06 12:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is really cute. Can you explain a bit how you did the shirring??
7/6/06 12:32 PM
SueV said...
Mary, good idea I used an elastic cord and zig zagged over it just enough not to catch the cording but to hold it in place. Initially I drew all 6 lines on the fabric, but then after doing 1 of the fronts, I just drew the top line and then used my sewing foot to guide and space the next rows. There are 6 rows total. After the elastic cor was sewn on I pulled it at the ends and it gathered the fabric up. the pattern gives you instructions for this and also tells you how much to gather it based on your size. It was really easy to do. My stitch length was 3.0 and my zig zag width was 3.0. This seemed to work well.
7/6/06 12:51 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
love this one too. The white batiste is so cute.
7/6/06 1:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
This one is beautiful too. Love those BWOF designs :)
7/6/06 3:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Thanks for the info SueV
7/6/06 4:08 PM
Seaspur said...
Lovely blouse. Perfect for that batiste.
7/6/06 4:25 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very lovely and feminine.
7/6/06 4:52 PM
PixieCat said...
So beautiful! I love the waistline shirring.
7/7/06 5:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty blouse. I have that same roll!!!
7/7/06 5:24 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful blouse. Thanks for the tip on lengthening it.
7/7/06 9:09 AM
Stilltheone said...
Wow! You did a great job. I have the Burda mag and I love that top. I found the pic of your top: http://burdamode.com/120_A_Bluse,1270777-1000019-1378535-1378537-1378594,deDE.html
7/7/06 9:13 AM
danglette said...
This is lovely! Maybe if you loosened the elastic a bit that would stop it riding up? Such a pity to give it away!
7/9/06 2:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 3921
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 4/17/12
Read Review

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Sailor shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used No Pattern used
photo
Review by Handmadeby... on 1/7/09
Read Review

Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5722 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6027 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us