SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2006-120 (Blouse)

Viewed 976 times 
Reviewed by:SueV
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About SueVstarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/29/04
Reviews written: 441
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 408
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/06 11:35 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LisaLS said...
Pretty pretty pretty! I love this top too! You're making great use of your batiste.
7/6/06 11:52 AM
Tiner W said...
Too cute! I love it!
7/6/06 12:06 PM
Debbie Cook said...
I think this is my favorite too, Sue, although all of your recent blouses are so pretty and romantic looking.
7/6/06 12:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is really cute. Can you explain a bit how you did the shirring??
7/6/06 12:32 PM
SueV said...
Mary, good idea I used an elastic cord and zig zagged over it just enough not to catch the cording but to hold it in place. Initially I drew all 6 lines on the fabric, but then after doing 1 of the fronts, I just drew the top line and then used my sewing foot to guide and space the next rows. There are 6 rows total. After the elastic cor was sewn on I pulled it at the ends and it gathered the fabric up. the pattern gives you instructions for this and also tells you how much to gather it based on your size. It was really easy to do. My stitch length was 3.0 and my zig zag width was 3.0. This seemed to work well.
7/6/06 12:51 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
love this one too. The white batiste is so cute.
7/6/06 1:36 PM
Vonnevo said...
This one is beautiful too. Love those BWOF designs :)
7/6/06 3:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Thanks for the info SueV
7/6/06 4:08 PM
Seaspur said...
Lovely blouse. Perfect for that batiste.
7/6/06 4:25 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Very lovely and feminine.
7/6/06 4:52 PM
PixieCat said...
So beautiful! I love the waistline shirring.
7/7/06 5:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Pretty blouse. I have that same roll!!!
7/7/06 5:24 AM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful blouse. Thanks for the tip on lengthening it.
7/7/06 9:09 AM
Stilltheone said...
Wow! You did a great job. I have the Burda mag and I love that top. I found the pic of your top: http://burdamode.com/120_A_Bluse,1270777-1000019-1378535-1378537-1378594,deDE.html
7/7/06 9:13 AM
danglette said...
This is lovely! Maybe if you loosened the elastic a bit that would stop it riding up? Such a pity to give it away!
7/9/06 2:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Jackets for Real People DVD

Jackets for Real People DVD

Buy Now
Maggie

Maggie

Buy Now