Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 7978 (Vogue Basic Design) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 1361 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Frogstitcher
photo
About Frogstitcherstarstarstar
AB CANADA
Member since: 2/26/05
Reviews written: 76
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 33 people
patterns reviewed: 74
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 9:14 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
What a classic trench coat. You've done a wonderful job. I love the buttons and the beads in the center just make it all your own. Great job.
7/10/06 9:29 AM
cindyann said...
Lovely coat! The beaded buttons are so pretty. I'm sure you will get a lot of use from this coat.
7/10/06 10:29 AM
carolynw said...
Very nice - if I get started on one now I may have it ready for Fall - or perhaps next Spring? Will certainly be adding this pattern to my stash - thanks for a great review
7/10/06 10:30 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Thanks for the thorough review. The straight, vertical lines of this pattern are a superb choice to elongate a petite figure. The fabric sounds like it was difficult to work with: no give or ease to it all all. Kudos to you for persevering and finishing the coat 8 months before spring!
7/10/06 10:42 AM
Doris W. in TN said...
Your coat looks great. I bought this pattern last year after reading several positive reviews. ;-) I hope to make it one day.
7/10/06 10:46 AM
Rhoda K said...
Good looking coat and good review. One question, or am I not reading correctly. You stated that you . . .hand-basted then interfaced . . . I'm confused.
7/10/06 10:55 AM
bunz said...
You got a very classic and classy coat out of this "lab" fabric (I don't agree w dd). Great review.
7/10/06 10:58 AM
Frogstitcher said...
nitwit; to answer your question, I hand-basted a cotton batiste to my main garment fabric and fuse interfaced a light weight tricot to the cotton batiste. My fabric just wasn't firm enough to hold its shape.
7/10/06 11:27 AM
sideseams said...
I just love your coat and the button detail. It is a great pattern for petites. Because of your review I will also try this pattern (I am 5'2").
7/10/06 11:38 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful review. I could almost visualize you making it. I love this jacket, too. I have one similar on the back burner for this fall. I'm procrastinating it because I have to match the herringbone material.>love the jacket! Ronda
7/10/06 12:47 PM
nicegirl said...
Really neat! I have been thinking of making a trench, but too lazy to deal with the collar and lining aspects of it. I feel a bit inspired...
7/10/06 3:41 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely coat. Very professional looking. Like the trim and buttons.
7/11/06 5:17 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Really great job on the trench!
7/11/06 8:56 AM
cathy45 said...
Great job. It looks to trim and smooth. Your review of the pattern encourages to give it try, too.
7/11/06 11:26 AM
patsijean said...
You did a beautiful job on this coat. I do not feel that it looks like a lab coat at all. As a short person, I will certainly give this pattern serious thought, and Vogue has always been my favorite.
7/11/06 5:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 3609
photo
Review by BlossomKyl... on 10/4/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern
Favorite Things Mama Mia Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Shannon Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE
Sis Boom Bosco Bowtie Digital Pattern FREE

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used Oversized Fashionista Bag
photo
Review by Sewphistic... on 2/12/11
Read Review

McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6467 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 3238 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us