SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4788 (Maggy London Dress)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1860 times 
Reviewed by:Sharon M
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sharon Mstarstarstarstar
MN USA
Member since: 8/3/02
Reviews written: 206
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 105 people
patterns reviewed: 205
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/9/06 9:32 PM
Last Updated:7/9/06 9:35 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sheila457 said...
Great muslim and thanks for ther review I'm in the processing of making that dress and will go with your suggestion about cutting the back on the fold.
8/9/08 3:23 PM
cactusflower said...
Good job! I have this pattern and am planning to make it soon. Thanks for sharing your experiences! Hope the second try works out for you...
1/7/08 4:44 PM
Jenny A said...
Great review, I have this pattern and you hve inspired me to get it made up.
4/1/07 6:10 AM
Sharon M said...
Sherril - I haven't remade it in "real" fabric yet...although I do have the fabric set aside with the pattern. Last summer slipped by and its just now beginning to warm up here, which means I'm just now beginning to think of spring/summer sewing.
3/31/07 2:30 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Did you get the dress made in a "real" fabric yet? I'm getting ready to make it and I was wanting to hear about your final tweeks.
3/30/07 5:31 PM
AnneM said...
Very cute style that works well for you. Throw a little fabric paint at it .... ;)
8/25/06 2:00 PM
KitnRose said...
Oh, I have SO done that - specifically I cut out THREE front right bodice pieces for a wrap dress. I'm glad this happened on your unwearable muslin, not on the real thing! It does look like a great style on you. Thanks for the review!
8/10/06 11:36 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Do make it again - looks great on you.
7/10/06 3:59 PM
Neefer said...
I've done the same thing. upside down cutting only I used a solid fabric that was the same color on both sides. The knit pattern is different (knit vs purl), but you can't tell up close. I tried to put the piece in backwards, too. That was very frustrating. Your dress looks fantastic. Maybe you could tell people you really wanted to emphasis your left boob? haha not. I'm sorry it didn't work out.
7/10/06 3:26 PM
nicegirl said...
Be sure to show us your wearable version--the muslin is very cute.
7/10/06 12:47 PM
cathy45 said...
Love the drape on this dress. Very flattering. Can't wait to see the "real" version.
7/10/06 11:52 AM
carolynw said...
Looks good - hey - with what I am seeing out and about in RTW the different bodice pieces could be your fashion statement - it may take off as it seems anything goes! Nice helpful review with LOL!!
7/10/06 8:45 AM
mrspenguin said...
LOL about deliberately cutting the bodice upside down. Really, you could just start this new fashion trend. Seems just about anything goes in RTW these days!
7/9/06 11:25 PM
lmg said...
Lovely. I agree about the dress hugging the waist and the fullness of the skirt. Very flattering.
7/9/06 10:59 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Cute muslim. Glad you like the pattern and am looking forward to seeing your next version.
7/9/06 10:53 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5674

photo
by: RebeccaMar...

Review
New Look 6180

photo
by: spankachut...

Review
10 inch Professional Shears

10 inch Professional Shears

More Info
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

More Info