SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1096 times 
Reviewed by:fuzzygalore
photo

 
 
About fuzzygalorestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/16/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 12:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Interesting alterations. Nice looking top. Cute dressform.
8/25/06 3:23 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Carla, it's not that the neck is deeper, it's that the -angle- of it is different. Because I brought in the shoulders (the part where they started to meet was beyond my shoulder line..), but didn't change the front seam length, the angle is deeper. I agree with you, I'm bringing it up at least an inch on the next rev because I prefer the higher angle. But it's not unwearable by any means, or not the worst fault of this onionskin-cursed rev :-).

And blue mooney, I just left the bottom part the way it was, and pivoted around the bust point, closing each dart in turn. It looks like the whole top part is leaning over my shoulder, quite unnerving, but once you pleat it all's back the way it should be. I didn't do this with some polka-dot fabric I intended though, because clearly the grainline is very different top to bottom.

And yes, meet La Mujer Pantera :-). It's just a slipcover, so to speak, some poly/lycra blend whose only fitting is in the shoulders. Makes it a bit easier on the eyes, since it does take up a lot of room no matter where you put it...
7/11/06 12:37 PM

blue mooney said...
Very cute, and I love your leopard-skin dressform! I couldn't tell from the photo how you moved the darts to the center - can you explain?
7/11/06 10:25 AM
CSM--Carla said...
Cute top Fuzzygalore--I noticed that your neckline is much lower than the pattern. Is that due to the changes you made in the darts etc did you change the neckline? I like the deeper V better. Thanks. Carla
7/11/06 9:35 AM
licarritc said...
I've avoided this too for the same reasons, now I've got no excuse.
7/10/06 4:25 PM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! I love your sewing--you have great taste!
7/10/06 12:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

Sew Liberated Reading Pillow

More Info
Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

Sewing Workshop Balboa Shirt & Topper

More Info
Self Drafted Pattern 24644-1002

photo
by: cimmanon

Review