SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1209 (Monaco Shell)

18 more reviews
Viewed 1096 times 
Reviewed by:fuzzygalore
photo

 
 
About fuzzygalorestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/16/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 12:17 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! I love your sewing--you have great taste!
7/10/06 12:24 PM
licarritc said...
I've avoided this too for the same reasons, now I've got no excuse.
7/10/06 4:25 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Cute top Fuzzygalore--I noticed that your neckline is much lower than the pattern. Is that due to the changes you made in the darts etc did you change the neckline? I like the deeper V better. Thanks. Carla
7/11/06 9:35 AM
blue mooney said...
Very cute, and I love your leopard-skin dressform! I couldn't tell from the photo how you moved the darts to the center - can you explain?
7/11/06 10:25 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Carla, it's not that the neck is deeper, it's that the -angle- of it is different. Because I brought in the shoulders (the part where they started to meet was beyond my shoulder line..), but didn't change the front seam length, the angle is deeper. I agree with you, I'm bringing it up at least an inch on the next rev because I prefer the higher angle. But it's not unwearable by any means, or not the worst fault of this onionskin-cursed rev :-).

And blue mooney, I just left the bottom part the way it was, and pivoted around the bust point, closing each dart in turn. It looks like the whole top part is leaning over my shoulder, quite unnerving, but once you pleat it all's back the way it should be. I didn't do this with some polka-dot fabric I intended though, because clearly the grainline is very different top to bottom.

And yes, meet La Mujer Pantera :-). It's just a slipcover, so to speak, some poly/lycra blend whose only fitting is in the shoulders. Makes it a bit easier on the eyes, since it does take up a lot of room no matter where you put it...
7/11/06 12:37 PM

AnneM said...
Interesting alterations. Nice looking top. Cute dressform.
8/25/06 3:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Simplicity 3503

photo
by: LakesideLa...

Review
Butterick 3805

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now