Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4790 (Retro wrap dress/jumper) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 2589 times 63 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/10/06 12:43 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
It's adorable! I agree that the changes in length and neckline greatly improve the dress.
7/10/06 12:47 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow, you looked you jumped right out of another era. Very cute dress.
7/10/06 12:50 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice dress. I like the changes that you made to the original pattern.
7/10/06 12:59 PM
Jodyb said...
I love it. I hope you find the opportunity to wear it. Cute Cute.
7/10/06 1:03 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Beautiful dress and definitely not my image of matronly ...
7/10/06 1:03 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look fabulous and not at all matronly. Your fabric choice takes you retro but not vintage. I'd walk confidently into any party in this outfit. It's definately a winner.
7/10/06 1:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love the "v" neckline - very pretty! I too made this dress, but have no clue where I'll ever wear it to. It's definitely a fun one to make tho!
7/10/06 1:20 PM
redhead said...
Six hours is plenty fast in my book. So cute on you!
7/10/06 1:25 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Great review - Your dress choices are all so cute! (And I love your shoes, too!)
7/10/06 1:26 PM
ayin said...
Just wear it! It is a fabulous dress and looks great on you.
7/10/06 1:37 PM
Peggy L said...
Wear it!! It is really cute - don't see any matrons in those pics.
7/10/06 2:34 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You should email this to erin@dressaday.com. She will love, love your version of this classic dress!
7/10/06 3:03 PM
Celeste said...
Luv, luv, luv it!! Now I know I gotta try this one!!
7/10/06 3:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute dress.
7/10/06 3:26 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, the platonic ideal :-)?? OK, I have to agree, you're getting pretty close there :-). Just wear it, don't worry about whether someone else will be dressed like this - they won't, and that's why everyone will drool with envy.
7/10/06 4:07 PM
SBanks said...
I like your take on the neckline - the V neck is a nice change! Great fabrics, too!
7/10/06 4:07 PM
Deb Bee said...
You look fabulous in that dress! Great call on the V-neck, so much more flattering on anyone.
7/10/06 4:13 PM
CarolynKEll said...
This dress is drop dead gorgeous and you look stunning in it. Thank you for the excellent review, this is not a pattern I would have given a second glance to, but thanks to your review,I will go purchase it tomorrow.
7/10/06 7:56 PM
AliceB said...
Very cute, I love the retro-ie print paired with the black!! Great combo
7/10/06 10:21 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thanks for the inspiration and the info on the necklines. I thought the back neck looked wonderful on the envelope. So glad it's true! I'm thinking of doing this one next in a vintage cotton from my stash. Just can't decide which one!
7/10/06 11:31 PM
CatherineG said...
Thank you for this review. I recently purchased this pattern and have some retro print cotton from Alexander Henry earmarked for this dress. Very pretty!
7/11/06 6:44 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great dress! I can see why this is a buzz on Craftster!
7/11/06 9:01 AM
m1khaela said...
Oh, I love this, it looks great on you. I absolutely must make this dress!
7/11/06 9:14 AM
patsijean said...
Your dress is great!! Very pretty and I love the change of necklines. I have been following a few threads regarding this dress and I love it. I will be making my own soon.
7/11/06 11:19 PM
mrspenguin said...
What a fun and smashing piece. Very nicely done!
7/12/06 1:23 PM
retiredpagirl said...
I admire you for your "independence" and doing your own thing!! Love the dress....I remember them well! Wish some of the styles from the 50's and 60's would come around again. You did a great job! All you need now is a wide-brimmed hat and long gloves! Keep us the good work. :)
7/15/06 6:44 PM
Austen said...
Absolutely perfect choice of fabric, plus doing your own bias binding...wow! The dress is fabulous!
8/1/06 11:29 PM
prickly said...
I like the way you contrasted the binding tape with the fabric on the top and bottom.
7/27/07 11:29 PM
Hilary said...
I am *really* late commenting :p but I had to tell you how *CUTE* this is on you!!! I think its one of my favs that you've sewn. I love the v-neck, too; you are right, it is MUCH better with the v-neck, and I am going to borrow your idea :D Thanks so much for the review!
8/14/07 9:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

brerrabbit.com Lucinda Skirt Lucinda Skirt
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 5/2/13
Read Review

Burda 8341 Pattern
Burda 8341 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 5992 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-20 Rose Dress
photo
Review by 21wale on 2/8/13
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Copy Shop - Large Sheet)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 151 Pattern
Petite Plus 151 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us