SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (Retro wrap dress/jumper)

67 more reviews
Viewed 2593 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/10/06 12:43 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
It's adorable! I agree that the changes in length and neckline greatly improve the dress.
7/10/06 12:47 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow, you looked you jumped right out of another era. Very cute dress.
7/10/06 12:50 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice dress. I like the changes that you made to the original pattern.
7/10/06 12:59 PM
Jodyb said...
I love it. I hope you find the opportunity to wear it. Cute Cute.
7/10/06 1:03 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Beautiful dress and definitely not my image of matronly ...
7/10/06 1:03 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look fabulous and not at all matronly. Your fabric choice takes you retro but not vintage. I'd walk confidently into any party in this outfit. It's definately a winner.
7/10/06 1:20 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love the "v" neckline - very pretty! I too made this dress, but have no clue where I'll ever wear it to. It's definitely a fun one to make tho!
7/10/06 1:20 PM
redhead said...
Six hours is plenty fast in my book. So cute on you!
7/10/06 1:25 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Great review - Your dress choices are all so cute! (And I love your shoes, too!)
7/10/06 1:26 PM
ayin said...
Just wear it! It is a fabulous dress and looks great on you.
7/10/06 1:37 PM
Peggy L said...
Wear it!! It is really cute - don't see any matrons in those pics.
7/10/06 2:34 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You should email this to erin@dressaday.com. She will love, love your version of this classic dress!
7/10/06 3:03 PM
Celeste said...
Luv, luv, luv it!! Now I know I gotta try this one!!
7/10/06 3:18 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute dress.
7/10/06 3:26 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, the platonic ideal :-)?? OK, I have to agree, you're getting pretty close there :-). Just wear it, don't worry about whether someone else will be dressed like this - they won't, and that's why everyone will drool with envy.
7/10/06 4:07 PM
SBanks said...
I like your take on the neckline - the V neck is a nice change! Great fabrics, too!
7/10/06 4:07 PM
Deb Bee said...
You look fabulous in that dress! Great call on the V-neck, so much more flattering on anyone.
7/10/06 4:13 PM
CarolynKEll said...
This dress is drop dead gorgeous and you look stunning in it. Thank you for the excellent review, this is not a pattern I would have given a second glance to, but thanks to your review,I will go purchase it tomorrow.
7/10/06 7:56 PM
AliceB said...
Very cute, I love the retro-ie print paired with the black!! Great combo
7/10/06 10:21 PM
tlmck3 said...
Thanks for the inspiration and the info on the necklines. I thought the back neck looked wonderful on the envelope. So glad it's true! I'm thinking of doing this one next in a vintage cotton from my stash. Just can't decide which one!
7/10/06 11:31 PM
CatherineG said...
Thank you for this review. I recently purchased this pattern and have some retro print cotton from Alexander Henry earmarked for this dress. Very pretty!
7/11/06 6:44 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great dress! I can see why this is a buzz on Craftster!
7/11/06 9:01 AM
m1khaela said...
Oh, I love this, it looks great on you. I absolutely must make this dress!
7/11/06 9:14 AM
patsijean said...
Your dress is great!! Very pretty and I love the change of necklines. I have been following a few threads regarding this dress and I love it. I will be making my own soon.
7/11/06 11:19 PM
mrspenguin said...
What a fun and smashing piece. Very nicely done!
7/12/06 1:23 PM
retiredpagirl said...
I admire you for your "independence" and doing your own thing!! Love the dress....I remember them well! Wish some of the styles from the 50's and 60's would come around again. You did a great job! All you need now is a wide-brimmed hat and long gloves! Keep us the good work. :)
7/15/06 6:44 PM
Austen said...
Absolutely perfect choice of fabric, plus doing your own bias binding...wow! The dress is fabulous!
8/1/06 11:29 PM
prickly said...
I like the way you contrasted the binding tape with the fabric on the top and bottom.
7/27/07 11:29 PM
Hilary said...
I am *really* late commenting :p but I had to tell you how *CUTE* this is on you!!! I think its one of my favs that you've sewn. I love the v-neck, too; you are right, it is MUCH better with the v-neck, and I am going to borrow your idea :D Thanks so much for the review!
8/14/07 9:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

McCall's 6294

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 7854

photo
by: lamstu

Review