SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4790 (Retro wrap dress/jumper)

67 more reviews
Viewed 2596 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 315 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2007
Posted on:7/10/06 12:43 PM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
I am *really* late commenting :p but I had to tell you how *CUTE* this is on you!!! I think its one of my favs that you've sewn. I love the v-neck, too; you are right, it is MUCH better with the v-neck, and I am going to borrow your idea :D Thanks so much for the review!
8/14/07 9:24 AM
prickly said...
I like the way you contrasted the binding tape with the fabric on the top and bottom.
7/27/07 11:29 PM
Austen said...
Absolutely perfect choice of fabric, plus doing your own bias binding...wow! The dress is fabulous!
8/1/06 11:29 PM
retiredpagirl said...
I admire you for your "independence" and doing your own thing!! Love the dress....I remember them well! Wish some of the styles from the 50's and 60's would come around again. You did a great job! All you need now is a wide-brimmed hat and long gloves! Keep us the good work. :)
7/15/06 6:44 PM
mrspenguin said...
What a fun and smashing piece. Very nicely done!
7/12/06 1:23 PM
patsijean said...
Your dress is great!! Very pretty and I love the change of necklines. I have been following a few threads regarding this dress and I love it. I will be making my own soon.
7/11/06 11:19 PM
m1khaela said...
Oh, I love this, it looks great on you. I absolutely must make this dress!
7/11/06 9:14 AM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Great dress! I can see why this is a buzz on Craftster!
7/11/06 9:01 AM
CatherineG said...
Thank you for this review. I recently purchased this pattern and have some retro print cotton from Alexander Henry earmarked for this dress. Very pretty!
7/11/06 6:44 AM
tlmck3 said...
Thanks for the inspiration and the info on the necklines. I thought the back neck looked wonderful on the envelope. So glad it's true! I'm thinking of doing this one next in a vintage cotton from my stash. Just can't decide which one!
7/10/06 11:31 PM
AliceB said...
Very cute, I love the retro-ie print paired with the black!! Great combo
7/10/06 10:21 PM
CarolynKEll said...
This dress is drop dead gorgeous and you look stunning in it. Thank you for the excellent review, this is not a pattern I would have given a second glance to, but thanks to your review,I will go purchase it tomorrow.
7/10/06 7:56 PM
Deb Bee said...
You look fabulous in that dress! Great call on the V-neck, so much more flattering on anyone.
7/10/06 4:13 PM
SBanks said...
I like your take on the neckline - the V neck is a nice change! Great fabrics, too!
7/10/06 4:07 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, the platonic ideal :-)?? OK, I have to agree, you're getting pretty close there :-). Just wear it, don't worry about whether someone else will be dressed like this - they won't, and that's why everyone will drool with envy.
7/10/06 4:07 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a cute dress.
7/10/06 3:26 PM
Celeste said...
Luv, luv, luv it!! Now I know I gotta try this one!!
7/10/06 3:18 PM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
You should email this to erin@dressaday.com. She will love, love your version of this classic dress!
7/10/06 3:03 PM
Peggy L said...
Wear it!! It is really cute - don't see any matrons in those pics.
7/10/06 2:34 PM
ayin said...
Just wear it! It is a fabulous dress and looks great on you.
7/10/06 1:37 PM
Jacqui315 said...
Great review - Your dress choices are all so cute! (And I love your shoes, too!)
7/10/06 1:26 PM
redhead said...
Six hours is plenty fast in my book. So cute on you!
7/10/06 1:25 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
I love the "v" neckline - very pretty! I too made this dress, but have no clue where I'll ever wear it to. It's definitely a fun one to make tho!
7/10/06 1:20 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look fabulous and not at all matronly. Your fabric choice takes you retro but not vintage. I'd walk confidently into any party in this outfit. It's definately a winner.
7/10/06 1:20 PM
Lorna C. Newman said...
Beautiful dress and definitely not my image of matronly ...
7/10/06 1:03 PM
Jodyb said...
I love it. I hope you find the opportunity to wear it. Cute Cute.
7/10/06 1:03 PM
sewbehind said...
Very nice dress. I like the changes that you made to the original pattern.
7/10/06 12:59 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Wow, you looked you jumped right out of another era. Very cute dress.
7/10/06 12:50 PM
Tiner W said...
It's adorable! I agree that the changes in length and neckline greatly improve the dress.
7/10/06 12:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 2463

photo
by: nanneke

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

More Info