SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley Easy Sundress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1423 times 
Reviewed by:jnamcd
photo

 
 
About jnamcdstarstarstar
IN USA
Member since: 10/5/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I just made this for my 16 yo dd and love it, too. I think the back straps are so unique.
7/10/06 5:19 PM
PattyU said...
Very pretty dress. It looks great.
7/10/06 5:20 PM
ccris said...
Cute dress. Front styling is very retro looking. It made up well with the border print, too. The only thing I see wrong is the panty waistline line..............it shows through. Maybe a really low slung bikini panty, or could you possibly let out the seams a little in that area? It's a darling dress. Nice job.
7/10/06 5:32 PM
jnamcd said...
ccris--yes, I agree, that's why I've always said it is just a tad too snug--my panty line does show --but I might take your suggestion on a lower bikini panty ( I don't have a lot of those--but a few!) --And if that doesn't work, I might just be able to take out a little of the seams--I think they are pinked on the inside, but still around 1/2 inch or so. And since there are many panels that make up the dress, there are a lot of seams that I can take out just a little! Thanks!
7/10/06 5:45 PM
Lynngray said...
I really like your Dress, also lovely fabric Back is great also
7/10/06 5:51 PM
Pinkytoo said...
It might be that having to change the grain for the border print has made the stretch in the wrong direction. I love border prints too but I find that they have a tendency to not work with some patterns because of the switch in the grain. Looks great though and you did a beautiful job!
7/10/06 5:54 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress and I really like the back view. I have a little secret weapon for dresses such as these. There are some really nice "fairly comfortable" knit foundation garment pieces. I personally wear the Spanx products but I know there are others. It does make a difference.
7/10/06 6:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a very cute dress and I'm sure you will enjoy it this summer.
7/10/06 6:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Still gorgeous on you!
7/10/06 6:25 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a beautiful dress and you look terrific in it!
7/10/06 6:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful. I like all versions of this dress. I might just have to order it from the USA as L Ashley MCCall patterns, aren't available here in Oz.
7/10/06 9:56 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very very cute!! And timely for me as I *just* made a muslin for this pattern because I have a cute retro border print I want to make it in!! :-) The bodice fits you so much better than mine did though, I had to fiddle with mine a LOT...
7/11/06 0:25 AM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely dress--it's just perfect for Summer and I especially love the purple border! Great review!
7/11/06 1:27 AM
Karen6790 said...
It looks great on you. I just cut this out and can't wait to get started. There are so many pretty versions of this dress on PR - can't wait to add mine!
7/11/06 11:14 AM
Celeste said...
It looks sen-sa-tional!! The next time you make it maybe use 3/8" seams and the same cut will give you just a little more room in the middle--but it is really a beautiful dress!!
7/11/06 4:36 PM
KateRose89 said...
-(`v)- Fabulous!
2/15/08 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

StyleArc Ada Knit Top

photo
by: ChristmasH...

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Sewing Workshop Haiku Two Pattern

Buy Now