SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4444 (Laura Ashley Easy Sundress)

19 more reviews
Viewed 1423 times 
Reviewed by:jnamcd
photo

 
 
About jnamcdstarstarstar
IN USA
Member since: 10/5/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I just made this for my 16 yo dd and love it, too. I think the back straps are so unique.
7/10/06 5:19 PM
PattyU said...
Very pretty dress. It looks great.
7/10/06 5:20 PM
ccris said...
Cute dress. Front styling is very retro looking. It made up well with the border print, too. The only thing I see wrong is the panty waistline line..............it shows through. Maybe a really low slung bikini panty, or could you possibly let out the seams a little in that area? It's a darling dress. Nice job.
7/10/06 5:32 PM
jnamcd said...
ccris--yes, I agree, that's why I've always said it is just a tad too snug--my panty line does show --but I might take your suggestion on a lower bikini panty ( I don't have a lot of those--but a few!) --And if that doesn't work, I might just be able to take out a little of the seams--I think they are pinked on the inside, but still around 1/2 inch or so. And since there are many panels that make up the dress, there are a lot of seams that I can take out just a little! Thanks!
7/10/06 5:45 PM
Lynngray said...
I really like your Dress, also lovely fabric Back is great also
7/10/06 5:51 PM
Pinkytoo said...
It might be that having to change the grain for the border print has made the stretch in the wrong direction. I love border prints too but I find that they have a tendency to not work with some patterns because of the switch in the grain. Looks great though and you did a beautiful job!
7/10/06 5:54 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress and I really like the back view. I have a little secret weapon for dresses such as these. There are some really nice "fairly comfortable" knit foundation garment pieces. I personally wear the Spanx products but I know there are others. It does make a difference.
7/10/06 6:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a very cute dress and I'm sure you will enjoy it this summer.
7/10/06 6:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Still gorgeous on you!
7/10/06 6:25 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a beautiful dress and you look terrific in it!
7/10/06 6:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful. I like all versions of this dress. I might just have to order it from the USA as L Ashley MCCall patterns, aren't available here in Oz.
7/10/06 9:56 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very very cute!! And timely for me as I *just* made a muslin for this pattern because I have a cute retro border print I want to make it in!! :-) The bodice fits you so much better than mine did though, I had to fiddle with mine a LOT...
7/11/06 0:25 AM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely dress--it's just perfect for Summer and I especially love the purple border! Great review!
7/11/06 1:27 AM
Karen6790 said...
It looks great on you. I just cut this out and can't wait to get started. There are so many pretty versions of this dress on PR - can't wait to add mine!
7/11/06 11:14 AM
Celeste said...
It looks sen-sa-tional!! The next time you make it maybe use 3/8" seams and the same cut will give you just a little more room in the middle--but it is really a beautiful dress!!
7/11/06 4:36 PM
KateRose89 said...
-(`v)- Fabulous!
2/15/08 5:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

No Pattern Used Super Super Easy Tissue H

photo
by: jannw

Review
Japanese Pattern Books 9

photo
by: Fashionabl...

Review
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

SewBaby Quick and Comfy Dresses Pattern

Buy Now