Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4444 (Laura Ashley Easy Sundress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1423 times 18 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:jnamcd
photo
About jnamcdstarstarstar
IN USA
Member since: 10/5/04
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 140
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/10/06 5:15 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very cute dress, I just made this for my 16 yo dd and love it, too. I think the back straps are so unique.
7/10/06 5:19 PM
PattyU said...
Very pretty dress. It looks great.
7/10/06 5:20 PM
ccris said...
Cute dress. Front styling is very retro looking. It made up well with the border print, too. The only thing I see wrong is the panty waistline line..............it shows through. Maybe a really low slung bikini panty, or could you possibly let out the seams a little in that area? It's a darling dress. Nice job.
7/10/06 5:32 PM
jnamcd said...
ccris--yes, I agree, that's why I've always said it is just a tad too snug--my panty line does show --but I might take your suggestion on a lower bikini panty ( I don't have a lot of those--but a few!) --And if that doesn't work, I might just be able to take out a little of the seams--I think they are pinked on the inside, but still around 1/2 inch or so. And since there are many panels that make up the dress, there are a lot of seams that I can take out just a little! Thanks!
7/10/06 5:45 PM
Lynngray said...
I really like your Dress, also lovely fabric Back is great also
7/10/06 5:51 PM
Pinkytoo said...
It might be that having to change the grain for the border print has made the stretch in the wrong direction. I love border prints too but I find that they have a tendency to not work with some patterns because of the switch in the grain. Looks great though and you did a beautiful job!
7/10/06 5:54 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely dress and I really like the back view. I have a little secret weapon for dresses such as these. There are some really nice "fairly comfortable" knit foundation garment pieces. I personally wear the Spanx products but I know there are others. It does make a difference.
7/10/06 6:02 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
This is a very cute dress and I'm sure you will enjoy it this summer.
7/10/06 6:08 PM
Heatherrique said...
Still gorgeous on you!
7/10/06 6:25 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a beautiful dress and you look terrific in it!
7/10/06 6:39 PM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful. I like all versions of this dress. I might just have to order it from the USA as L Ashley MCCall patterns, aren't available here in Oz.
7/10/06 9:56 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very very cute!! And timely for me as I *just* made a muslin for this pattern because I have a cute retro border print I want to make it in!! :-) The bodice fits you so much better than mine did though, I had to fiddle with mine a LOT...
7/11/06 0:25 AM
Em's Summer said...
Lovely dress--it's just perfect for Summer and I especially love the purple border! Great review!
7/11/06 1:27 AM
Karen6790 said...
It looks great on you. I just cut this out and can't wait to get started. There are so many pretty versions of this dress on PR - can't wait to add mine!
7/11/06 11:14 AM
Celeste said...
It looks sen-sa-tional!! The next time you make it maybe use 3/8" seams and the same cut will give you just a little more room in the middle--but it is really a beautiful dress!!
7/11/06 4:36 PM
KateRose89 said...
-(`v)- Fabulous!
2/15/08 5:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

StyleArc Ivy knit top Ivy knit top
photo
Review by thequirkyp... on 8/28/13
Read Review

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Family Reunion Dress Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6366 Apron
photo
Review by abbijane on 12/19/13
Read Review

McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 6921 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
McCalls 6598 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us