SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2006-106 (Wrap Front Dress)

Viewed 1698 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews written: 186
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 273 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/14/06 7:50 PM
Last Updated:7/15/06 10:47 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
greenandlilac said...
This dress is very pretty. RE what you said about patterns not fitting right: most patterns do not fit everybody and they need to be altered to fit you. There are a lot of books you can find at the library or at amazon.com. A good one is Fantastic Fit for Every Body by Gale Grigg Hazen.
4/17/08 1:20 PM
Kay Y said...
The tape is not steam a seam but a lightweight woven tape which I think is marketed primarily to quilters. It is about 1/4 inch wide. I did use both tape and bias strips. I applied the tape first, to the wrong side of the edges of the dress which are bias and very unstable. The bias strips were applied like a facing and conceal the tape. I didn't reverse the crossover; the picture was taken in the mirror because I hadn't figured out the self-timer on my camera!
9/2/06 9:34 AM
dreamdesigner said...
Two questions: RE: stabilizing the front edges and armscye - what size tape, are we talking about "steam-a-seam". I know people here have talked about using it on knits, but I'm not following how you used it here, because it sounds like you ALSO used bias strips (I assume out of your dress fabric. Did you reverse the crossover?
9/1/06 6:45 PM
Liana said...
A wonderful summer dress!
8/6/06 7:35 PM
danglette said...
Wow, that is a beautiful dress! Thanks for the great review
7/17/06 5:36 AM
Schnauzer said...
Gorgeous dress, pretty fabric and well sewn as always!
7/16/06 6:31 PM
pittysmom said...
Wow, that looks like you bought it, in one of those expensive boutiques on the beach! Wonderful fabric choice too...
7/16/06 0:33 AM
hongkongshopper said...
Lovely dress....I want one....
7/15/06 8:14 PM
Kelly D. said...
Lovely dress! I'll have to go back and give that pattern a second look in the magazine. Thanks for posting the review!
7/15/06 12:20 PM
Sandil said...
Kay, it looks so nice! Great job, I hope you bring it today!! Sandi
7/15/06 11:16 AM
ndesimon said...
that dress is absolute HEAVEN on you. fabulous fabulous job!
7/15/06 10:32 AM
CarolynGM said...
Just lovely. What is the back of the dress like? It looks kind of like a halter, but not quite.
7/15/06 9:22 AM
Julie Culshaw said...
Ditto, that's a lovely dress. Looks great on you. Julie
7/15/06 8:58 AM
blue mooney said...
bee-you-ti-full!
7/15/06 7:59 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely dress.
7/15/06 7:04 AM
Vonnevo said...
Beautiful and so stylish.. and looks so wonderful on you :))
7/15/06 4:30 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
WOW!!!! this was one of the best things in that mag, congrats:-) Marita
7/15/06 1:09 AM
Seaspur said...
Your dress is absolutely gorgeous!
7/14/06 11:31 PM
ACB said...
Your dress and fabric is beautiful!
7/14/06 10:35 PM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress, style and fabric.
7/14/06 9:32 PM
Erica B. said...
what a gorgeous dress!
7/14/06 9:09 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking dress.
7/14/06 8:24 PM
sewfan said...
Very pretty dress. Looks great on you!
7/14/06 8:21 PM
bunz said...
I agree - great marriage of fabric and design!
7/14/06 8:12 PM
SewingBunny said...
The fabric really suits the style, and works well with the asymetrical hem. Great job!
7/14/06 7:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-108B

photo
by: Donna Like...

Review
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Chopin Blouse Pattern

More Info