SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3177 (Kwik Start Unisex Robe)

11 more reviews
Viewed 730 times 
Reviewed by:pittysmom
photo

 
 
About pittysmom
TN USA
Member since: 7/21/04
Reviews: 19 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/06 1:11 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Rachel B. said... (10/28/13 8:58 AM) Reply
Would you recommend making this pattern out of wool fabric? I've been looking for a kimono style jacket pattern that I could sew out of wool fabric (for a jacket instead of a robe).
pittysmom said... (7/16/06 0:13 AM) Reply
On the directions, they have you sew one edge of the band from the back side, then press seam allowance toward band. Then you pin the other edge which is already pressed on the front side. But you are supposed to sew it from the back side, so you can't see what you're doing on the front side. Clear as mud? Anyway, next time I'm gonna do it from the front no matter what they say, cause you're right. The top stitching was all weird and not straight, looked terrible. I took the matching thread I was using, and did a fancy decorative stitch over top of this to hide it. Too bad I didn't take time to use matching bobbin thread, it was white I was trying to cover up with turquoise! oops. Anyway, it looked ok, and my friend loved it. Ah, I could make her a mudpie and she would be thrilled though! She's a sweetheart, and she wasn't expecting something handmade anyway....
Learn To Sew said... (7/15/06 5:37 PM) Reply
I wish you had included a picture of your finished robe. They are fun to sew. Fast and easy. I have to admit, I really love that. What problems did you have topstitching? Do you have an narrow edge foot to make it easier to do? When I made my robe, we attached the band, pressed, graded it and turned it under. Next we hand sewed the band on. Then we topstitched it. Without the hand stitching, it would have been all over the place, and looked tacky.
Mini said... (7/15/06 11:17 AM) Reply
Everbody needs a robe like this, so be sure to make one foryourself! I have an older version of this pattern, and I didn't like the way they do the band either.
RuthieSews said... (7/15/06 3:16 AM) Reply
What a great gift for a friend, hope they like it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3199

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Sewing Workshop Stella and Luna Tops

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Pattern Details
Colette Patterns 0003

photo
by: sarahjk

Review