SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3177 (Kwik Start Unisex Robe)

10 more reviews
Viewed 726 times 
Reviewed by:pittysmom
photo

 
 
About pittysmom
TN USA
Member since: 7/21/04
Reviews written: 19
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/06 1:11 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
What a great gift for a friend, hope they like it.
7/15/06 3:16 AM
Mini said...
Everbody needs a robe like this, so be sure to make one foryourself! I have an older version of this pattern, and I didn't like the way they do the band either.
7/15/06 11:17 AM
Learn To Sew said...
I wish you had included a picture of your finished robe. They are fun to sew. Fast and easy. I have to admit, I really love that. What problems did you have topstitching? Do you have an narrow edge foot to make it easier to do? When I made my robe, we attached the band, pressed, graded it and turned it under. Next we hand sewed the band on. Then we topstitched it. Without the hand stitching, it would have been all over the place, and looked tacky.
7/15/06 5:37 PM
pittysmom said...
On the directions, they have you sew one edge of the band from the back side, then press seam allowance toward band. Then you pin the other edge which is already pressed on the front side. But you are supposed to sew it from the back side, so you can't see what you're doing on the front side. Clear as mud? Anyway, next time I'm gonna do it from the front no matter what they say, cause you're right. The top stitching was all weird and not straight, looked terrible. I took the matching thread I was using, and did a fancy decorative stitch over top of this to hide it. Too bad I didn't take time to use matching bobbin thread, it was white I was trying to cover up with turquoise! oops. Anyway, it looked ok, and my friend loved it. Ah, I could make her a mudpie and she would be thrilled though! She's a sweetheart, and she wasn't expecting something handmade anyway....
7/16/06 0:13 AM
Rachel B. said...
Would you recommend making this pattern out of wool fabric? I've been looking for a kimono style jacket pattern that I could sew out of wool fabric (for a jacket instead of a robe).
10/28/13 8:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 6116

photo
by: Naninak

Review
Ottobre Design Magazine 02-2005-32

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Buy Now