SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3177 (Kwik Start Unisex Robe)

12 more reviews
Viewed 729 times 
Reviewed by:pittysmom
photo

 
 
About pittysmom
TN USA
Member since: 7/21/04
Reviews: 19 (patterns: 7)
Skill level:Beginner
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/06 1:11 AM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Mens - Sleepwear / Loungewear    Loungewear    Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rachel B. said... (10/28/13 8:58 AM) Reply
Would you recommend making this pattern out of wool fabric? I've been looking for a kimono style jacket pattern that I could sew out of wool fabric (for a jacket instead of a robe).
pittysmom said... (7/16/06 0:13 AM) Reply
On the directions, they have you sew one edge of the band from the back side, then press seam allowance toward band. Then you pin the other edge which is already pressed on the front side. But you are supposed to sew it from the back side, so you can't see what you're doing on the front side. Clear as mud? Anyway, next time I'm gonna do it from the front no matter what they say, cause you're right. The top stitching was all weird and not straight, looked terrible. I took the matching thread I was using, and did a fancy decorative stitch over top of this to hide it. Too bad I didn't take time to use matching bobbin thread, it was white I was trying to cover up with turquoise! oops. Anyway, it looked ok, and my friend loved it. Ah, I could make her a mudpie and she would be thrilled though! She's a sweetheart, and she wasn't expecting something handmade anyway....
Learn To Sew said... (7/15/06 5:37 PM) Reply
I wish you had included a picture of your finished robe. They are fun to sew. Fast and easy. I have to admit, I really love that. What problems did you have topstitching? Do you have an narrow edge foot to make it easier to do? When I made my robe, we attached the band, pressed, graded it and turned it under. Next we hand sewed the band on. Then we topstitched it. Without the hand stitching, it would have been all over the place, and looked tacky.
Mini said... (7/15/06 11:17 AM) Reply
Everbody needs a robe like this, so be sure to make one foryourself! I have an older version of this pattern, and I didn't like the way they do the band either.
RuthieSews said... (7/15/06 3:16 AM) Reply
What a great gift for a friend, hope they like it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Sure-Fit Designs Children\'s Kit

photo
by: sew4grands

Review
Full Bust DVD

Full Bust DVD

Pattern Details
SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

Pattern Details