SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2500 (Esther Williams swimsuit)

4 more reviews
Viewed 4146 times 
Reviewed by:fuzzygalore
photo

 
 
About fuzzygalorestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/16/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/06 4:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RetroModelSari said...
I didnīt even knew this pattern exists!!! I might try it myself with your recommendations!
5/7/07 9:05 AM
creative1 said...
You mentioned cotton/nylon swimsuit elastic. I used once cotton swim elastic ( am not sure with nylon or poly). It was nightmare -- stiff, heavy and made the swimsuit totally uncomfortable. Once replaced with a nice soft one the suit is now my favourite. I think your uncomfort is not due to the fabric but more like the elastic issue.
8/26/06 11:59 PM
nicegirl said...
I think it's cute! To fix the floppiness, have you considered seam ripping the band/strap from the body starting at the underarm to a couple inches above the neckline and taking some fabric out of the body of the suit (i.e., a wedge shaped piece about an inch wide at the top of the neckline tapering to nothing)? Since my only experience is with my small bust that may not translate to a full bust, but you could try a pin-fitting first to see if it would help.
7/19/06 11:01 AM
LauraM62 said...
I've made this suit, with high cut legs, a couple years ago, was just thinking yesterday I need to make it again. I don't get the flappy front - but I just used a size larger on the bust area for me, and you might want to use slightly less elastic. I used a nice stretchy swimsuit fabric too. I love my suit.
7/19/06 8:13 AM
Mbarkle said...
It looks great on you in the photo. I would say to let it age or make it again in a softer fabric. It's really hard to judge how much stretch/how much comfort the fabric has until you make it up, unfortunately. I have made this and like it, but mine is way too low in the front. Like you, I need to shorten the elastic along the top front and lengthen the little tab that makes the gathers. I bet the next one you make will be perfect! Umm, are you the same fuzzygalore that sells Crystal Palace yarn?
7/19/06 7:52 AM
kethry said...
I really like this pattern. I hope you give it another go - it is a flattering suit on you!
7/18/06 3:30 PM
bunz said...
Well, Esther defiitely would have had the girls firmly uplifted and closely held. And no french cut on the legs either!! Very unusual that a KS does so poorly........
7/18/06 7:58 AM
brrmm said...
Thanks for the review. Apart from the bust area it looks like a terrific swimsuit in a great colour. Can you maybe pull the "floppy" fabric and tuck it into the straps and then maybe apply some clear elastic to that? I think that may save it and keep it from gaping as well. Dont give up on it yet....it looks so nice. As far as elastic and lycra goes; I find they wear out in just one or two seasons. If you got 10yrs from the last pair that may have been good fortune.
7/18/06 4:16 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Class Details

McCall's 6378 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info
Vogue Patterns 8817

photo
by: KathB

Review