Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2500 (Esther Williams swimsuit) thumbsup - Type:Swimwear    printable version
Viewed 4143 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:fuzzygalore
photo
About fuzzygalorestar
FRANCE
Member since: 1/16/05
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/06 4:04 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Swimwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
brrmm said...
Thanks for the review. Apart from the bust area it looks like a terrific swimsuit in a great colour. Can you maybe pull the "floppy" fabric and tuck it into the straps and then maybe apply some clear elastic to that? I think that may save it and keep it from gaping as well. Dont give up on it yet....it looks so nice. As far as elastic and lycra goes; I find they wear out in just one or two seasons. If you got 10yrs from the last pair that may have been good fortune.
7/18/06 4:16 AM
bunz said...
Well, Esther defiitely would have had the girls firmly uplifted and closely held. And no french cut on the legs either!! Very unusual that a KS does so poorly........
7/18/06 7:58 AM
kethry said...
I really like this pattern. I hope you give it another go - it is a flattering suit on you!
7/18/06 3:30 PM
Mbarkle said...
It looks great on you in the photo. I would say to let it age or make it again in a softer fabric. It's really hard to judge how much stretch/how much comfort the fabric has until you make it up, unfortunately. I have made this and like it, but mine is way too low in the front. Like you, I need to shorten the elastic along the top front and lengthen the little tab that makes the gathers. I bet the next one you make will be perfect! Umm, are you the same fuzzygalore that sells Crystal Palace yarn?
7/19/06 7:52 AM
LauraM62 said...
I've made this suit, with high cut legs, a couple years ago, was just thinking yesterday I need to make it again. I don't get the flappy front - but I just used a size larger on the bust area for me, and you might want to use slightly less elastic. I used a nice stretchy swimsuit fabric too. I love my suit.
7/19/06 8:13 AM
nicegirl said...
I think it's cute! To fix the floppiness, have you considered seam ripping the band/strap from the body starting at the underarm to a couple inches above the neckline and taking some fabric out of the body of the suit (i.e., a wedge shaped piece about an inch wide at the top of the neckline tapering to nothing)? Since my only experience is with my small bust that may not translate to a full bust, but you could try a pin-fitting first to see if it would help.
7/19/06 11:01 AM
creative1 said...
You mentioned cotton/nylon swimsuit elastic. I used once cotton swim elastic ( am not sure with nylon or poly). It was nightmare -- stiff, heavy and made the swimsuit totally uncomfortable. Once replaced with a nice soft one the suit is now my favourite. I think your uncomfort is not due to the fabric but more like the elastic issue.
8/26/06 11:59 PM
RetroModelSari said...
I didnīt even knew this pattern exists!!! I might try it myself with your recommendations!
5/7/07 9:05 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 7998
photo
Review by Tallahasse... on 11/23/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB025FB Frenchy Bags
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/3/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us