SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4385 (Sew News Jean Jackets)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1285 times 
Reviewed by:OP Gal
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About OP Galstarstarstar
KS United States
Member since: 10/14/03
Reviews written: 80
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/18/06 9:07 PM
Last Updated:12/5/07 9:00 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks really cute. Love your profile pic - isn't that the Coca-cola girl????
7/18/06 9:14 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Thank you for posting your review! I'm glad it went together so easy for you and you're pleased with the results. That pattern is sitting in my "to do" pile along with a cute home dec print from Joanns. I need to get motivated to work on it, thanks for the inspiration - enjoy your new jacket!!! :-)
7/18/06 10:05 PM
bunz said...
Great-looking jacket!
7/18/06 10:27 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Nice work. I have this pattern in my 'to do' pile. Thanks for the review. Is the home dec fabric itchy at all? I was looking at some for this jacket, but just wasn't sure. My neck tends to be sensitive sometimes.
7/19/06 6:49 AM
OP Gal said...
Mary Steifer: I don't think it's the Coca Cola girl. In the larger version of this picture, she's wearing an apron and writing a grocery list. (A familiar pose in my life, I might add.)
7/19/06 8:34 AM
OP Gal said...
Ronda65: No, the fabric isn't itchy. It's sort of like a light weight canvas. It's 100 percent cotton.
7/19/06 8:37 AM
cathy45 said...
Your jacket is lovely. Great review. I was wondering about the home dec fabrics for a tailored fit item.
7/19/06 8:42 AM
blue mooney said...
Very pretty jacket. I love the fabric you chose. I also looked at your other photos - nice work! And your shashiko (sp?) jacket is TDF.
7/19/06 9:43 AM
OP Gal said...
Cathy45: I don't know how home dec fabric would work for a tailored fit item. I guess I'm not sure what you mean by tailored fit. If you were doing real tailoring, I think you'd need to be sure it could be molded and shaped with steam. Most home dec fabrics, other than upholstery fabrics, are synthetics or cotton, which I'm not sure would tailor well. There's a wonderful article in a Threads magazine about using home dec for garments (my inspiration). Can't remember which one, but the online index would tell you.
7/20/06 7:45 AM
ryan's mom said...
Great jacket and I love that fabric! LOL--I thought it was a Betty Crocker pic :) .
7/20/06 8:25 AM
artist1lisa said...
Very pretty.Thanks for the info on the fit for plus sizes(me,me).I'm alway searching for the next jacket.
7/21/06 11:36 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I missed this review the first time. I just went through your album and this was my favorite. Thanks for the review.
9/29/06 3:02 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jacket - have the pattern and it is a TNT for me and am sure it is going to be for you too. Also love the cowl neck top - must get that pattern!! My sleeves were too long so I eventually (after a lot of thinking plus much griping to myself) took them out and re-cut - not a nice job but worth it in the long run
12/5/07 9:48 PM
pterion said...
I missed this review the first time around. Love both jackets but especially this latest - the red looks great on you!
12/6/07 0:01 AM
Carolyndh said...
Very nice combination with your Loes Hinse cowl top! Love it! You look great!
12/6/07 6:26 AM
cecelia said...
Both jackets are very pretty. I think McCalls has good jean jacket patterns--at least they've worked for me too. They are very flattering!
12/6/07 8:31 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
I'm so glad that people find these reviews that are a bit older, sometimes one just haven't got time to go thru every single new one, every single day. I like this one better prolly because of the color, it looks very nice on you, we apples have quite a restricted sortment of styles that look good on us so it's good when some nicely fitting patterns find their way to our collections. I've cut one for myself from Patrones but have I had time to make it? no, there's always something to be done for DD and don't get me wrong I'm not complaining:-) Marita
12/6/07 8:50 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Love that color on you - your jacket turned out great!
12/6/07 9:47 AM
Vintage Joan said...
This looks great -- you look great! :)
12/6/07 10:35 AM
Peggy L said...
Love this new one - it looks great on you.
12/7/07 7:59 AM
Annette1 said...
Ooo, I love both of your jackets. I may have to pick up this pattern (if I can CRAM it in the sewing room, that is).
12/8/07 1:45 AM
Heatherrique said...
Fantastic color on you! Groovy jacket!
12/8/07 2:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Marfy 2276

photo
by: devviePuu

Review
Kwik Sew 3338

photo
by: LynnRowe

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now