SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07/2006 (#118 Asymmetrical gored skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 1153 times 
Reviewed by:Katharine in BXL
photo

 
 
About Katharine in BXLstar
Member since: 8/1/03
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 60
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/20/06 3:37 PM
Last Updated:7/22/06 12:40 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Thanks for doing the review, I am planning to attempt this pattern at some stage. Thanks for the heads up on the godet bit and the zipper.
7/20/06 6:25 PM
martinanne said...
Thanks for the suggestion of interfacing the zipper area. I was thinking about making this skirt.
7/21/06 2:07 AM
Vonnevo said...
Katharine, I'm looking forward to seeing the photos, your skirt sounds lovely. It will be just the thing for cycling.
7/21/06 2:28 AM
JDpenelope said...
Thanks for the review. I'll try not to shout out "Where's the pics?" :-) You make a good point about the bias seams -- I'm just gleaning all of this information myself. One question regarding modest bicycle riding -- Are folks in the Low Countries more modest than Far Easterners? Or just colder...?
7/21/06 7:25 PM
Seaspur said...
Yours looks much better than mine because of the fabric. Nice skirt!
7/22/06 1:29 PM
touran said...
Very pretty skirt. I imagine that's a gorgeous color on you.
7/22/06 1:44 PM
appleC said...
Your skirt was so beautifully made! Love the fabric and color too.
7/22/06 1:48 PM
JDpenelope said...
That color is so rich. This is quite stylish and should be modest, too, for bicycling.
7/22/06 3:41 PM
AliceB said...
Loverly skirt, I will see if DD wants one. I am too short and way tooooo wide and have completely lost the desire to wear a skirt. :)
7/22/06 5:41 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Gorgeous outcome, Katharine! You always find and use such cool fabric!
7/22/06 5:56 PM
lmg said...
Beauriful. I think I might be too short for this skirt. Darn.
7/22/06 7:08 PM
beangirl said...
Really pretty! I think you're right about the size of the godet, although this looks nice. I wouldn't have guessed from the magazine that it dipped so far, so I'm keeping it in mind for future. I can't wait to see this in a fall plaid!!! Very cool!
7/22/06 11:23 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Seaspur, you should try this again in another fabric. It's really a nice skirt and you're all set with tracing & fitting. Kristine, for the skirt hem, you can trim off the excess by leveling from the ground but I'm too chicken with scissors to try that; besides it shows the design detail off. Penny, only ppl of retired age ride bicycles and very rarely in knee-length skirts. The NL probably has the biggest bike culture in the world, and it's my main mode of transpo. In a knee-length skirt I have to hike it up a lot to pedal, and the car passengers are at the same height of the saddle, so... IMG, I'm short and it works on me. It's fun to try a new length. Think about it!
7/23/06 7:30 AM
Marita Kinnula said...
Katharine, I'm so glad you made this skirt, it's one of the few good patterns in that issue of BWOF, it looks soo nice and I love that color, thanks!!!:-) Marita
7/24/06 0:10 AM
els said...
Funky skirt and it suits you perfect.
7/24/06 7:41 PM
SandraB said...
Very nice Katharine. I think I will try this one.
7/31/06 10:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

New Look 6807

photo
by: kidmd

Review
Burda 7380

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Gracie Handbag

Gracie Handbag

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Christine Jonson Tie-Back Top

Buy Now