SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4072 (Misses' pullover dress)

31 more reviews
Viewed 1307 times 
Reviewed by:Linda F
photo

 
 
About Linda Fstar
Member since: 8/7/05
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 13
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/06 7:18 PM
Last Updated:7/21/06 7:18 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sharon M said...
I'm so glad you posted your review. The colors in the rayon fabric are yummy. Your FBA photos are your blog are also helpful. Thanks!
7/21/06 8:01 PM
AliceB said...
Thank you for posting your review. I've wondered about a plus size figure with this pattern and you are not nearly as plus as I am.
7/21/06 10:01 PM
Em's Summer said...
It's in style. You worked hard on it. It looks lovely. And I think you should wear it! I think the set in sleeves version will be very flattering on you, but I must be missing something because I think this one looks very nice, too. If you wear it, people are not going to pick it apart. Most people will look and think, oh, she's stylish. She's wearing that dress that's in style right now.
7/22/06 0:35 AM
patsijean said...
It looks as if the dress is too short waisted on you. I am working on the McCalls pattern #5137 wearable muslin, and even though I am only 5'2", I found that the bodice (not the band) needed to be split and 1" added to increase the length. That meant I had to lengthen the front bands and the back bodice also. You might want to edit this pattern a bit by lengthening the bodice to bring the band closer to your waist, even if the models are showing a higher waist. It is your dress after all. I am going to piece the back of my bodice and make the midriff band wider, this time only, in order to do this, but I have already made the adjustments on my pattern. I've not even cut out my skirt yet. For your next dress, I would also suggest no contrasting band on the bottom so that the dress gives the visual impression of a smooth, longer line. For this dress, in such pretty fabric, why not take off the black hem band and use your extra fabric to add a gathered tier (as in the gypsy skirts) about 1.5 times the length of the hem measurement with the stripes running in the same direction. This would continue the visual line, help balance the top, and save your dress.
7/22/06 0:53 AM
RuthieSews said...
I've been planning to make a dress in this style. I have a RTW one in plain black knit and it is very flattering. I am a patterns size 16 with a fuller hip. I have been experimenting a bit and found that a 5" wide band from under the bust to just at the waist, and the skirt starting below that is quite good, plus lengthening the skirt and not having the band on it at the hem. I'm planning an Autumn one is teal stretch flock knit!
7/22/06 5:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I think Patsijean is correct that perhaps lengthening the top bodice and moving the band closer to waist will improve this look on you. I am working on the McCall's version now and I wish I had done that also. Thanks for posting your blog, I try to read sewing blogs weekly. Another suggestion I think if you llengthen the midriff (black band) it might give a more vertical look. I like the dress.
7/22/06 7:06 AM
ryan's mom said...
Thanks for this review! I was thinking about buying this pattern so you're review was very helpful. Such a hot look right now too, but IMO one is probably enough of this dress. In fact, by the time I make it, it will be out of style LOL! What a great dress you made!
7/22/06 8:54 AM
cmarie12 said...
Linda ~ patsjean gave you some really helpful advice! I also would try to take some of the fullness out of the skirt after you have lowered the bodice pieces. With all of the changes suggested, I am sure that you will end up with a very pretty and flattering dress!
7/22/06 12:00 PM
Linda F said...
A very big thank you to all you guys. You just don't know how fantastic all this feedback is!!! I wrote more on my blog, I had to tell everybody about how great this group is. LOL, here I am assuming that my blog is soooo widely read!!!! LOL I am going to use all these suggestions because every single one of them is right on the mark. What a great way to get a totally unbiased assessment. I am going to do this more often! - Linda
7/22/06 12:03 PM
Melody said...
I'm so glad you reviewed this. I was working on a muslin and I was having a devil of a time up sizing it. I put in a square gusset but I still don't like the look on me. I think I'll try the set in sleeves, it seems like much less of a hassle. I do think yours is very attractive and stylish and whatever you decide to do to finish it, you should wear it proudly. Thanks again
7/22/06 4:11 PM
ACB said...
Love it!
7/27/06 5:52 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Time2sew--you chose great fabric there--love these colors. Thanks for sharing. I enjoyed your blog on the slinky too--just had my initiation with it. Carla
8/11/06 3:29 PM
ScotSkipper said...
"the dress did, but the body inside the dress did not" Priceless! You've made up my mind for me... because I have a similarly "gifted" figure and it's CLEARLY the dress's fault.
8/29/06 6:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

StyleArc Tori Crop Pant

photo
by: aleah42

Review
Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Petite Plus 401 Pattern

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now