SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1213 (Madarin Shirt Jacket)

15 more reviews
Viewed 1272 times 
Reviewed by:AliceB
photo

 
 
About AliceBstar
MI USA
Member since: 1/31/04
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/22/06 7:23 PM
Last Updated:7/24/06 1:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tiner W said...
It's darling!
7/22/06 9:29 PM
Elemenopeo said...
What a nice jacket. Great knock off!
7/22/06 10:20 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking knock off.
7/22/06 11:21 PM
Stilltheone said...
Wow! What a great job you did. That is really cute.
7/23/06 11:07 AM
Carolyndh said...
To look at the jacket you would never guess that it was a morph of the LH Mandarin Shirt Jacket. Wow! What strategic use of available resource--it is a reminder that perhaps a suitable pattern substitute may be among your already owned collection for RTW copies. The Hong Kong finish adds another designer touch to the jacket. Well done!
7/23/06 4:01 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Very cute and I loved all your photos, that dress and those bags were killer. Cute cat - I can see it is very helpful.
7/23/06 4:09 PM
dreamdesigner said...
WOW! You really managed to knock this http://www.neimanmarcus.com/store/catalog/prod.jhtml?itemId=prod31100032&parentId=&masterId=&navCount=0&navAction=jump&cm_mmc=MSN-_-Shopping-_-Datefeed-_-All off well! Does dd wear it with the cute dress? Hope she appreciates what her mom does for her. I'm never quite sure about my own dd's!
7/23/06 4:30 PM
meanjean said...
Thanks for a great review. Your version is beautiful.
7/24/06 8:27 AM
AliceB said...
Thanks everyone for your kind comments. I enjoy the creative part of sewing the most. Here is a link to the dress DD wore with the jacket. http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=15259 The hongkong binding was cut from a remnant of the dress fabric. I made sure to point out to DD this jacket could be worn with other things because the print finish is subtle and on the inside. I'd hate it if she decided this cute jacket could only be worn with the one dress. DD's can be a challenge to sew for on SO many levels. :)
7/24/06 1:20 PM
Vonnevo said...
Wow is right :) DD's jacket is wonderful.
7/24/06 7:48 PM
Levone said...
Wow, great interpretation of the original design. This jacket turned out very nice.
7/24/06 8:01 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

New Look 6915

photo
by: waikikimum

Review
Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Jamie Christina Abbey Coat Pattern (JC314AC)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Plaza Jacket & Pants Pattern

Buy Now