SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2006-106 (Blouse)

3 more reviews
Viewed 1326 times 
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
Australia
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 178 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/06 9:05 AM
Last Updated:7/27/06 9:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
Very beautiful rendition. Thanks for sharing. I love that you drilled your own buttons (and photographed them!).
7/27/06 9:31 AM
cmarie12 said...
Your jacket is very beautiful. I love all of the pictures detailing your sewing journey! Thanks for a great review!
7/27/06 9:31 AM
jnamcd said...
As always--an excellent review and garment, too! Your reviews and so detailed, and I learn so much! The top looks great!
7/27/06 9:34 AM
BJ1400 said...
I really like this pattern & plan to make it. I love your version! Also, great review.
7/27/06 10:27 AM
Seaspur said...
Great review. It looks wonderful on you.
7/27/06 10:34 AM
kmouse said...
A lovely top as well as very helpful review. I love the way you took the design details and made them work for you. This pattern caught my eye but I love what you did with it.
7/27/06 11:15 AM
Pecan said...
Always LOVE your reviews. Thank you so much for all the info on this jacket...
7/27/06 11:59 AM
Lori V said...
I love your jacket, even the test garment, too. You have wonderful, helpful reviews, thank you.
7/27/06 12:18 PM
beangirl said...
Totally wonderful blouse! (And I love the back dart addition, it looks great).
7/27/06 12:40 PM
Diane E said...
I am running out of superlatives to use when commenting on your reviews. Pardon the repetition! This is a fabulous interpretation of the WOF piece, and I am in awe of your skill at creating a garment you like (e.g., the Nine West jacket) from a similar, yet in some ways, very different pattern.
7/27/06 12:45 PM
Levone said...
Wow, I love both jackets. Great review as usual. I always learn so much from your reviews.
7/27/06 12:58 PM
Irene said...
Beautifully interpreted, sewn, and so flattering on you!
7/27/06 1:07 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful jacket/blouse and wonderfully informative review. Your work is so inspiring.
7/27/06 1:26 PM
MaryBeth said...
I just adore this blouse and all your details. So well sewn!
7/27/06 1:35 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's a wonderful interpretation. This is really flattering on you.
7/27/06 1:48 PM
Ann Rowley said...
I can't believe how different this looks to the one I made in patterned fabric. You are quite right, the design details show up so much better in yours. You did right to get rid of the back pleats - they don't stay in .. Very nice indeed!
7/27/06 1:55 PM
sideseams said...
Wow, what a beautiful job you did. Love the style , fabric, trim and buttons. Thanks for sharing all the details with us.
7/27/06 2:44 PM
blue mooney said...
A great interpretation of this pattern! Top notch. Your buttons are so pretty, it's a shame they're concealed...but sometimes it's nice to have a little secret.
7/27/06 3:05 PM
LiZ said...
Vonne, I love this, it is so lovely and looks great on you. As always a great detailed review.
7/27/06 3:46 PM
Riordan said...
Wonderful blouse! Pictures and information are very helpful! Truly lovely!
7/27/06 4:06 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very flattering! It's polished enough to look like a jacket. I have those cheap fabric too :)
7/27/06 5:14 PM
MariaDenmark said...
What a great and detailed review! I love the blouse with the embellishment!
7/27/06 5:21 PM
minieme said...
Nice nice nice, I loike it! Is that brown fabric from Spotlight? Thanks for the detailed review.
7/27/06 7:04 PM
Lilibet said...
It looks fabulous on you and is beautifully made as always. Thank you for the tutorial on all the details that make it look so good.
7/27/06 7:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely Vonne. The trim makes it.
7/27/06 7:38 PM
PatM said...
Thank you for the detailed review and photos, it is inspiring. you have become an expert at making buttons. The jacket and the test sew jacket both look sooo good, and they both fit beautifully.
7/27/06 9:08 PM
MareeAlison said...
Gorgeous Vonne. I love that colour denim too.
7/27/06 9:13 PM
busyozmum said...
Ooh, so gorgeous! Love the trim. Now, where's my mag? ;o)
7/27/06 9:56 PM
Carolyn C said...
Ok, here's the deal. I send you my address, you send me the jacket. It's stunning. What fun it must have been to add your own creative design elements.
7/27/06 10:08 PM
Aless said...
Just beautiful,Vonne! You must have one of the best non-RTW wardrobes in Oz!!
7/27/06 10:20 PM
ribbit2jen said...
I love how you used that jacket as inspiration! The trim is great.
7/27/06 10:25 PM
WJean said...
This jacket is really cute, while stylish. Your sewing skills are wonderful.
7/27/06 10:50 PM
artist1lisa said...
Sooo cool! I love the button work.This is a terrrific review.Awesome!
7/27/06 11:04 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Yet another fabulous item! Love all the photos :)
7/28/06 0:10 AM
lmg said...
Wow, is that beautiful. I just love, love the trim. Thanks for the info on back ease. Your work is so inspiring!
7/28/06 0:27 AM
runnerchicki said...
Beautiful! You look fantastic in it!
7/28/06 0:41 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Abso-bloody-lutely beautiful.
7/28/06 3:44 AM
RuthieSews said...
A lovely detailed review. How clever of you to spot the potential of the WOF pattern and make such a cool jacket.
7/28/06 3:51 AM
tlmck3 said...
Every time I read one of your reviews and look at the pics, I think "God, I hope she is teaching this stuff somewhere." You are just so gifted in the creating, the meticulous execution and the careful and clear explaining of the hows and whys of it all. And you're very generous about it. It's very rare.
7/28/06 4:07 AM
JenniferBee said...
Now all these other comments have left me with nothing to say, except ditto to all.
7/28/06 4:13 AM
Vonnevo said...
****tlmck3, I am planning to resume teaching again sometime this year. **** Thank you everyone for your kind comments. They make writing a review with extra little details, worth the extra time it takes.
7/28/06 4:38 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Ooh - very nice!
7/28/06 4:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking jacket.
7/28/06 5:26 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a lovely jacket and an even lovelier review. Thanks for all the detail and congrats on a fabulous result for your fine sewing and design eye.
7/28/06 6:22 AM
Elaray said...
Great blouse. Inspiring review. The blouse looks great on you!
7/28/06 7:08 AM
Em's Summer said...
Very cute! Great review, too!
7/28/06 7:15 AM
JeanetteE said...
My jaw dropped when I clicked on the photo. WOW! That's all I can say.
7/28/06 11:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review and timely as I just ordered faabric for this blouse. Looks fab on you and I love your design changes. A great review
7/28/06 11:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Oh so beautiful!!! Excellent detailed review, lots of great photos, and garment perfection! I just love it :) .
7/28/06 8:17 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful and impeccable, as usual.
7/29/06 9:04 AM
SandraB said...
A truly gorgeous top.
7/31/06 10:24 PM
katyusha said...
Gorgeous, classy, and such a thorough review.
8/13/06 0:59 AM
Marm said...
This is gorgeous! Where can we find this beautiful pattern?
10/6/06 8:50 AM
Vonnevo said...
marm, the pattern is Burda World of Fashion Magazine: March-2006-106 Blouse. I think there is at least one other review - the pattern numbers haven't linked up. I found Ann Rowley's excellent review at this link. http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=13592
10/7/06 3:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Burda 8547

photo
by: Immelu

Review
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

Buy Now
Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Petite Plus Patterns Swing Coat

Buy Now