Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2006-106 (Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1322 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/06 9:05 AM
Last Updated:7/27/06 9:18 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
54 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
touran said...
Very beautiful rendition. Thanks for sharing. I love that you drilled your own buttons (and photographed them!).
7/27/06 9:31 AM
cmarie12 said...
Your jacket is very beautiful. I love all of the pictures detailing your sewing journey! Thanks for a great review!
7/27/06 9:31 AM
jnamcd said...
As always--an excellent review and garment, too! Your reviews and so detailed, and I learn so much! The top looks great!
7/27/06 9:34 AM
BJ1400 said...
I really like this pattern & plan to make it. I love your version! Also, great review.
7/27/06 10:27 AM
Seaspur said...
Great review. It looks wonderful on you.
7/27/06 10:34 AM
kmouse said...
A lovely top as well as very helpful review. I love the way you took the design details and made them work for you. This pattern caught my eye but I love what you did with it.
7/27/06 11:15 AM
Pecan said...
Always LOVE your reviews. Thank you so much for all the info on this jacket...
7/27/06 11:59 AM
Lori V said...
I love your jacket, even the test garment, too. You have wonderful, helpful reviews, thank you.
7/27/06 12:18 PM
beangirl said...
Totally wonderful blouse! (And I love the back dart addition, it looks great).
7/27/06 12:40 PM
Diane E said...
I am running out of superlatives to use when commenting on your reviews. Pardon the repetition! This is a fabulous interpretation of the WOF piece, and I am in awe of your skill at creating a garment you like (e.g., the Nine West jacket) from a similar, yet in some ways, very different pattern.
7/27/06 12:45 PM
Levone said...
Wow, I love both jackets. Great review as usual. I always learn so much from your reviews.
7/27/06 12:58 PM
Irene said...
Beautifully interpreted, sewn, and so flattering on you!
7/27/06 1:07 PM
Ann Smith said...
Beautiful jacket/blouse and wonderfully informative review. Your work is so inspiring.
7/27/06 1:26 PM
MaryBeth said...
I just adore this blouse and all your details. So well sewn!
7/27/06 1:35 PM
Elemenopeo said...
It's a wonderful interpretation. This is really flattering on you.
7/27/06 1:48 PM
Ann Rowley said...
I can't believe how different this looks to the one I made in patterned fabric. You are quite right, the design details show up so much better in yours. You did right to get rid of the back pleats - they don't stay in .. Very nice indeed!
7/27/06 1:55 PM
sideseams said...
Wow, what a beautiful job you did. Love the style , fabric, trim and buttons. Thanks for sharing all the details with us.
7/27/06 2:44 PM
blue mooney said...
A great interpretation of this pattern! Top notch. Your buttons are so pretty, it's a shame they're concealed...but sometimes it's nice to have a little secret.
7/27/06 3:05 PM
LiZ said...
Vonne, I love this, it is so lovely and looks great on you. As always a great detailed review.
7/27/06 3:46 PM
Riordan said...
Wonderful blouse! Pictures and information are very helpful! Truly lovely!
7/27/06 4:06 PM
Katharine in BXL said...
Very flattering! It's polished enough to look like a jacket. I have those cheap fabric too :)
7/27/06 5:14 PM
MariaDenmark said...
What a great and detailed review! I love the blouse with the embellishment!
7/27/06 5:21 PM
minieme said...
Nice nice nice, I loike it! Is that brown fabric from Spotlight? Thanks for the detailed review.
7/27/06 7:04 PM
Lilibet said...
It looks fabulous on you and is beautifully made as always. Thank you for the tutorial on all the details that make it look so good.
7/27/06 7:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely Vonne. The trim makes it.
7/27/06 7:38 PM
PatM said...
Thank you for the detailed review and photos, it is inspiring. you have become an expert at making buttons. The jacket and the test sew jacket both look sooo good, and they both fit beautifully.
7/27/06 9:08 PM
MareeAlison said...
Gorgeous Vonne. I love that colour denim too.
7/27/06 9:13 PM
busyozmum said...
Ooh, so gorgeous! Love the trim. Now, where's my mag? ;o)
7/27/06 9:56 PM
Carolyn C said...
Ok, here's the deal. I send you my address, you send me the jacket. It's stunning. What fun it must have been to add your own creative design elements.
7/27/06 10:08 PM
Aless said...
Just beautiful,Vonne! You must have one of the best non-RTW wardrobes in Oz!!
7/27/06 10:20 PM
ribbit2jen said...
I love how you used that jacket as inspiration! The trim is great.
7/27/06 10:25 PM
WJean said...
This jacket is really cute, while stylish. Your sewing skills are wonderful.
7/27/06 10:50 PM
artist1lisa said...
Sooo cool! I love the button work.This is a terrrific review.Awesome!
7/27/06 11:04 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Yet another fabulous item! Love all the photos :)
7/28/06 0:10 AM
lmg said...
Wow, is that beautiful. I just love, love the trim. Thanks for the info on back ease. Your work is so inspiring!
7/28/06 0:27 AM
runnerchicki said...
Beautiful! You look fantastic in it!
7/28/06 0:41 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Abso-bloody-lutely beautiful.
7/28/06 3:44 AM
RuthieSews said...
A lovely detailed review. How clever of you to spot the potential of the WOF pattern and make such a cool jacket.
7/28/06 3:51 AM
tlmck3 said...
Every time I read one of your reviews and look at the pics, I think "God, I hope she is teaching this stuff somewhere." You are just so gifted in the creating, the meticulous execution and the careful and clear explaining of the hows and whys of it all. And you're very generous about it. It's very rare.
7/28/06 4:07 AM
JenniferBee said...
Now all these other comments have left me with nothing to say, except ditto to all.
7/28/06 4:13 AM
Vonnevo said...
****tlmck3, I am planning to resume teaching again sometime this year. **** Thank you everyone for your kind comments. They make writing a review with extra little details, worth the extra time it takes.
7/28/06 4:38 AM
CherylStillSews said...
Ooh - very nice!
7/28/06 4:53 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking jacket.
7/28/06 5:26 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, what a lovely jacket and an even lovelier review. Thanks for all the detail and congrats on a fabulous result for your fine sewing and design eye.
7/28/06 6:22 AM
Elaray said...
Great blouse. Inspiring review. The blouse looks great on you!
7/28/06 7:08 AM
Em's Summer said...
Very cute! Great review, too!
7/28/06 7:15 AM
JeanetteE said...
My jaw dropped when I clicked on the photo. WOW! That's all I can say.
7/28/06 11:36 AM
Nancy K said...
Great review and timely as I just ordered faabric for this blouse. Looks fab on you and I love your design changes. A great review
7/28/06 11:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
Oh so beautiful!!! Excellent detailed review, lots of great photos, and garment perfection! I just love it :) .
7/28/06 8:17 PM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful and impeccable, as usual.
7/29/06 9:04 AM
SandraB said...
A truly gorgeous top.
7/31/06 10:24 PM
katyusha said...
Gorgeous, classy, and such a thorough review.
8/13/06 0:59 AM
Marm said...
This is gorgeous! Where can we find this beautiful pattern?
10/6/06 8:50 AM
Vonnevo said...
marm, the pattern is Burda World of Fashion Magazine: March-2006-106 Blouse. I think there is at least one other review - the pattern numbers haven't linked up. I found Ann Rowley's excellent review at this link. http://sewing.patternreview.com/cgi-bin/readreview.pl?readreview=1&reviewnum=13592
10/7/06 3:50 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Simplicity 2596
photo
Review by mastdenman on 4/24/11
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Self Drafted Pattern
photo
Review by Summerlea on 2/22/10
Read Review

McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6764 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6947 Pattern
Burda 6947 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us