SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6730 (Misses Knit Tops, Skirts, and)

20 more reviews
Viewed 1114 times 
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 95
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 71
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/06 2:37 AM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I think the skirt is very pretty, and as to the colors, well, maybe they will have inspired some Parisian lady there to try brighter colors! How nice to see you in front of one of my favorite places there, too.
7/27/06 3:00 AM
RuthieSews said...
Nice clear review. I must admit to still be an elastic in the casing girl becuase I have trouble getting it the right length otherwise. How do you get around this issue?
7/27/06 3:35 AM
Em's Summer said...
Very cute outfit! I love the summer colors, and what a backdrop! Paris! No wait, FABRIC SHOPPING in Paris! Great review, too!
7/27/06 6:26 AM
Linda F said...
I love the skirt. Fabric shopping in Paris! It sounds like a dream come true.
7/27/06 6:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Looks like a great pattern for a traveling skirt. So tell us, what did you add to your stash during your Parisian fabric shopping?
7/27/06 8:16 AM
Janie Viers said...
If I had to add inches to the NL 6101, I would simply slash the skirt at the thigh and add the length there. Adding it to the bottom would alter the lines of the skirt by almost doubling the flair of the hem! I think you are the very antithesis of the "Ugly American" in you bright outfit on the Parisian streets (ps. what fabrics did you find to buy?)
7/27/06 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Way to go girl - fabric shopping in Gay Paree - a true dream come true - you look great and am glad you brightened up the Paris scene!!
7/27/06 8:59 AM
LoriB said...
Ruthie - yes, you do run the risk of not getting the elastic the right length using this method, however I noted the length of elastic I used on the New Look 6101 skirt and cut it accordingly. Speaking of which, I really should write down the length I used so I won't have to guess for the next elastic-waist skirt or pants.
Janie - thanks for the advice on how to alter the length of New Look 6101. I was unsure of just how much I could add to either the thigh or the hem or both without destroying the look. Perhaps I will revisit that pattern now that I don't have a deadline.
Regarding the fabric I bought: I bought 3 pieces of light weight cotton prints (it was hot, so light and airy was on my mind!) and one linen blend in a caramel color. I will post pictures on my blog in a few days as well as (hopefully) pictures from the trip. Thanks for all your lovely comments!
7/27/06 10:59 AM
tlmck3 said...
I, too, tried the gored skirt from NL6101 and found it (on me--horrifyingly) short. But I DO love the pants in that same pattern and am in the process of cutting & marking them. (they seem to run short as well) I really like their patterns for knits & they're so quick and easy! Love that you went from envelope to packed in the suitcase in less than an evening.
7/28/06 4:21 AM
guillorypr said...
Very pretty and it looks very comfy
7/28/06 9:51 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

PatternReview Other Pattern - SWAP

photo
by: gautrann

Review
Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Sew Liberated Mariposa Tee Pattern

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now