Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6730 (Misses Knit Tops, Skirts, and) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 1113 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by: LoriB
photo
Friend of PR
About LoriBstarstar
AE GERMANY
Member since: 4/23/02
Reviews written: 94
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/06 2:37 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coordinates    Loungewear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I think the skirt is very pretty, and as to the colors, well, maybe they will have inspired some Parisian lady there to try brighter colors! How nice to see you in front of one of my favorite places there, too.
7/27/06 3:00 AM
RuthieSews said...
Nice clear review. I must admit to still be an elastic in the casing girl becuase I have trouble getting it the right length otherwise. How do you get around this issue?
7/27/06 3:35 AM
Em's Summer said...
Very cute outfit! I love the summer colors, and what a backdrop! Paris! No wait, FABRIC SHOPPING in Paris! Great review, too!
7/27/06 6:26 AM
Linda F said...
I love the skirt. Fabric shopping in Paris! It sounds like a dream come true.
7/27/06 6:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Looks like a great pattern for a traveling skirt. So tell us, what did you add to your stash during your Parisian fabric shopping?
7/27/06 8:16 AM
Janie Viers said...
If I had to add inches to the NL 6101, I would simply slash the skirt at the thigh and add the length there. Adding it to the bottom would alter the lines of the skirt by almost doubling the flair of the hem! I think you are the very antithesis of the "Ugly American" in you bright outfit on the Parisian streets (ps. what fabrics did you find to buy?)
7/27/06 8:30 AM
carolynw said...
Way to go girl - fabric shopping in Gay Paree - a true dream come true - you look great and am glad you brightened up the Paris scene!!
7/27/06 8:59 AM
LoriB said...
Ruthie - yes, you do run the risk of not getting the elastic the right length using this method, however I noted the length of elastic I used on the New Look 6101 skirt and cut it accordingly. Speaking of which, I really should write down the length I used so I won't have to guess for the next elastic-waist skirt or pants.
Janie - thanks for the advice on how to alter the length of New Look 6101. I was unsure of just how much I could add to either the thigh or the hem or both without destroying the look. Perhaps I will revisit that pattern now that I don't have a deadline.
Regarding the fabric I bought: I bought 3 pieces of light weight cotton prints (it was hot, so light and airy was on my mind!) and one linen blend in a caramel color. I will post pictures on my blog in a few days as well as (hopefully) pictures from the trip. Thanks for all your lovely comments!
7/27/06 10:59 AM
tlmck3 said...
I, too, tried the gored skirt from NL6101 and found it (on me--horrifyingly) short. But I DO love the pants in that same pattern and am in the process of cutting & marking them. (they seem to run short as well) I really like their patterns for knits & they're so quick and easy! Love that you went from envelope to packed in the suitcase in less than an evening.
7/28/06 4:21 AM
guillorypr said...
Very pretty and it looks very comfy
7/28/06 9:51 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8927 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by spankachut... on 2/9/14
Read Review

Butterick 5474 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5474 Pattern( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 4261 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
McCalls 4261 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $15.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern Hooded Dress Hooded Dress
photo
Review by spottedroo on 5/17/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Harper Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )
Oliver + S Tea Party Sundress, Bloomers, and Playsuit Digital Pattern ( Size birth - 24m )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us