Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Park Bench patterns: 14 (AUDUBON PARK) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 2717 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Neefer
photo
About Neeferstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/02 7:42 PM
Last Updated:2/5/03 9:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Jennifer, I really appreciated your review. I'm larger than her pattern sizes, so I'd like to know if you think the neck and arms would be ok if I graded the pattern up.
10/29/02 10:28 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Monica, Since the pattern is a dolman sleeve pattern, it should be very easy to grade up. Are you sure that you are bigger than her patterns? I'm 240 pounds at 5' 7" and pregnant, and the jacket fits fine. My hunch is the only change you'd have to make is to lengthen the sleeves. With the dolman sleeves, you define the shoulders by where you place the shoulder pads. That's why I didn't have my skinny mother try on the jacket version. Her shoulders are much narrower than mine, and the pads would be falling off of her.
10/29/02 10:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Jennifer, a very well-written review! Hope you'll post a pic when you get your final version made up. And keep us posted on your baby news. Nan
10/30/02 0:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Jennifer, I can't agree with you more: MLR is great; her patterns have that 'je ne sais quoi' :) but the instructions leave a tad too much unsaid. She needs to sit down with an ex-technical writer who sews and questions everything (say, I'm hired! :) ) and let me (er, them) rewrite her pattern instructions. :) You did a beautiful job, and do keep us posted on your progress! :)
10/30/02 4:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Jennifer, I hope I am not repeating this! Thanks for the review! I have this pattern and I made it up in a terra cotta silky tencel. It looks great but I am really confused about the shoulder tucks. The instructions are confusing. Did you stitch the pleat then fold it up the the shoulder and stitch again? With mine I just stitiched the pleat in and it doesn't look right. I'd appreciate any help! I can't wait to see your jacket!
10/30/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, that part about the shoulder tucks is confusing. This is where better instructions would be helpful.

Let's see. I forget what I did on the first one. I think I pinned the tuck so that it would get caught in the shoulder seam, and the instructions say to topstitch it? I'm sure I did, if that was called out in the instructions for the first jacket.

For the 2nd one, I pinned the tucks back so that they would get caught in the shoulder seams and did not top stitch because I was having problems gathering (when I didn't want to) the cheapo, filmy polyester even with my tiny needle.
10/30/02 7:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment

Margaret said...
Thanks for the review. It is helpful and interesting to hear about the fit of these patterns. It looks like you did a great job making this jacket, despite the problems with the instructions.
2/7/03 2:54 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by ArtAttack on 8/6/12
Read Review

Loes Hinse Tango Skirt
Loes Hinse Tango Skirt

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8685 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other Enid Gilchrist Enid Gilchrist
photo
Review by sarahjk on 9/23/13
Read Review

Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Lucy Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us