SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Park Bench patterns> 14 (AUDUBON PARK)

2 more reviews
Viewed 2720 times 
Reviewed by:Neefer
photo

 
 
About Neeferstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 138
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 88
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/29/02 7:42 PM
Last Updated:2/5/03 9:28 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Jennifer, I really appreciated your review. I'm larger than her pattern sizes, so I'd like to know if you think the neck and arms would be ok if I graded the pattern up.
10/29/02 10:28 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Monica, Since the pattern is a dolman sleeve pattern, it should be very easy to grade up. Are you sure that you are bigger than her patterns? I'm 240 pounds at 5' 7" and pregnant, and the jacket fits fine. My hunch is the only change you'd have to make is to lengthen the sleeves. With the dolman sleeves, you define the shoulders by where you place the shoulder pads. That's why I didn't have my skinny mother try on the jacket version. Her shoulders are much narrower than mine, and the pads would be falling off of her.
10/29/02 10:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Jennifer, a very well-written review! Hope you'll post a pic when you get your final version made up. And keep us posted on your baby news. Nan
10/30/02 0:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Jennifer, I can't agree with you more: MLR is great; her patterns have that 'je ne sais quoi' :) but the instructions leave a tad too much unsaid. She needs to sit down with an ex-technical writer who sews and questions everything (say, I'm hired! :) ) and let me (er, them) rewrite her pattern instructions. :) You did a beautiful job, and do keep us posted on your progress! :)
10/30/02 4:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Hi Jennifer, I hope I am not repeating this! Thanks for the review! I have this pattern and I made it up in a terra cotta silky tencel. It looks great but I am really confused about the shoulder tucks. The instructions are confusing. Did you stitch the pleat then fold it up the the shoulder and stitch again? With mine I just stitiched the pleat in and it doesn't look right. I'd appreciate any help! I can't wait to see your jacket!
10/30/02 6:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, that part about the shoulder tucks is confusing. This is where better instructions would be helpful.

Let's see. I forget what I did on the first one. I think I pinned the tuck so that it would get caught in the shoulder seam, and the instructions say to topstitch it? I'm sure I did, if that was called out in the instructions for the first jacket.

For the 2nd one, I pinned the tucks back so that they would get caught in the shoulder seams and did not top stitch because I was having problems gathering (when I didn't want to) the cheapo, filmy polyester even with my tiny needle.
10/30/02 7:34 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment

Margaret said...
Thanks for the review. It is helpful and interesting to hear about the fit of these patterns. It looks like you did a great job making this jacket, despite the problems with the instructions.
2/7/03 2:54 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Favorite Things Hushabye Baby Pattern

Buy Now
Miranda Day Bag

Miranda Day Bag

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1292

photo
by: Mahogany S...

Review