SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3846 (Vintage smocked dress OOP)

4 more reviews
Viewed 988 times 
Reviewed by:Amy Elizabeth
photo

 
 
About Amy Elizabethstar
USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/06 5:21 PM
Last Updated:8/1/06 11:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
What a cute dress. That baby is lucky to have both sister and mom sewing her adorable clothes.
7/25/06 5:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Well done. A labour of love, for sure.
7/25/06 5:57 PM
Ronda Rae said...
It's awesome. I wish I could do this!
7/25/06 6:49 PM
DJM said...
Lovely, smocked dress. I always loved smocked dresses for my daughters; this brought back many happy memories. Keep up the good work!
7/25/06 6:54 PM
Riordan said...
Precious little dress!! (And a darling little girl!) I used to make smocked dresses for my daughters when they were little. Your review and the photo were heartwarming! Thanks so much!
7/25/06 7:02 PM
AliceB said...
Absolutely lovely dress and little girl too. My grandmother use to make us little smocked dresses, I remember younger sisters smocks. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. :)
7/25/06 7:07 PM
Elona said...
Awwww, too cute! How nice of you to make it for ds, too. Years ago, I found a similar old pattern, and, amazingly, the transfer still worked (good thing, too, because the dress had a full yoke treatment!). I was surprised at how easy the smocking was, with the transfer thus supplied.
7/25/06 7:24 PM
brrmm said...
What beautiful work! Fantastic job. So glad to see smocking being passed down to young folk, keep it up. My 2 little daughters often receive smocked dresses from their Nanna. I will always keep these treasures for their own daughters one day (hopefully).
7/25/06 8:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a precious little dress! Your baby sister looks like she's having a lot of fun wearing it too.
7/25/06 8:36 PM
Monica G said...
what a beautiful dress for your sister. she is a lucky girl
7/26/06 1:04 AM
MamaSewing said...
Maime-as you know your sister loved the dress, it is so nice. Thank you for making it for her and being such a great big sister. Congratulations on your first review!
7/26/06 11:10 AM
Peggy L said...
Darling little dress!! You did a great job. If you enjoyed the smocking, most smocking shops will pleat your rows for you. No more dots!!! I used to love to smock for my kids.
7/26/06 1:50 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thanks so much for all your nice comments! I think that smocking is really making a comeback in the stores, and I'm so glad!
7/26/06 4:39 PM
Georgene said...
Nice work - a labor of love - that baby sister will come to treasure. Keep up the good work and keep posting here on PR -love to see what you are up to.
7/26/06 5:11 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a darling little beauty....oh, and the dress is lovely as well! Keep up the good work daughter!......ApplePieDAD
7/27/06 8:05 PM
JeanetteE said...
Adorable dress & sweet baby sis. Keep up the good work!
7/28/06 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Style 1021

photo
by: miausiau

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Sewing Workshop Salsa Blouse Pattern

Buy Now