Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3846 (Vintage smocked dress OOP) thumbsup - Type:Toddlers    printable version
Viewed 988 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:Amy Elizabeth
photo
About Amy Elizabethstar
USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 18
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/25/06 5:21 PM
Last Updated:8/1/06 11:30 AM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elemenopeo said...
What a cute dress. That baby is lucky to have both sister and mom sewing her adorable clothes.
7/25/06 5:52 PM
sewbehind said...
Well done. A labour of love, for sure.
7/25/06 5:57 PM
Ronda Rae said...
It's awesome. I wish I could do this!
7/25/06 6:49 PM
DJM said...
Lovely, smocked dress. I always loved smocked dresses for my daughters; this brought back many happy memories. Keep up the good work!
7/25/06 6:54 PM
Riordan said...
Precious little dress!! (And a darling little girl!) I used to make smocked dresses for my daughters when they were little. Your review and the photo were heartwarming! Thanks so much!
7/25/06 7:02 PM
AliceB said...
Absolutely lovely dress and little girl too. My grandmother use to make us little smocked dresses, I remember younger sisters smocks. Thanks for the trip down memory lane. :)
7/25/06 7:07 PM
Elona said...
Awwww, too cute! How nice of you to make it for ds, too. Years ago, I found a similar old pattern, and, amazingly, the transfer still worked (good thing, too, because the dress had a full yoke treatment!). I was surprised at how easy the smocking was, with the transfer thus supplied.
7/25/06 7:24 PM
brrmm said...
What beautiful work! Fantastic job. So glad to see smocking being passed down to young folk, keep it up. My 2 little daughters often receive smocked dresses from their Nanna. I will always keep these treasures for their own daughters one day (hopefully).
7/25/06 8:03 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a precious little dress! Your baby sister looks like she's having a lot of fun wearing it too.
7/25/06 8:36 PM
Monica G said...
what a beautiful dress for your sister. she is a lucky girl
7/26/06 1:04 AM
MamaSewing said...
Maime-as you know your sister loved the dress, it is so nice. Thank you for making it for her and being such a great big sister. Congratulations on your first review!
7/26/06 11:10 AM
Peggy L said...
Darling little dress!! You did a great job. If you enjoyed the smocking, most smocking shops will pleat your rows for you. No more dots!!! I used to love to smock for my kids.
7/26/06 1:50 PM
Amy Elizabeth said...
Thanks so much for all your nice comments! I think that smocking is really making a comeback in the stores, and I'm so glad!
7/26/06 4:39 PM
Georgene said...
Nice work - a labor of love - that baby sister will come to treasure. Keep up the good work and keep posting here on PR -love to see what you are up to.
7/26/06 5:11 PM
MamaSewing said...
What a darling little beauty....oh, and the dress is lovely as well! Keep up the good work daughter!......ApplePieDAD
7/27/06 8:05 PM
JeanetteE said...
Adorable dress & sweet baby sis. Keep up the good work!
7/28/06 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3292 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by Frozzy on 12/8/07
Read Review

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com The Wiggle Dress
photo
Review by ZoSews on 5/27/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5946 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5946 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us