Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 175 (Valerie's Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1835 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 10 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:MB at YarnUiPhoneApp
photo
About MB at YarnUiPhoneAppstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/06 9:07 AM
Last Updated:5/13/08 7:46 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kmouse said...
I think your top is lovely as is but I share your dilema over small bust adjustments. I have registered for the "Adjusting Bust Area" class that is to start Aug 15. It's a lovely color on you, by the way! What type of fabric did you use?
7/26/06 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
Nice top! share your concern being also an A cup bust size. Thanks Cheryl for the heads up re small bust adjustment class - may get into that.
7/26/06 9:33 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top. I don't think it looks too big, just not as body-hugging as the pattern picture. Only you will know the difference. I think Palmer/Pletsch's Fit for Real People describes how to make a small bust adjustment.
7/26/06 9:47 AM
Tiner W said...
It's just adorable!
7/26/06 10:19 AM
drsue said...
Nice top!! I hadn't seen this pattern but had seen some similar tops in RTW and wondered how to duplicate. Now I know!
7/26/06 10:40 AM
VtMartha said...
I have a RTW top like this and love it. I'd been wondering how to create the 'collar'. Thanks! Your top is beautiful!
7/26/06 11:07 AM
Mermie said...
Love your top. It looks great on you!
7/26/06 11:27 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very pretty - thanks for all the details.
7/26/06 1:53 PM
els said...
Wow, great neckline.
7/26/06 2:13 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top!
7/26/06 2:44 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful!!! And great color. Thanks for callilng this to my attention. And for the warning about the collar needing so much fabric. I can get a sheath dress out of 1 yard!! Gorgeous though--show stopper! Carla
7/26/06 3:29 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking top. I have this problem when I sew for my daughter.
7/26/06 4:24 PM
AliceB said...
Absolutely beautiful project, thanks for your review. A cups of America unite to let the pattern companies know they are neglecting us. Would it be so hard for them to throw an A draft in with all those BCDs.
7/26/06 4:55 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
I love the way your top looks. I have this pattern (bought it for the collar) but have hesitated, because the envelope's photo looks like the top was spray painted on. That would be very scary on me. I like your version. I'll be sure to cut a size larger. :-)
7/26/06 6:59 PM
gaz-mom said...
wow--that's gorgeous! Your version doesn't look as low-cut as the model's--is that an accurate perception, or is it just the angle of the photo?
7/27/06 0:21 AM
patsijean said...
This top is striking with that collar, even if it nearly did you in. I'm glad you kept at it.
7/27/06 1:35 AM
dreamdesigner said...
That is sooooo cute! I sooooo miss Vogue Fabrics!
7/27/06 2:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice top. I don't think I have paid attention to this one. I have not had great success with this line of patterns but do like the looks. I think your top looks good on you.
7/27/06 5:29 AM
Em's Summer said...
It required a lot of fabric, but well worth it! What a cute top and fun collar! Great review!
7/27/06 7:02 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
To answer your questions, all, I used a lavender slinky knit, and no, the collar isn't that low-cut. I'll get another pic sometime and upload it for more accurate look at the neckline.
7/27/06 5:27 PM
tinac said...
I saw this top on someone at the ASG Convention: done in a slinky with no sleeves...beautiful. they said it works great in a sweater knit as well. the neckline is not as low as the picture
8/8/06 12:30 PM
Tarrbaby said...
Just clicked on this site and have a comment besides the fact that your top is stunning. Peggy Sagers names her patterns after real people, sometimes people who help her test her patterns. Also most of her patterns are high end designer styles that she "re-interprets". You might want to reduce/eliminate the dart to accomodate the A cup. The more darting the more shaping. However I think the top in the picture looks fabulous.
11/29/06 10:32 AM
nellc said...
The collar on this top is amazing, it was definately worth persevering with this one it looks lovely.
5/13/08 7:54 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the neckline.
5/13/08 1:34 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I just love the look of this top! I just ordered it. Thanks for updating so I could catch this review.
5/14/08 9:59 AM
cecelia said...
This looks beautiful on you--I was wondering about the collar on this pattern--it is so unusual.
5/17/08 12:19 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
The Valerie is Valentino, according to Peggy. This was her interpretation of a Valentino top. It looks great on you, BTW!
10/29/08 0:56 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Ottobre Design Magazine 01-2008-28
photo
Review by MelissaB i... on 2/11/08
Read Review

Petite Plus D202 DVD
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Details
Price: $35.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Hat and Muff Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chelsea Bubble Jumper Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5298
photo
Review by nommh on 2/3/09
Read Review

McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 6814 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1220 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us