SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 175 (Valerie's Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1836 times 
Reviewed by:MB at YarnUiPhoneApp
photo

 
 
About MB at YarnUiPhoneAppstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 31
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/26/06 9:07 AM
Last Updated:5/13/08 7:46 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 10 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
kmouse said...
I think your top is lovely as is but I share your dilema over small bust adjustments. I have registered for the "Adjusting Bust Area" class that is to start Aug 15. It's a lovely color on you, by the way! What type of fabric did you use?
7/26/06 9:24 AM
carolynw said...
Nice top! share your concern being also an A cup bust size. Thanks Cheryl for the heads up re small bust adjustment class - may get into that.
7/26/06 9:33 AM
OP Gal said...
Great looking top. I don't think it looks too big, just not as body-hugging as the pattern picture. Only you will know the difference. I think Palmer/Pletsch's Fit for Real People describes how to make a small bust adjustment.
7/26/06 9:47 AM
Tiner W said...
It's just adorable!
7/26/06 10:19 AM
drsue said...
Nice top!! I hadn't seen this pattern but had seen some similar tops in RTW and wondered how to duplicate. Now I know!
7/26/06 10:40 AM
VtMartha said...
I have a RTW top like this and love it. I'd been wondering how to create the 'collar'. Thanks! Your top is beautiful!
7/26/06 11:07 AM
Mermie said...
Love your top. It looks great on you!
7/26/06 11:27 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very pretty - thanks for all the details.
7/26/06 1:53 PM
els said...
Wow, great neckline.
7/26/06 2:13 PM
Levone said...
Pretty top!
7/26/06 2:44 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Beautiful!!! And great color. Thanks for callilng this to my attention. And for the warning about the collar needing so much fabric. I can get a sheath dress out of 1 yard!! Gorgeous though--show stopper! Carla
7/26/06 3:29 PM
Erica B. said...
Great looking top. I have this problem when I sew for my daughter.
7/26/06 4:24 PM
AliceB said...
Absolutely beautiful project, thanks for your review. A cups of America unite to let the pattern companies know they are neglecting us. Would it be so hard for them to throw an A draft in with all those BCDs.
7/26/06 4:55 PM
Doris W. in TN said...
I love the way your top looks. I have this pattern (bought it for the collar) but have hesitated, because the envelope's photo looks like the top was spray painted on. That would be very scary on me. I like your version. I'll be sure to cut a size larger. :-)
7/26/06 6:59 PM
gaz-mom said...
wow--that's gorgeous! Your version doesn't look as low-cut as the model's--is that an accurate perception, or is it just the angle of the photo?
7/27/06 0:21 AM
patsijean said...
This top is striking with that collar, even if it nearly did you in. I'm glad you kept at it.
7/27/06 1:35 AM
dreamdesigner said...
That is sooooo cute! I sooooo miss Vogue Fabrics!
7/27/06 2:44 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice top. I don't think I have paid attention to this one. I have not had great success with this line of patterns but do like the looks. I think your top looks good on you.
7/27/06 5:29 AM
Em's Summer said...
It required a lot of fabric, but well worth it! What a cute top and fun collar! Great review!
7/27/06 7:02 AM
MB at YarnUiPhoneApp said...
To answer your questions, all, I used a lavender slinky knit, and no, the collar isn't that low-cut. I'll get another pic sometime and upload it for more accurate look at the neckline.
7/27/06 5:27 PM
tinac said...
I saw this top on someone at the ASG Convention: done in a slinky with no sleeves...beautiful. they said it works great in a sweater knit as well. the neckline is not as low as the picture
8/8/06 12:30 PM
Tarrbaby said...
Just clicked on this site and have a comment besides the fact that your top is stunning. Peggy Sagers names her patterns after real people, sometimes people who help her test her patterns. Also most of her patterns are high end designer styles that she "re-interprets". You might want to reduce/eliminate the dart to accomodate the A cup. The more darting the more shaping. However I think the top in the picture looks fabulous.
11/29/06 10:32 AM
nellc said...
The collar on this top is amazing, it was definately worth persevering with this one it looks lovely.
5/13/08 7:54 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Love the neckline.
5/13/08 1:34 PM
Jacqui315 said...
I just love the look of this top! I just ordered it. Thanks for updating so I could catch this review.
5/14/08 9:59 AM
cecelia said...
This looks beautiful on you--I was wondering about the collar on this pattern--it is so unusual.
5/17/08 12:19 PM
Lee Ann Hawkins said...
The Valerie is Valentino, according to Peggy. This was her interpretation of a Valentino top. It looks great on you, BTW!
10/29/08 0:56 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 5153 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

J Stern Designs Women's Tee Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now