SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> LaFred> 108 (Helena Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1894 times 
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/02 12:00 PM
Last Updated:10/30/02 12:28 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
oh my god Rennie! what a wonderful review and what a wonderful dress!!! The beaded bag looks perfect! I can't see the beaded trim on the waistline but I am sure it must look very good. It was a neat idea! I have to mark this review to feature it in one of the newsletters. It's too good to miss!
10/30/02 12:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie - you will be the belle of the ball! You have inspired me to get going on this pattern. Thank you for your informative and humorous review. :-)
10/30/02 12:24 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Interesting review as always, Rennie. I just saw a sample of this dress at Great Copy Stretch and Sew in Racine, WI. They used a sort of sheer lace knit fabric, very like a vintage garden party frock. I did notice that it was quite long, as if proportined for someone about 5'8", but perhaps that was due to the fabric having lots of stretch. Yu will definitely be the belle of the ball in this dress!
10/30/02 12:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie - I had put off buying this pattern, and now I can't. Thanks for a wonderful review. Your dress is lovely!
10/30/02 12:32 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, what a beautiful creation! Your review was so fun to read!
10/30/02 1:14 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, Iím spechless, your dress is sooo beautiful and I agree with all others your review was fun to read and very helpful too.
10/30/02 1:40 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your dress looks fab! I had to shorten mine many inches also and it is still long. I like the sleeveless version on you. Very elegant.
10/30/02 1:48 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
rennie! thanks for sharing your creation and your saga! an incredible dress! (btw, i'm a former vascular access specialist! fulltime mommy now.)
10/30/02 4:50 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Okay, Rennie, it's not a wonder I don't have any interest in novels any more; patternreview has created all the entertainment I could ever want! What a beautiful Cinderella, beautiful gown, beautiful handbag, beautiful everything! And so well reviewed! Thanks!
10/30/02 5:53 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, that outfit looks wonderful- you will indeed be the belle of the ball! Love that covered button too. Thanks for a great review, I am inspired to try out this pattern now.
10/30/02 7:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, what can I say that hasn't already been said? FABULOUS! I don't think you need to worry about fitting that slipper, you already have. And boy, you sure don't need any mice to sew up your dress---This is really beautiful and I think you'll be able to wear it to lots of occasions. Thanks for sharing
10/30/02 8:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, the dress is gorgeous (as are you, in it!). And... your review is the funniest thing I've read in quite some time!
10/30/02 9:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, I love your dress and your review. You will look stunning at party. As always, I enjoy your reviews and pics.
10/31/02 1:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm overwhelmed by your comments! You guy's are great! Now that I know my outfit is a winner I'm even more excited about the big event coming up. It's like prom night for grownups. :-)
10/31/02 10:49 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Despite the washer, you will look very elegant and poised in this gorgeous dress!
10/31/02 11:25 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Tonia Van Dyk said...
Rennie, I've admired your outfits from lurk-dom-ville, but this one inspired me to type - WOW -you look great. I think I "need " this pattern!
1/17/03 0:23 AM
Lisa Laree said...
I loved this review when you first posted it; just re-read it and enjoyed it all over again. Fabulous info in a great narrative - Thanks, Rennie! But I have to know...how was the party?
1/17/03 9:56 PM
Rennie Ashby said...

Thanks again for your comments. Lisa, the party was wonderful! Everyone loved my dress. All my DSIL's just raved about my outfit! Even a stranger in the ladies room commented on it.

However, the best part of the evening was seeing what a blessing a loving family is. My DMIL and DFL have, with God's help, raised 7 of the most remarkable people who truly care about others. I know it was not easy for my inlaws but they still love each other and wouldn't trade any of it. What a testimony to the richs that can be found in marriage!
1/18/03 9:56 PM

Lisa Laree said...
And all the people said, "Amen!"
1/19/03 0:27 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Rennie, what a stunning dress and a gracious thanks to everyone involved--including your DIL.
12/27/03 11:39 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 7387

photo
by: Cosso

Review
McCall's 5882

photo
by: sunnysewer

Review
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now