SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6571 (Misses Knit Dresses, Tank Top,)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1593 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/06 11:31 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
The dress looks nice, especially for the large print. I too am petite, but petite plus, and bought fabric that turned out to have a larger than life print--not sure what to do with it yet--maybe this pattern would work--thanks!
7/28/06 11:40 AM
Seaspur said...
Absolutely stunning dress. You did a great job placing the print.
7/28/06 11:41 AM
BeckyC said...
Adorable summer dress! It does look like you bought it in a "hoity-toity" boutique! You did a great job working with such a large print on such a tiny dress.
7/28/06 11:58 AM
pterion said...
Love it! It's a really cute style and the fabric is very eyecatching. The shelf bra is a great idea and I love that you included instructions on how to do it - I'll be printing them out and putting them in my 'how-to' notebook. Thanks!
7/28/06 12:00 PM
Kay Y said...
The care you took considering how the print would play out in your very simple dress makes it both one-of-a-kind and very successful. Your review and Debra H's also posted today are great reminders not to skip this important design decision-point.
7/28/06 12:00 PM
Felicity Jane said...
I think it is great. RTW does not match very often - over in UK they can't seem to match little prints! I made a similar style in a madra type cotton for my holiday but bottled out taking it at the last minute as also thought too young style for me.
7/28/06 12:03 PM
nicegirl said...
I love the fabric! That came out wonderfully. I hear you on looking way too flat without a bra.
7/28/06 12:20 PM
Lisette said...
Wonderful dress. I love the way the back turned out also. Maybe I'm not looking but it seems that there are not many RTW with big prints, which makes it harder for us when looking for inspiration.
7/28/06 12:56 PM
JaneH said...
Your care in the layout of the garment made this sooo beautiful.
7/28/06 1:01 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Love this. I really like the way you set up the layout. It looks fabulous. EOS does have beautiful fabrics.
7/28/06 1:24 PM
Lori V said...
Your dress is beautiful, the care in the layout shows. I think you will impress the hoity-toity shops.
7/28/06 1:25 PM
Moxie said...
You always make really nice garments and I love reading your reviews. I doubt RTW puts as much thought into pattern placement as you did. If you have the time, I would love seeing the self bra up close.
7/28/06 1:40 PM
cindyann said...
Thanks so much Drsue for reviewing this dress. I've considered cutting this out several times but have been concerned about the bust issue. My middle aged bust couldn't handle it either. Do you think using swim cups in the shelf bra would make a difference? I've used them successfully in swimwear and in a cami. I'm also glad you mentioned the wrap dress pattern, as I've considered that but was concerned about the shape. Your dress is very, very cute.
7/28/06 1:51 PM
drsue said...
OPPS, I should have said "shelf bra" not "self bra." I do make the most amuzing typos. I'll try to post a pic later. I wore the dress out to an appointment today, sans bra, and actually I don't think I looked as bad as I thought I did the other day when I tried it on. You know how it is sometimes when you try on something you just finished. It does look better with swimwear cups inside and the SHELF bra holds them in place.
7/28/06 1:57 PM
Riordan said...
Very pretty dress--the print layout is perfect. (I always love reading your reviews and seeing your work. I take your recommendations to heart, because my figure adjustments are similar to the ones you describe, although on a bigger scale.) Thanks for the review!
7/28/06 2:01 PM
jemgirlca said...
I love your dress, you did a great job with the print. I have this same fabric and haven't been able to figure out what to make with it. I think I only have enough for a top. Yours looks fab!!
7/28/06 2:21 PM
Terri Smith said...
Your dress is adorable, and you will look great in it. Age is just a number. Thanks for the tips on SHELF bra and layout design as both are very important.
7/28/06 2:51 PM
Nata said...
DrSue, it's a very nice looking dress.
7/28/06 3:32 PM
Linda F said...
What a beautiful dress! You always give very helpful reviews.
7/28/06 4:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I like it and not matching is good. Susan, do you really want to be a 20 something again even IF you could have that body back?
7/28/06 6:08 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Love this dress!! Wish I was really, really flat so I had the option of going sans bra. See, the grass is *always* greener, isn't it. I bet it looks superb on you with or without appropriate undergarments and it definitely looks hoity-toity (a/k/a expensive!).
7/28/06 7:00 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gosh, I adore that print and the way you laid the pattern out so perfectly. Thanks for the info on how you did the shelf bra -- I might use that some time for a cami.
7/28/06 7:00 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
This is soo pretty and perfect for you! Thanks for your review.
7/28/06 8:24 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
Looks really nice, cool and comfortable, Sue.
7/28/06 9:36 PM
BjP said...
This looks fabulous! I only wish I could wear something like that again. I'll just have to admire it!
7/28/06 10:27 PM
jewelea said...
I love the dress (and wish I were merely middle aged rather than 60 and could still entertain thoughts about wearing such a style). FYI, Threads had an article, New Rules for Large Prints, in the APRIL/MAY 2005 #118 issue. But I don't think you could have done better.
7/28/06 10:44 PM
jnamcd said...
I love this dress--and the placement of the print is superb! I love the instructions on the shelf bra too--excellent review!
7/28/06 11:52 PM
Schnauzer said...
A very pretty dress drsue! Your work is always nicely constructed. I bought this pattern last week in preparation for our upcoming summer so your review is very timely! Thankyou.
7/29/06 0:35 AM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous drsue! Great use of a large print fabric. My guess is RTW would make something similar with a print such as this.
7/29/06 1:31 AM
Leora said...
That is a double take dress. So Pretty!
7/29/06 1:41 AM
fuzzygalore said...
The print is great, I love the colors, and you did a fabulous job of non-matching. I understand your issues about showing too much, but frankly with this weather I'd walk around in my undies if I thought I could get away with it, and those who don't like it can look elsewhere. It's true that swim cups might improve things from your point of view, but they'd hardly feel good. Your dress looks very classy, so think of your comfort and just wear it!
7/29/06 2:22 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Love this dress! The colors re breathtaking. What a good idea to put in a shelf bra. My DMIL is a tall & very slim person and lives in RTW non-shelf bra tank dresses (even paisley ones) all summer, and she's older than you. Go on & wear yours w pride, California Girl.
7/29/06 3:38 AM
kmouse said...
I love it! Simple lines, great fabric. When people ask where to buy great fabric EOS is close to the top of my list. It's just a stunner.
7/29/06 8:49 AM
ryan's mom said...
You created such a lovely dress, and a great garment for this print. A print like this would befuddle me as far as what garment to create with it. I sure am glad you and many others here have much more fashion sense than me and are such an inspiration for using prints.
7/29/06 9:40 AM
Sewnla said...
Absolutely a beautiful dress. Love the style and the fabric. You did a fantastic job.
7/29/06 3:44 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Gorgeous print! Great little dress.
7/30/06 3:01 PM
SarahWeb said...
Your dress is fantastic. I bought this fabric also, and I guess I wasn't that worried about the length of the repeat (I plan to make a t-shirt). I know that when I get that fabric out to cut it, I will need to think carefully about placement. I do love what you did with the fabric--the long simple style of the dress shows of the wonderful print.
7/31/06 11:51 AM
dreamdesigner said...
I agree that it's better you DIDN'T match the backs!
8/15/06 0:29 AM
AnneM said...
Great dress, obviously a nice fabric choice.
1/25/07 10:52 AM
Beech FiveEight said...
Dear Dr. Sue, This is a great look. Simple and fun. The patterns you review, the sheer volume of dresses you've made, it's very impressive. This is a winner.
8/8/08 0:28 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
The dress is such a pretty print! The colors are totally gorgeous.
6/19/10 11:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Everyday Baskets

Everyday Baskets

Buy Now
Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Favorite Things Ballet Slippers Pattern

Buy Now