Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt (Sandra Betzina Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1213 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/02 12:47 PM
Last Updated:10/30/02 12:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Just gorgeous Rennie! You are putting the rest of us to shame! Hmmm, wonder if I can whip up a new outfit in time for Thanksgiving?
10/30/02 12:54 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oh Rennie, your outfit is stunning! Thanks for the two wonderful reviews. I agree with Gigi, you are putting the rest of us to shame. Keep it up!
10/30/02 1:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your outfit is gorgous, and your reviews are a real treat. Thank you!
10/30/02 1:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Rennie, it's really beautiful! I love your hand crafted button!
10/30/02 1:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, I made this coat to go over my Helena dress also. They work together quite well, don't they? Your button looks fantastic.
10/30/02 1:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I bet you collected your share of admiring glances wearing that! I like that the coat did not dwarf you...you are so tiny, and you can still tell even with the coat on! (Sorry I couldn't think of how else to word that!)
10/30/02 1:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
RENNIE!!!! you will be the queen of the evening with these new clothes and the red bag is delicious!!! beautiful, congrats of your accomplishments :-)
10/30/02 2:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
So very beautiful and elegant on you. Your talent shines through.
10/30/02 3:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice, Rennie! The coat is quite elegant and looks wonderful on you. Your button solution is wonderful; I will have to keep it in mind for future reference. Keep up the good work! The results are stunning and your reviews are fun to read.
10/30/02 3:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That coat is elegant and flattering-and I would never have thought of using that pattern for a formal coat. WOW!!!
10/30/02 4:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, your coat looks great, very glamorous. Iím wondering if I can wear this style too, because Iím only 5Ē 2í. What do you think? Iím working on the Metro skirt and used size S, but it was too large for me.
10/30/02 5:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm back after being distracted and dazzled by the beauties of Chapter One. Amazing amazing amazing. You are too gorgeous. I sure hope PC appreciates the gem on his arm at the ball!
10/30/02 5:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, your combination of fabric and trim is inspired and inspiring! Thanks for another great review, yours are always a fun read!
10/30/02 8:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, LOVE LOVE the coat too, and your special touches, like the button, are just marvelous. They should put you in Town and Country! Nan
10/30/02 8:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, all I can say is wow. You have created yourself the most incredible outfit for your occasion. Enjoy!
10/31/02 1:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...

This has been so much FUN and I haven't even been to the ball yet! That's this weekend. Cinderella maybe just a fable but it's true the right clothes can certainly make a woman feel more attractive and confident.

Bettina, I'm not familiar with the Metro pattern but I'm just under 5'4" if that is any help. Also, in Ann Smith's review she says the pattern was originally a Vogue designer pattern and offered the option of making it jacket length. This might be an option (or car coat length) if you are afraid it will dwarf you.


10/31/02 10:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lisa Laree said...
Rennie -- I've got this pattern and some lovely coating; but I'm fretting over the details. Did you do Sandra's french seam detail on the shoulder/sleeve seam? I'm a bit afraid the coating is too heavy/bulky for that technique, but thought I'd check around first before I cut anything out...
10/3/03 9:15 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Lisa, sorry for the delay in my response. I'm shamefully behind in my email. Yes I did the 'french seam detail'. It's really just a pleat stitched at the seam and folded down. Try it on a scrap first but it may not add as much bulk as you think. I've even seen the coat with piping sewn in this french seam/pleat.
10/20/03 3:25 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Rennie! Ann Smith told me basically the same thing. I'm mostly worried about the bulk at the wrist and neckline...but I think I'll at least try some samples and see how it looks. You two have been a great encouragement!
10/21/03 6:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used purse purse
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 11/10/10
Read Review

Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )
Oliver + S Bubble Dress Digital Pattern( Size 2T-5 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2883
photo
Review by narcissaqt... on 6/27/08
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern
SewBaby The Sleeve Saver Bib Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 1876 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6100 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us