SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt (Sandra Betzina Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 1215 times 
Reviewed by:Rennie Ashby
photo

 
 
About Rennie Ashbystarstarstar
NC USA
Member since: 4/8/02
UnVerified member
Reviews written: 108
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 62 people
patterns reviewed: 84
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/02 12:47 PM
Last Updated:10/30/02 12:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Skirts    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Just gorgeous Rennie! You are putting the rest of us to shame! Hmmm, wonder if I can whip up a new outfit in time for Thanksgiving?
10/30/02 12:54 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oh Rennie, your outfit is stunning! Thanks for the two wonderful reviews. I agree with Gigi, you are putting the rest of us to shame. Keep it up!
10/30/02 1:00 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Your outfit is gorgous, and your reviews are a real treat. Thank you!
10/30/02 1:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow, Rennie, it's really beautiful! I love your hand crafted button!
10/30/02 1:16 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, I made this coat to go over my Helena dress also. They work together quite well, don't they? Your button looks fantastic.
10/30/02 1:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I bet you collected your share of admiring glances wearing that! I like that the coat did not dwarf you...you are so tiny, and you can still tell even with the coat on! (Sorry I couldn't think of how else to word that!)
10/30/02 1:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
RENNIE!!!! you will be the queen of the evening with these new clothes and the red bag is delicious!!! beautiful, congrats of your accomplishments :-)
10/30/02 2:30 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
So very beautiful and elegant on you. Your talent shines through.
10/30/02 3:51 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Very nice, Rennie! The coat is quite elegant and looks wonderful on you. Your button solution is wonderful; I will have to keep it in mind for future reference. Keep up the good work! The results are stunning and your reviews are fun to read.
10/30/02 3:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
That coat is elegant and flattering-and I would never have thought of using that pattern for a formal coat. WOW!!!
10/30/02 4:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, your coat looks great, very glamorous. Iím wondering if I can wear this style too, because Iím only 5Ē 2í. What do you think? Iím working on the Metro skirt and used size S, but it was too large for me.
10/30/02 5:46 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm back after being distracted and dazzled by the beauties of Chapter One. Amazing amazing amazing. You are too gorgeous. I sure hope PC appreciates the gem on his arm at the ball!
10/30/02 5:57 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, your combination of fabric and trim is inspired and inspiring! Thanks for another great review, yours are always a fun read!
10/30/02 8:33 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, LOVE LOVE the coat too, and your special touches, like the button, are just marvelous. They should put you in Town and Country! Nan
10/30/02 8:39 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Rennie, all I can say is wow. You have created yourself the most incredible outfit for your occasion. Enjoy!
10/31/02 1:47 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...

This has been so much FUN and I haven't even been to the ball yet! That's this weekend. Cinderella maybe just a fable but it's true the right clothes can certainly make a woman feel more attractive and confident.

Bettina, I'm not familiar with the Metro pattern but I'm just under 5'4" if that is any help. Also, in Ann Smith's review she says the pattern was originally a Vogue designer pattern and offered the option of making it jacket length. This might be an option (or car coat length) if you are afraid it will dwarf you.


10/31/02 10:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Lisa Laree said...
Rennie -- I've got this pattern and some lovely coating; but I'm fretting over the details. Did you do Sandra's french seam detail on the shoulder/sleeve seam? I'm a bit afraid the coating is too heavy/bulky for that technique, but thought I'd check around first before I cut anything out...
10/3/03 9:15 PM
Rennie Ashby said...
Lisa, sorry for the delay in my response. I'm shamefully behind in my email. Yes I did the 'french seam detail'. It's really just a pleat stitched at the seam and folded down. Try it on a scrap first but it may not add as much bulk as you think. I've even seen the coat with piping sewn in this french seam/pleat.
10/20/03 3:25 PM
Lisa Laree said...
Thanks, Rennie! Ann Smith told me basically the same thing. I'm mostly worried about the bulk at the wrist and neckline...but I think I'll at least try some samples and see how it looks. You two have been a great encouragement!
10/21/03 6:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

McCall's 6517

photo
by: juliamorle...

Review

Pattern

Vogue Patterns 1324

photo
by: tiadia

Review
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Buy Now