SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6483 (Misses Tops)

27 more reviews
Viewed 1776 times 
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/06 10:49 AM
Last Updated:7/28/06 5:44 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PattyGee said...
Wish I had done this on my tank - Silhouette Pattern #500. Used bias tape instead, I'll have to order some 3/8 inch petersham tape. Thanks for the very indepth review. Beautiful top, BTW!
2/22/12 2:26 PM
dove29 said...
It looks lovely! I think I need a ham now.
8/23/11 8:43 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely fabric, great-looking top! Thank you so much for the tip on replacing the facings with petersham. I have this and now that the weather is getting hotter will try to make it using your tip.
5/21/10 11:08 AM
Athene said...
Just looking for reviews on patterns I have for summer tops. Glad I came across this one - your top looks really nice and I'm going to be buying the 3/8 Petersham to try out your technique.
4/13/08 4:15 AM
kit18 said...
Your analysis has headed me in the direction of Petersham and adjusted fit. Thanks!
7/18/07 1:04 PM
AnneM said...
Nice top. I was working w/ this pattern last summer also, but didn't get it right yet. You did.
1/25/07 10:50 AM
BeckyC said...
Lahn, The Petersham is 100% Rayon and is very soft. I was worried about irritation around the armholes too, but there hasn't been any. -- Becky
7/30/06 10:49 AM
Lhan said...
That neckline does sit beautifully. I want mine to do that, and will try your technique. It is a funny thing about petersham - my mother and grandmother used to use it on waistbands as a standard, and then it fell out of favour when interfacings improved so much. I would have thought it was a bit stiff for armholes - does it chafe at all? Probably the petersham of today is a whole new deal as well. Thanks for the very useful review.
7/30/06 1:43 AM
cweb said...
Thanks for the tip on using the petersham, I have never seen this before and just purchased this pattern. Also, thanks for the photos on how to apply and the finished edge. That does look better than facings.
7/29/06 8:45 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top. Great idea about Petersham, your directions for applying were very helpful.
7/29/06 7:35 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I like your tip about the Petersham.
7/29/06 6:05 AM
PixieCat said...
Your top is beautiful! I don't like facings either and the petersham is a lovely finish.
7/29/06 5:51 AM
Dee2 said...
Excellent review!! Your top looks beautiful. Your use of the Petersham to finish the neckline & armholes is very innovative & I want to try it.
7/28/06 11:23 PM
BeckyC said...
Sewfrequent -- This top could be fully lined. I'd recommend looking at Connie Long's book, "Easy Guide to Sewing Linings" to see how one would approach lining this top. I think it would be easy. To everyone -- Thank you for your kind words about my top!
7/28/06 11:10 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
beautiful top, Becky...great job.
7/28/06 9:32 PM
bunz said...
You look lovely and COOL:-) Great tip on the petersham -- maybe put it in "tips".
7/28/06 7:36 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Really cute, Becky. I like it. The neckline does lay down nicely.
7/28/06 6:38 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great summer outfit! Love the petersham idea. Thanks for sharing it.
7/28/06 6:14 PM
sewfrequent said...
Would it be possible to make this pattern fully lined? If you did that, would you leave a side-seam open to turn?
7/28/06 6:08 PM
Riordan said...
Your top is beautiful! Thank you for the petersham facing tutorial--I'm eager to try it. Your neckline and armholes look absolutely perfect!
7/28/06 2:08 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Thanks for the step by steps on petersham facings. The top looks lovely and goes so well with the capris. Enjoy your picnic!
7/28/06 1:27 PM
pbrenneraz said...
Thank you so much for sharing the details on your finishing technique, it does look very professional, but doable. Great review!
7/28/06 1:22 PM
Rhoda K said...
I agree on all the above - I don't like facings either. Great tip and your top is really cute! I have this pattern too, but haven't made it yet. Good motivation here.
7/28/06 12:52 PM
pterion said...
Lovely top and very helpful review.
7/28/06 12:12 PM
cecelia said...
The top matches the capris nicely--love the fabric and your Petersham treatment on the neck and arms, very classy!
7/28/06 11:35 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great little top and the petersham is a great idea.
7/28/06 11:12 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great tip about the Petersham. I don't like facings either for thesame reason! I'll have to check it out next year when I sew some sleeveless tops for summer.
7/28/06 10:59 AM
sideseams said...
I love your outfit. What a great idea to use the petersham at the neckline and armholes! Your top looks better then RTW!
7/28/06 10:58 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, great tip on the petersham.
7/28/06 10:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Wiksten Tova

photo
by: sewsue1

Review
Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

Sewn Square One Triple Play Top Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

More Info