Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
New Look: 6483 (Misses Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1737 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 32 people   
Reviewed by:BeckyC
photo
Friend of PR
About BeckyCstar
MN USA
Member since: 5/8/04
Reviews written: 35
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/06 10:49 AM
Last Updated:7/28/06 5:44 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $4.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Very pretty top, great tip on the petersham.
7/28/06 10:57 AM
sideseams said...
I love your outfit. What a great idea to use the petersham at the neckline and armholes! Your top looks better then RTW!
7/28/06 10:58 AM
Ronda Rae said...
Great tip about the Petersham. I don't like facings either for thesame reason! I'll have to check it out next year when I sew some sleeveless tops for summer.
7/28/06 10:59 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great little top and the petersham is a great idea.
7/28/06 11:12 AM
cecelia said...
The top matches the capris nicely--love the fabric and your Petersham treatment on the neck and arms, very classy!
7/28/06 11:35 AM
pterion said...
Lovely top and very helpful review.
7/28/06 12:12 PM
Rhoda K said...
I agree on all the above - I don't like facings either. Great tip and your top is really cute! I have this pattern too, but haven't made it yet. Good motivation here.
7/28/06 12:52 PM
pbrenneraz said...
Thank you so much for sharing the details on your finishing technique, it does look very professional, but doable. Great review!
7/28/06 1:22 PM
Elemenopeo said...
Thanks for the step by steps on petersham facings. The top looks lovely and goes so well with the capris. Enjoy your picnic!
7/28/06 1:27 PM
Riordan said...
Your top is beautiful! Thank you for the petersham facing tutorial--I'm eager to try it. Your neckline and armholes look absolutely perfect!
7/28/06 2:08 PM
sewfrequent said...
Would it be possible to make this pattern fully lined? If you did that, would you leave a side-seam open to turn?
7/28/06 6:08 PM
Modiste Madness said...
Great summer outfit! Love the petersham idea. Thanks for sharing it.
7/28/06 6:14 PM
Learn To Sew said...
Really cute, Becky. I like it. The neckline does lay down nicely.
7/28/06 6:38 PM
bunz said...
You look lovely and COOL:-) Great tip on the petersham -- maybe put it in "tips".
7/28/06 7:36 PM
MaryLynn in Long Beach said...
beautiful top, Becky...great job.
7/28/06 9:32 PM
BeckyC said...
Sewfrequent -- This top could be fully lined. I'd recommend looking at Connie Long's book, "Easy Guide to Sewing Linings" to see how one would approach lining this top. I think it would be easy. To everyone -- Thank you for your kind words about my top!
7/28/06 11:10 PM
Dee2 said...
Excellent review!! Your top looks beautiful. Your use of the Petersham to finish the neckline & armholes is very innovative & I want to try it.
7/28/06 11:23 PM
PixieCat said...
Your top is beautiful! I don't like facings either and the petersham is a lovely finish.
7/29/06 5:51 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Pretty top. I like your tip about the Petersham.
7/29/06 6:05 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely top. Great idea about Petersham, your directions for applying were very helpful.
7/29/06 7:35 AM
cweb said...
Thanks for the tip on using the petersham, I have never seen this before and just purchased this pattern. Also, thanks for the photos on how to apply and the finished edge. That does look better than facings.
7/29/06 8:45 AM
Lhan said...
That neckline does sit beautifully. I want mine to do that, and will try your technique. It is a funny thing about petersham - my mother and grandmother used to use it on waistbands as a standard, and then it fell out of favour when interfacings improved so much. I would have thought it was a bit stiff for armholes - does it chafe at all? Probably the petersham of today is a whole new deal as well. Thanks for the very useful review.
7/30/06 1:43 AM
BeckyC said...
Lahn, The Petersham is 100% Rayon and is very soft. I was worried about irritation around the armholes too, but there hasn't been any. -- Becky
7/30/06 10:49 AM
AnneM said...
Nice top. I was working w/ this pattern last summer also, but didn't get it right yet. You did.
1/25/07 10:50 AM
kit18 said...
Your analysis has headed me in the direction of Petersham and adjusted fit. Thanks!
7/18/07 1:04 PM
Athene said...
Just looking for reviews on patterns I have for summer tops. Glad I came across this one - your top looks really nice and I'm going to be buying the 3/8 Petersham to try out your technique.
4/13/08 4:15 AM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Lovely fabric, great-looking top! Thank you so much for the tip on replacing the facings with petersham. I have this and now that the weather is getting hotter will try to make it using your tip.
5/21/10 11:08 AM
dove29 said...
It looks lovely! I think I need a ham now.
8/23/11 8:43 PM
PattyGee said...
Wish I had done this on my tank - Silhouette Pattern #500. Used bias tape instead, I'll have to order some 3/8 inch petersham tape. Thanks for the very indepth review. Beautiful top, BTW!
2/22/12 2:26 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Simplicity 3877
photo
Review by divaknitti... on 7/18/09
Read Review

Burda 7037 Pattern
Burda 7037 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2314 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5225
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 7/27/09
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Bucket Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern
Lolita Patterns Sugar Plum Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us