Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8090 (Lapped Jacket or Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1417 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Austen
photo
About Austen
CA USA
Member since: 8/7/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/06 12:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
ohh, I had my eye on this pattern! I like your interpretation - using different fabrics for the upper and lower portions is a great idea. Beautiful work!
7/28/06 1:34 PM
OP Gal said...
Great use of stash fabric and a beautiful garment. Always good to see good plus size patterns.
7/28/06 1:42 PM
beangirl said...
This is so cute!! I dont' think I would have looked twice at this pattern but I love your version, it's so much nicer than the vogue images. I think I'll pick this one up after all.
7/28/06 2:01 PM
Annie- oh said...
yes, great use of fabric(s) - and nice idea to make it a slipover. beangirl - ya gonna line it a la our current class?
7/28/06 2:39 PM
sewfan said...
Very cute top. I like the fabric you used.
7/28/06 3:01 PM
carolynw said...
I have this pattern but your take on it is so different and smart that at first I wasn't sure what I was looking at. It is beautiful and so much more interesting than using just one colour which is what I did - sigh!! Guess I will have to re-think my strategy??
7/28/06 6:20 PM
Lhan said...
This is a lovely use of a great fabric. Pieced work can make such stunning products on very simple lines - so you get a designer garment with relatively little pain, as you did. And it is fun as well! Well chosen pattern - and thanks for the tip on placement of the seam. I look forward to the next great design. Any chance of a photo with you in it?
7/30/06 1:35 AM
thujaplicata said...
great jacket - want to try this with some of my stash fabric.
11/2/06 7:22 PM
AnneM said...
Neat take on this pattern.
1/25/07 10:41 AM
Larkin said...
I just picked up this pattern at an enabler sale at Hancocks and am so pleased to read your review. I hope mine comes out as nicely - thanks for the tips about the seamline and the length!
2/24/07 0:52 AM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
Got the pattern thanks fo the encouragement to make it up and use some of my stash. I wish you would have shared the amounts of fabric used. thank you lkl
7/11/07 6:06 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I am looking forward to making this up. I've been collecting 1yd pieces to mix .thanks for the in put.
8/23/07 2:13 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
just back to print your review to include in pattern envelope.thanks luckie
8/23/07 2:47 PM
Larkin said...
What a great way to stretch your stash - I love this top! I'm getting ready to start on this pattern and never would have thought about the way you did that! I'm encouraged and inspired. Thank-you!
8/6/11 11:44 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Jalie 2918 Mens T-Shirts
photo
Review by Elsie14 on 7/31/10
Read Review

Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4268 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8798 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 05-2008-2 Denim skirt
photo
Review by Sandi S on 11/7/08
Read Review

Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Split Hem Pant Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Playtime Dress, Tunic + Leggings Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Valencia Jacket & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us