SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8090 (Lapped Jacket or Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 1422 times 
Reviewed by:Austen
photo

 
 
About Austen
CA USA
Member since: 8/7/05
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Advanced
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/28/06 12:35 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pterion said...
ohh, I had my eye on this pattern! I like your interpretation - using different fabrics for the upper and lower portions is a great idea. Beautiful work!
7/28/06 1:34 PM
OP Gal said...
Great use of stash fabric and a beautiful garment. Always good to see good plus size patterns.
7/28/06 1:42 PM
beangirl said...
This is so cute!! I dont' think I would have looked twice at this pattern but I love your version, it's so much nicer than the vogue images. I think I'll pick this one up after all.
7/28/06 2:01 PM
Annie- oh said...
yes, great use of fabric(s) - and nice idea to make it a slipover. beangirl - ya gonna line it a la our current class?
7/28/06 2:39 PM
sewfan said...
Very cute top. I like the fabric you used.
7/28/06 3:01 PM
carolynw said...
I have this pattern but your take on it is so different and smart that at first I wasn't sure what I was looking at. It is beautiful and so much more interesting than using just one colour which is what I did - sigh!! Guess I will have to re-think my strategy??
7/28/06 6:20 PM
Lhan said...
This is a lovely use of a great fabric. Pieced work can make such stunning products on very simple lines - so you get a designer garment with relatively little pain, as you did. And it is fun as well! Well chosen pattern - and thanks for the tip on placement of the seam. I look forward to the next great design. Any chance of a photo with you in it?
7/30/06 1:35 AM
thujaplicata said...
great jacket - want to try this with some of my stash fabric.
11/2/06 7:22 PM
AnneM said...
Neat take on this pattern.
1/25/07 10:41 AM
Larkin said...
I just picked up this pattern at an enabler sale at Hancocks and am so pleased to read your review. I hope mine comes out as nicely - thanks for the tips about the seamline and the length!
2/24/07 0:52 AM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
Got the pattern thanks fo the encouragement to make it up and use some of my stash. I wish you would have shared the amounts of fabric used. thank you lkl
7/11/07 6:06 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
I am looking forward to making this up. I've been collecting 1yd pieces to mix .thanks for the in put.
8/23/07 2:13 PM
Luckie Kay Locke said...
just back to print your review to include in pattern envelope.thanks luckie
8/23/07 2:47 PM
Larkin said...
What a great way to stretch your stash - I love this top! I'm getting ready to start on this pattern and never would have thought about the way you did that! I'm encouraged and inspired. Thank-you!
8/6/11 11:44 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Lekala Patterns 4136

photo
by: norsk

Review