SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3115 

80 more reviews
Viewed 2342 times 
Reviewed by:Karla Kizer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Karla Kizerstarstarstar
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 79 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/31/02 0:43 AM
Last Updated:11/2/02 3:55 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Activewear    Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Karla, as always, I loved reading your review. What a way with words you have! Can't wait for the pic, as I'm sure these pants are fabulous.
10/31/02 0:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, these look like great pants. I wonder how they compare to Gigi's famous Simplicity lounge pants?
10/31/02 3:07 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Nan, Gigi's Famous Lounge Pants inspired me to try this pattern. The look is almost identical, but I am more comfortable altering KS to fit my absentee DD, so i used this pattern instead. It gave me an opportunity to add to my KS collection and (ta-da!), I was able to review a KS pattern BEFORE Gigi got to it. ;-) Not an easy feat, let me tell you....
10/31/02 8:40 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, you beat me to it! I bought this pattern two weeks ago and the fabric's been patiently waiting but alas, no time! I am going to make these to replace my old and tired leggings that I wear for exercise.
10/31/02 8:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Congrats on your review Karla... I agree its not easy to review a nice KS pattern before Gigi does ;-) Your review is so helpful and I am anxiously waiting for the mailman to bring my sewingpatterns order which contains this pattern! I noticed that you call them yoga pants. Does that mean that these cant be worn to work?
10/31/02 10:13 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Oh thank you Karla, I have this on my wish list. I have been doing Yoga Fit at my YMCA and these look cute and comfy! Problem is, I have to mail order now. My local retailer is closing out her KS (at 40% off! -I've been stocking up), but no new Winter ones.
10/31/02 11:58 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thank you for the review Karla, the patternphoto look very good, may even be better than the ones Gigi made, wait and see, I distinctly have a feeling that purple is not your favorite color?
10/31/02 6:37 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks for all the comments, everyone. Hope to get a picture tomorrow morning before I pack these off to the DD. She might need them...temperatures plunged to below 80 degrees today! Deepika, I call these "yoga pants" because they remind me of the RTW pants marketed for yoga wear. In a dressier- looking fabric than the one I used, they'll be fine for the office. Marita, you are right: purple makes me a little nervous. I love dark, dark purple (eggplant? aubergine?), but my bargain cotton/lycra is a little bolder than I usually wear. I was willing to overlook that minor flaw because it was on the $1/yard table at my local Walmart "boutique". My color convictions wavered when I was that price. Obviously, I can be bought! ;-)
11/2/02 1:12 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla this is a great pattern. Your review is really helpful, I'd like to try the eyelets myself.
11/2/02 1:50 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
You know, this pattern reminds me of some poly knit pants I wore in the 8th grade...they were (gulp) red... of course, no one called them yoga pants then...
11/2/02 1:54 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, the pants look great! I have some of the Simplicity pants cut out in purple c/l too.
11/2/02 6:03 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Love these pants and the review! I've made the Simplicity version and I'm very happy with the fit there. Can any one tell me do I need this one too? What's a patternaholic to do?
11/4/02 11:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
"Can any one tell me do I need this one too? " Rennie, maybe you should wait for Gigi to review this one. Since she's using both patterns, her input would be your best guide......on the other hand....Gigi bought both of them, so why shouldn't the rest of us? ;-)
11/4/02 9:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, thanks for a great review. I would like to try the eyelets as well. Did you use a special tool to put them in?
11/5/02 8:15 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Sarah, I bought a Prym eyelet kit at Joanns. The eyelets have an opening of about 1/4", which gives enough room for bulkier drawstrings. (I used oval athletic shoelaces from the grocery store.) The kit comes with a little device which, used in conjunction with a hammer, installs the eyelets.
11/5/02 9:09 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Email from the DD today: "The pants fit perfectly! I have been living in them since I got them yesterday. More later..." I love it when a plan comes together!
11/7/02 9:59 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, this is your daughter. Great pants! Just a little tip for everyone out there: I have discovered that I would rather sleep in them than do any sort of strenuous exercise. This may account for the reason that Mom had to use a bigger back on the pants. But, I'm sure they are very yoga-appropriate if you choose this activity. To each his own, I guess.
11/8/02 7:31 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Vintage Pattern Lending Library 0191

photo
by: lbreton

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Christine Jonson Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Kwik Sew 2891

photo
by: HolleyM

Review