Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
HotPatterns: dv-sc (Deco Vibe Shrunken Cardigan) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1256 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/29/06 11:38 PM
Last Updated:7/29/06 11:38 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mary Stiefer said...
What a beautiful combination. You never cease to amaze me with your beautiful creations. Sorry you had so much trouble with this one - but - you certainly made it work.
7/29/06 11:42 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
sorry - duplicate
7/29/06 11:43 PM
BeckyC said...
Your cami is lovely! You're lucky to have the skills that made this pattern work for you. By looking at the pattern I would have thought it had shaping too. I'm glad it worked for you and that you've made more. Thank you for the informative review.
7/29/06 11:52 PM
jemgirlca said...
Wow, what a pretty set!
7/29/06 11:57 PM
sewbehind said...
Love the cami on its own but with the twinset look, it is even better.
7/30/06 0:13 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty set.
7/30/06 0:13 AM
frame said...
Very pretty.
7/30/06 0:41 AM
fuzzygalore said...
You made the best of a bad pattern... Check out Folkwear's Intimacies, which has the same camisole only the way it's supposed to be - with shaped cups and cut on the bias.
7/30/06 1:09 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Such a pretty camisole, but I'm shocked to hear there's no bust shaping and a CB seam. Sounsd like Burda would ahve done a better job drafting it :( but fortunately with your skill you were able to pull it off. Good on you!
7/30/06 3:52 AM
els said...
Your work to use this pattern paid of, a very pretty cami. The total outfit is beautiful.Anthracite is a great color grey.
7/30/06 5:09 AM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully done, Georgene. I'm surprised that the pattern has no shaping, especially in the GG range. You sure made it work though.
7/30/06 5:29 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I just love your results. An I adore it with the cardigan! -Ann
7/30/06 7:43 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty.
7/30/06 7:57 AM
Peggy L said...
Very pretty. Great set.
7/30/06 8:18 AM
Linda E. said...
lovely cami ..with the lace cardigan it looks great.. the colors are great.
7/30/06 8:18 AM
PhyllisC said...
Truly lovely Georgene. Lace trim is always much more interesting to me when it's cut part.
7/30/06 9:15 AM
MaryBeth said...
When I made this pattern up I chose not to fit the bust of the pattern. I decided that it's just not that type of pattern. See Touran's prior review. It works great for me as a demure unfitted cami. That said, your results are beautiful and carving out a fitted bust is certainly a choice. Love the color! It makes me long to have time for personal sewing ~sigh~ Doesn't the sight of perfect lingerie do that for a girl?
7/30/06 9:18 AM
ryan's mom said...
Absolutely gorgeous! That twinset rocks :) .
7/30/06 10:08 AM
Gigi Louis said...
A beautiful twinset, Georgene! Your color combinations are always so wonderfully creative!
7/30/06 10:49 AM
PVA said...
Ohmygosh, that is lovely! Your work is truly awesome! I love that look, the open shirt over a cami, & I'm going to do one soon, but I'll pass on this pattern -- I just don't have the skills. Thanks so much for reviewing these two garments, it is a beautiful twinset.
7/30/06 11:01 AM
Linda F said...
Georgene, if anybody can save this pattern it is you. Thank you for the heads up on shaping, I'll keep this in mind. You did a beautiful save, your twinset is georgous!
7/30/06 11:28 AM
cindyann said...
Very pretty, Georgene. Your fabric combinations, as usual are awsome.
7/30/06 11:58 AM
JDpenelope said...
Gorgeous fabric and your extreme talent saved the day!
7/30/06 2:12 PM
milwaukee_kelly said...
Gorgeous lace detail and color combination. What a great pattern to perfect for yourself.
7/30/06 3:10 PM
motomoda said...
Love the results and the review - yes sometimes a good stiff drink is what is needed to cope with the challenges of creation :)
10/7/06 8:12 AM
Sew it seams said...
Wow Georgene, that is a beautiful combination of color and fabric. I bet it looks great on you. It looks like you have perfected the shaping for the cami.
10/7/06 10:01 AM
AnneM said...
Great outfit! Glad you were able to get the cami to work. Too bad it doesn't take advantage of it's shaping opportunities. Even I'm not completely flat! :)
1/25/07 10:56 AM
Nancy K said...
I hadn't seen this review before and I really like your twin set. But, boy I won't be buying this pattern! I am a DD cup and I really would love to make a lingerie style cami to wear under cardigans. YOurs looks fabulous though and your review is why I love this site! Saves me lots of agita.
6/4/07 8:21 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Kwik Sew 3292 Misses Jackets
photo
Review by Frozzy on 12/8/07
Read Review

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)
Oliver + S Bedtime Story Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-3T)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com The Wiggle Dress
photo
Review by ZoSews on 5/27/13
Read Review

Petite Plus 102 Pattern
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5946 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
Butterick 5946 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3922 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us