Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Loes Hinse Designs: 5102 (Retro Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1295 times 14 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:sailor girl
photo
About sailor girlstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/17/05
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/06 3:32 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $16.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
Thanks for the review. I'm a petite plus and can't wear anything double breasted. I'm going to try one of her dresses. The model is very, very thin--so it's easy to think it'll work, but maybe a different fabric would have worked better--don't give up!
7/30/06 4:04 PM
carolynw said...

7/30/06 4:10 PM
carolynw said...
Hope this does not come up twice - typed it once before and it was "lost". I am sorry it did not work out for you - may be you should try with a natural fabric. If your material is similar to what I got then nothing is going to look right in it. Loved it on the bolt and then found it is a stinker to work with - bought lots too as it was a terrific sale - now I know why. My first jacket out of this was also a wadder but was OK on the next try with different material
7/30/06 4:14 PM
fiberfanatic said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. I like the style, but I prefer my jackets w/ interfacing, so I haven't tried this. I know what you mean about natural fibers. Jeanette
7/30/06 10:22 PM
RuthieSews said...
As the shoulders are too wide, I think you should disregard their advice in future, and make to fit your shoulders and add extra in a FBA. However the point where the fronts overlap is quite high up which may not be a good look on a larger bust. Personally I avoid this look as it tends to make me look blocky.
7/31/06 3:21 AM
cathy45 said...
I recently read Tjhe Pocketbook Stylist by Kendra Farr (recommended here) & it advises fuller-busted gals avoid double breasted jackets--adds width. The jacket has nice diagonal lines so maybe in a softer fabric with more drape than a suede.
7/31/06 11:43 PM
JaneH said...
I think that with a narrower shoulder and a longer jacket length would add the elongation you are looking for. Even though you may be petite, the lengthen diagonal will made you look tall. Yes, those synthetic mystery fabrics tend to have stiff fibers that are not pressable.
8/1/06 11:29 AM
Jane S said...
I'm 5'8" and curvy and found the same things you did when I tried this jacket...shoulders way too wide, too much bumpy droopy fabric on the front of my body, just not flattering. Sorry you had to go through this experience too.
8/1/06 8:27 PM
AnneM said...
It looks very nice on the dress form! Too bad it doesn't work for you.
1/25/07 11:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Butterick 4734
photo
Review by candicer on 10/5/07
Read Review

Butterick 5923 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5923 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1929 Pattern ( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 1929 Pattern ( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 5/30/06
Read Review

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Rock and Roll Top Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Petal Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us