SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5102 (Retro Jacket)

14 more reviews
Viewed 1297 times 
Reviewed by:sailor girl
photo

 
 
About sailor girlstar
MN USA
Member since: 11/17/05
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/06 3:32 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cecelia said...
Thanks for the review. I'm a petite plus and can't wear anything double breasted. I'm going to try one of her dresses. The model is very, very thin--so it's easy to think it'll work, but maybe a different fabric would have worked better--don't give up!
7/30/06 4:04 PM
carolynw said...

7/30/06 4:10 PM
carolynw said...
Hope this does not come up twice - typed it once before and it was "lost". I am sorry it did not work out for you - may be you should try with a natural fabric. If your material is similar to what I got then nothing is going to look right in it. Loved it on the bolt and then found it is a stinker to work with - bought lots too as it was a terrific sale - now I know why. My first jacket out of this was also a wadder but was OK on the next try with different material
7/30/06 4:14 PM
fiberfanatic said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. I like the style, but I prefer my jackets w/ interfacing, so I haven't tried this. I know what you mean about natural fibers. Jeanette
7/30/06 10:22 PM
RuthieSews said...
As the shoulders are too wide, I think you should disregard their advice in future, and make to fit your shoulders and add extra in a FBA. However the point where the fronts overlap is quite high up which may not be a good look on a larger bust. Personally I avoid this look as it tends to make me look blocky.
7/31/06 3:21 AM
cathy45 said...
I recently read Tjhe Pocketbook Stylist by Kendra Farr (recommended here) & it advises fuller-busted gals avoid double breasted jackets--adds width. The jacket has nice diagonal lines so maybe in a softer fabric with more drape than a suede.
7/31/06 11:43 PM
JaneH said...
I think that with a narrower shoulder and a longer jacket length would add the elongation you are looking for. Even though you may be petite, the lengthen diagonal will made you look tall. Yes, those synthetic mystery fabrics tend to have stiff fibers that are not pressable.
8/1/06 11:29 AM
Jane S said...
I'm 5'8" and curvy and found the same things you did when I tried this jacket...shoulders way too wide, too much bumpy droopy fabric on the front of my body, just not flattering. Sorry you had to go through this experience too.
8/1/06 8:27 PM
AnneM said...
It looks very nice on the dress form! Too bad it doesn't work for you.
1/25/07 11:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Simplicity 2520

photo
by: pigsinpaja...

Review
Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Sew Liberated Aida Top Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Buy Now